ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Sandy Bridge Review

CineBench and POV-Ray

ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review

CineBench

It's becoming pretty clear that, at least if you're planning to stick with your current LGA1155 processor, the Z77 doesn't give you any particular reason to upgrade so far. CineBench R11.5 replicates the results we've seen so far from AIDA and Sandra.

POV Ray

Finally we see an improvement and it's POV-Ray that provides it. The P8 Z77V Pro with the i5-2500K at stock manages to outperform our result with a P67 motherboard. One thing of note is how well each individual core performs (the Per CPU result) when compared to the threaded processors that make up the rest of the graph. Over double the performance you're getting from each core of an i7-3960X. Indeed your extra 8 threads don't even double the i5-2500K result.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-04-2012, 04:19:17

tinytomlogan


Prior to the release of the 3rd Gen Intel CPUs we have the Z77 Chipset. What does it bring to the table?

Continue Reading

08-04-2012, 05:56:59

dugdiamond
nice review, as ever

08-04-2012, 06:27:26

Excalabur50
What he said!

08-04-2012, 06:30:47

daniSAUR
Great review, enjoyed it. So those with a P67 board could benefit with this as an upgrade? Are we getting an X79 review soon also?

08-04-2012, 06:59:04

SieB
Nice looking board, i'm looking forward to the GD65 review (if there is one) because i'll be grabbing one so I can finally get rid of this H61 board i'm using and get back to doing some overclocking

Also looking forward to seeing if these boards give any benefit over SB with an IB CPU, from what I have read Z77 boards are better for overclocking IB at lower voltages than P67 and Z68.

08-04-2012, 08:04:05

Jadarite
Very good reveiw

08-04-2012, 09:43:11

Brutos
good read great review

08-04-2012, 11:50:43

mini me
Awesome review as always

08-04-2012, 17:48:34

Sheza
I hope there will be a review of MSI's offering soon, a lot of the time with technology I always seem to pick the wrong stuff, and this lack of coverage has me a bit worried

09-04-2012, 14:12:02

MaXiMiZe
Was hoping for the gold award but hey silver is great nonetheless.

16-04-2012, 01:45:38

sharps_87
Cheers for the quality review.

16-04-2012, 07:58:25

Ya93sin
Nice review, the boards look nicer and nicer imo

17-04-2012, 03:04:11

jackjack
another great review.... hopefully you re-review it T when Ivy "k"series is in your hand

thanks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.