ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Sandy Bridge Review

BIOS

ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review

BIOS

As we've come to expect from ASUS their UEFI BIOS is both responsive and easy to use. You have an array of overclocking options, from the auto tuning available with the AI Overclock/TPU switch, through XMP based overclocks, and of course the ever reliable manual overclocking option.

ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review     ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review  

Voltages can be adjusted either using an offset mode (CPU Voltage + x), or the more finely tuned manual mode where you just input the voltage you wish to use.

ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review     ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review  

Something that is very much a part of all modern motherboards, and especially so with the ASUS models, is the seemingly endless power tuning options. Whereas we once saw power and voltage adjustments as solely there to enable higher overclocks, we now see those alongside the opposite end of the spectrum in desiring maximum energy efficiency.

ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review     ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review  

Moving on to the advanced tab we find everything you're used to seeing in your BIOS, allowing you to turn off those features you don't use, or adjust the more, erm, advanced features of both the motherboard and your CPU.

ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review     ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review

Finally the standard boot options and the hardware monitoring.

ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review     ASUS P8-Z77V Pro Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-04-2012, 04:19:17

tinytomlogan


Prior to the release of the 3rd Gen Intel CPUs we have the Z77 Chipset. What does it bring to the table?

Continue Reading

08-04-2012, 05:56:59

dugdiamond
nice review, as ever

08-04-2012, 06:27:26

Excalabur50
What he said!

08-04-2012, 06:30:47

daniSAUR
Great review, enjoyed it. So those with a P67 board could benefit with this as an upgrade? Are we getting an X79 review soon also?

08-04-2012, 06:59:04

SieB
Nice looking board, i'm looking forward to the GD65 review (if there is one) because i'll be grabbing one so I can finally get rid of this H61 board i'm using and get back to doing some overclocking

Also looking forward to seeing if these boards give any benefit over SB with an IB CPU, from what I have read Z77 boards are better for overclocking IB at lower voltages than P67 and Z68.

08-04-2012, 08:04:05

Jadarite
Very good reveiw

08-04-2012, 09:43:11

Brutos
good read great review

08-04-2012, 11:50:43

mini me
Awesome review as always

08-04-2012, 17:48:34

Sheza
I hope there will be a review of MSI's offering soon, a lot of the time with technology I always seem to pick the wrong stuff, and this lack of coverage has me a bit worried

09-04-2012, 14:12:02

MaXiMiZe
Was hoping for the gold award but hey silver is great nonetheless.

16-04-2012, 01:45:38

sharps_87
Cheers for the quality review.

16-04-2012, 07:58:25

Ya93sin
Nice review, the boards look nicer and nicer imo

17-04-2012, 03:04:11

jackjack
another great review.... hopefully you re-review it T when Ivy "k"series is in your hand

thanks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.