Asus P6T Deluxe X58 OC Palm Edition Motherboard

Gaming Benchmarks

 
Crysis is without doubt one of the most visually stunning and hardware-challenging games to date. By using CrysisBench - a tool developed independently of Crysis - we performed a total of 5 timedemo benchmarks using a GPU-intensive pre-recorded demo. To ensure the most accurate results, the highest and lowest benchmark scores were then removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
 

 
 
Company of Heroes is Relic's first title to make use of the "Essence Engine". This engine was designed and coded from scratch by Relic in order to make use of special graphical effects, including high dynamic range lighting, dynamic lighting & shadows, advanced shader effects and normal mapping. On May 29, 2007 Relic released a DX10 patch for Company of Heroes which was applied for this test.  Running the in game performance test 5 times, the highest and lowest scores were omitted with the average calculated from the remaining 3.

 
 


 


Ubisoft has developed a new engine specifically for Far Cry 2, called Dunia, meaning "world", "earth" or "living" in Parsi. The engine takes advantage of multi-core processors as well as multiple processors and supports DirectX 9 as well as DirectX 10. Running the Far Cry 2 benchmark tool the test was run 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being omitted and the average calculated from the remaining 3.

 

 
Results conclusions

I was as shocked as anybody to see the Nvidia/QX9770 based setup beating the P6T Deluxe/i7 920. I checked and triple checked all of the BIOS settings, sure that I must be missing something but everything was set and working as it should be. However, consideration should obviously be given to the fact that the QX9770 costs more than the whole of the i7 setup and if the range topping i7 965 CPU was used, it may have been a different story all together. Bang per buck at least, the Asus setup wins but I think these results have shown that there is still life left in skt775, albeit at a bigger cost than i7.

Let's take a look at the overall performance of the setups on test today...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-12-2008, 08:37:32

w3bbo
Upgrade skt775 or go for broke and buy a major upgrade in the form of the P6T Deluxe. We pitch Asus's new motherboard against a high end skt 775 kit in todays full in-depth review.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...101043580s.jpg

Read the full review HERE.

07-12-2008, 19:32:08

Bungral
Nice review mate..

Hopefully now that one is nailed down it'll be easier to review when more boards come.

Was that the maximum stable overclock you could get or were you just happy to get there and call it a day?

08-12-2008, 06:35:00

niky_d
Hi!

Great review, mate!

I was very astonished, that the s775 sometimes can match or even overrun the new socket. Nevertheless the new platform is a great performer, but I don't think that the time has come to upgrade to it, maybe next year . I would love to see how the new i7 performs against the new phenom 2 that are coming, because there are great things you hear about the overclocking performance of the new AMD's. Hope you will get a phenom 2 sample fast and compare these two.

And again, congrats for the great review.

Have a nice day.

08-12-2008, 09:18:36

Rastalovich
It`s doing a decent job. Nothing proud of a new socket tho.

I can see that the areas it does exel in are more than likely down to the tri-channel over dual channel.

I can't recommend them on this showing, but I still see this as part of the 1st round of mobos. The fact that it holds it`s own, with the exception of older graphic benchmarkers which dont mean much, means that whatever is to come should be that much better.

It`s a great review, like to see the Intel 4 Series ICH10R up against it tho as opposed to nVidia.

08-12-2008, 17:30:13

w3bbo
Cheers for the feedback as ever guys.

The overclock was the max possible at the time of review. For whatever reason it wouldn't budge much over 200 but the rumours are that using a lower multi and higher Bclk helps, sadly this info came too late but rest assured, I will update when I get to test the mobo again as it looks like it could be the base for our new i7 test rigs.

We chose to pitch it against the NVidia chipset as it is the only chipset where we could have DDR3 aswell as having the capability to underclock the DDR3 to 1600mhz to best match the 1600 Corsair so comparisons could be made with dual vs triple channel ram. Intel chipsets would mean messing with the FSB and multi's of the QX9770 which inevitably would result in an unfair stock vs stock comparison of the CPU's.

It's always going to be hard reviewing a product with no legitimate comparative product. I could have copped out and just reviewed the P6T against itself, stock vs overclocked which is the norm but I thought everyone would have appreciated some results people they could relate to. Not many folk have the QX9770 granted, but it makes interesting reading having the top skt775 vs the entry i7, at least I hope it does.

Keep your eyes peeled for the Gigabyte EX58-UD5 review coming very soon .

09-12-2008, 07:20:45

Jaster
Cracking review...I'm still holding off for a whilst though...i'm hoping the phenom II's may push the price down...but its very impressive for a new socket utilising new tech...especially when you look at the entry/high end level comparison...it does show that the price is warranted...but lets hope AMD step in the ring a bit beefier then last time...

09-12-2008, 07:38:58

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'

Keep your eyes peeled for the Gigabyte EX58-UD5 review coming very soon .
Excellent stuff.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.