Asus P5N-T Deluxe 780i Motherboard

Introduction and Specification

Introduction
 
Asus are really pumping out the motherboards recently and introducing a fair few boards to their range.  We seem to be seeing a lot of 780i boards coming through the OC3D labs currently and the P5N-T is another that is of that ilk.
 
As a successor to the 680i platform, the 780i is a board built for the gaming enthusiasts in mind. Featuring "Tri-SLI" along with normal SLI and a whole host of other features you would expect of a high-end board, the P5N-T Deluxe is a board that should be able to do the business.
 
Despite not being shipped with all of the awesome features we saw on the AI Lifestyle board, the P5E3 Deluxe, the P5N-T Deluxe looks to have a nice set of specs that should ensure most enthusiasts are dribbling in their energy drinks.
 
Let's take a look at the specs of the board from the Asus website.
 
Specification
 
CPU
Intel Socket 775 Core™2 Quad/Core™2 Extreme/Core™2 Duo/Pentium® Extreme/Pentium® D Processors
Compatible with Intel® 05B/05A/06 processors
Support Intel® next generation 45nm CPU
Chipset
NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
Front Side Bus
1333/1066/800 MHz
Memory
4 x DIMM, Max. 8 GB, DDR2 1066*/800/667 Non-ECC,Un-buffered Memory
Dual Channel memory architecture
Expansion Slots
3 x PCIe x16 (blue @PCIe2.0 x16 mode, black @PCIe x16 mode) supports SLI Technology
2 x PCIe x1
1 x PCI
Storage
Southbridge
1 xUltraDMA 133/100/66
6 xSATA 3 Gb/s ports NVIDIA® MediaShield™ RAID
Support RAID 0,1,0+1,5,JBOD configuration across Serieal ATA drives
Marvell 88SE6111
1 xExternal SATA
Scalable Link Interface (SLI™)
Support three identical NVIDIA SLI-Ready graphics cards (all at x16 mode)
LAN
Marvell88E1116 PCIe Gigabit LAN PHY featuring AI NET2
Audio
ADI® AD1988B 8 -Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
Coaxial / Optical S/PDIF out ports
ASUS Noise Filter
Support Jack-Sensing, Enumeration, Multi-streaming
AI Audio 2
IEEE 1394
VIA6308P controller supports 2 x 1394a ports
USB
10 USB 2.0 ports (6 ports at mid-board, 4 ports at back panel)
ASUS AI Lifestyle Features
ASUS Power Saving Solution
- ASUS EPU (Energy Processing Unit)
- ASUS 3rd Generation 8-phase Power
- ASUS AI Nap
ASUS AI Lifestyle
- ASUS AI Direct Link
ASUS Quiet Thermal Solution
- ASUS Fanless Design: Stack Cool 2
- ASUS Q-Fan 2
- ASUS Optional Fan for Water-cooling or Passive-Cooling only
- ASUS Fanless Design: Sophisticated Heat-pipe solution
ASUS Crystal Sound
- ASUS Noise Filter
- ASUS AI Audio 2
ASUS EZ DIY
- ASUS Q-Connector
- ASUS Q-Shield
- ASUS O.C. Profile
- ASUS CrashFree BIOS 2
- ASUS EZ Flash 2
Overclocking Features
Intelligent overclocking tools
- ASUS AI Booster Utility
Precision Tweaker 2
- vDIMM: 64 -step DRAM voltage control
- vCore: Adjustable CPU voltage at 0.00625V increment
- vChipset (N.B.) 64-step voltage control
- vChipset (S.B.): 16 step Chipset voltage control
- vHT (Hyper Transport): 41-step Hyper Transport voltage control
SFS (Stepless Frequency Selection)
- FSB tuning from 133MHz up to 800MHz at 1MHz increment
- Memory tuning from 400MHz up to 2600MHz
- PCI Express frequency tuning from 100MHz up to 200MHz at 1MHz increment
Overclocking Protection
- ASUS C.P.R.(CPU Parameter Recall)
Special Features
Multi-language BIOS
ASUS MyLogo 3
Back Panel I/O Ports
1 x PS/2 Keyboard
1 x PS/2 Mouse
1 x External SATA
1 x S/PDIF Out
1 x IEEE 1394a
1 x LAN(RJ45) port
4 x USB 2.0/1.1
8 -Channel Audio I/O
Internal I/O Connectors
3 x USB connectors support additional 6 USB ports
1 x Floppy disk drive connector
1 x IDE connector
6 x SATA connectors
1 x IEEE 1394a connector
1 x CPU Fan connector
1 x Chassis Fan connector
2 x Power Fan connector
1 x S/PDIF Out connector
1 x8-pin ATX 12V Power connector
24 -pin ATX Power connector
1 x COM connector
20 Pin Panel connector
Front panel audio connector
Chassis Intrusion connector
System Panel Connector
CD audio in
BIOS
8 Mb Flash ROM
DMI 2.0
AMI BIOS
PnP
WfM 2.0
SM BIOS 2.3
Multi-language BIOS
Manageability
WOL by PME,WOR by PME,Chasis Intrusion,AI NET2 PXE
Accessories
User's manual
1 x 2-port USB2.0 module / 1-port 1394 module
1 x UltraDMA 133/100/66 cable
1 x Floppy disk drive cable
6 x SATA cable
1 x SATA power cable for 2 devices
3 in 1 Q-connector
1 x Optional Fan for Water-Cooling or Passive-Cooling only
1 x 3-Way SLI bridge card
1 x 2-Way SLI bridge cable
ASUS Q-Shield
Support Disc
Drivers
ASUS PC Probe II
ASUS AI Suite
Anti-virus software (OEM version)
ASUS Update
Image Editing Suite
Form Factor
ATX Form Factor
12 inch x 9.6 inch ( 30.5 cm x 24.4 cm )
 
3-way SLI and a few other highlights means that there's something for most people to chomp into. Now let's get onto the good stuff.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-01-2008, 04:58:46

FarFarAway
We check Asus latest 780i board

See how it does

15-01-2008, 14:32:40

Brooksie
Good review, shame about the board..

What a stupid idea to stick a IDE connector in front of the ATX connector though =/

15-01-2008, 14:44:52

ionicle
i was thinking that, terrible...

the chipset doesnt seem the best ever either...

Nvidia have failed every time after the Nforce 4 chipset..

15-01-2008, 15:13:49

darkorb
nForce 4 ftw!

Great review, although lacking board.

15-01-2008, 15:15:42

FarFarAway
Asus are writing a new BIOS after reading about the issues in this review so hopefully we can revisit it and perhaps it will show some better potential

Thanks for the comments

15-01-2008, 16:29:36

Thanh55
Very nice review, but the board just under 680i I think, like Kempez said hope the new BIOS help.

15-01-2008, 17:57:18

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Asus are writing a new BIOS after reading about the issues in this review so hopefully we can revisit it and perhaps it will show some better potential

Thanks for the comments
I love that... Thats seriously taking customers feedback into consideration!!

Nice one on the review anyway Matt.. Shame ya didn't have more to work with. Hope that 790i will be better.

17-01-2008, 08:09:27

Paradisos
i am only waiting for the new mobo 780i to buy a new pc. Such a shame that asus didn't make it, else i would go and buy it now. Now i have to wait even longer. Hope better ones will come out soon

17-01-2008, 08:12:36

PV5150
Do you need SLI? The Intel X48's should be starting to make an appearance shortly, and I'm betting they'll provide better performance than the Nvidia 780i. However, it will be interesting to see if ASUS' new BIOS rectifies this board's issues.

17-01-2008, 09:14:30

Bungral
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Do you need SLI? The Intel X48's should be starting to make an appearance shortly, and I'm betting they'll provide better performance than the Nvidia 780i. However, it will be interesting to see if ASUS' new BIOS rectifies this board's issues.
Do we have any idea on roughly when the X48's will be about.. Next month or two?

17-01-2008, 09:26:18

PV5150
Well Gigabyte has officially launched their X48 range (GA-X48T-DQ6, GA-X48-DQ6, GA-X48-DS5) so I can't imagine that it will be very long before ASUS and other manufacturers have them on the shelves.

17-01-2008, 10:21:27

Paradisos
I was thinking about SLI, maybe buy an other 8800 GT when the price drops, so i was thinking about the 780i, or 790i maybe. It's painful to wait an other 15 days or so, to see the new stuff. And to buy a mobo that needs a bios update so soon doesn't seem like a good idea.

17-01-2008, 17:36:26

FarFarAway
Try a Striker II?

17-01-2008, 19:11:43

Hatman
Tbh 790i is becoming to appear more appealing to me. DDR3 is becoming much better value.

Check this out.

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=644789

Scan.co.uk DDR3, 2x 1gb rated at 1600mhz at "just" 140 is pre-ordered, getting much better value.

Pretty soon it'll be overtaking DDR2 withe the 790i's and X48 releases.

17-01-2008, 20:44:02

darkorb
only diff between 780i/790i and x38/x48 is the support of DDR3?

Then i would buy now.. No diff between DDR2/3, well not worth the cost

18-01-2008, 10:09:00

Paradisos
Well as you said it's one of the most expensive mobos till now. I think it's a bit too much to give for a mobo for me and also i don't see many other mobos in the market, so i think its better to wait maybe 15 more days and then deside...

18-01-2008, 10:25:24

Paradisos
There is also the EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI ATX that is out, and as i can see, users are more satisfied with this mobo. Maybe you will test it out later, but thanks to everyone for your help and thoughts !

19-01-2008, 10:19:23

dwarry
Hi Guys, I am a complete newb to overclocking, I have built several systems but never delved into the Dark Art...! (Not with any success anyway!)

I bought this Mobo as I got fed up of waiting for the Striker II Formula to appear at scan despite having pre ordered it ages ago.

I am really struggling to get anywhere with it, I am quite pleased with the stock performance (compared to my ageing AMD FX 55, A8N Sli Deluxe combo) but would appreciate some tips / BOIS settings to help me get going. The best I have done so far is get a 10% increase with Asus' AI overclock setting in the BIOS if I try to adjust things manually it wont POST....

HELP........Please.

Great Site by the way.....

Cheers, Dave Warry.

19-01-2008, 10:29:14

FarFarAway
I'd suggest updating to the latest BIOS before you even try overclocking.

Set the CPU volts a little higher and al;so set the CPU VTT a little higher

19-01-2008, 12:19:27

dwarry
Thanks for the quick reply, I have updated to the latest BIOS (0502) and tweaked the voltages slightly but I am worried about frying stuff...! I am unsure what voltages are reasonable for the various settings. Is there a list of the voltages and tweaks that were used in the review of this board?

I will crack it, I just need to get over the initial fears....!

Cheers, D W

21-01-2008, 14:07:32

dwarry
Hey guys, Asus have released a new BIOS for the P5N-T Deluxe Nforce 780i. 0602.

I have used Asus, AI overclock option and got it up to 20% overclock with no problems this means a FSB of 320mhz and a core speed of 2.88ghz, I know that this is peanuts but previously the board wouldn't POST with an overclock of 10%...!

I now need to try adjusting the settings manually but could do with some advice on what voltage adjustments should be safe, or do I leave the voltage settings on "Auto"

It would be interesting to see what an expert Overclocker could get from this board with the new BIOS, seeing as the performance was "lacking" during its review...!

ANY advice would be very gratefully received....Cheers Guys

D W

21-01-2008, 14:16:35

FarFarAway
Remember overclocking is based on a chip per chip basis so no one person will get the exact same results

Anyone can become a good overclocker, it just takes patience and research mate and a lot of trying again.

Stay whithin safe CPU voltages (1.55v for air cooling for example) and watch the temps alla round

21-01-2008, 14:30:44

dwarry
Cheers Mate,

I will try and push the FSB up slowly, my target is 3.0ghz (unless I get hooked and start watercooling etc...!). My RAM is rated at 1000mhz so that shouldn't pose a problem.

You mentioned the CPU VTT voltage in your last reply, what would be a safe limit for this setting?

Cheers, D W

21-01-2008, 15:06:03

FarFarAway
Only bump up CPU VTT if you get stuck, do it in small increments

24-01-2008, 13:07:25

Paradisos
Now that there is a new bios update for this mobo, did it become any better, and how about the overclocking, can it reach 3.0Ghz with the build in cooler ?

24-01-2008, 15:35:06

FarFarAway
I was waiting for the BIOS release to try again but due to review time constraints I've had to take it out.

I may get some time to try again but it won't be for a while

24-01-2008, 15:38:06

dwarry
I managed to get it up to 3.375gig (FSB of 1500 in BIOS) and I could run 3Dmark 06 comfortably with a score of 19,448. However when I was playing stalker all maxed out it threw up BSOD's after about half an hour. I didn't try to push it any more than this and this was with my Thermaltake Big Typ 120 air cooler turned right down to silent levels. I am now running at 3.038gig (FSB 1350 in BIOS) with all the fans on Silent and it is Solid as a rock, (No problems playing Crysis last night for 3 hours, wife is at work...!, with all the settings at HIGH inc. AA & AF, Res 1600x1050 on 22" screen) 3Dmark score is still over 1700, So I personally am well impressed with the new BIOS it has helped me overcome my NewB overclocking fears....!

It would be good to see what an expert OC'er could do.....HINT HINT.....!

Cheers, DW

24-01-2008, 15:43:58

FarFarAway
I simply don't have time right now. If I get some (unlikely) I will update the review

24-01-2008, 16:41:10

dwarry
Thanks dood, you can only try :-)

02-02-2008, 07:34:50

steelkane
I think the benchmarks would be better, if a Nvidia card was used on a sli board. using an ati card makes no sense to me. very bad review.

02-02-2008, 07:51:00

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='steelkane'
I think the benchmarks would be better, if a Nvidia card was used on a sli board. using an ati card makes no sense to me. very bad review.
The fact that nvidia and ATI cards perform nigh on identically on any chipset not crossed your mind?

Also the ATI card was used on other boards review, so it there as a control. Using an 8800GT vs the X1950 pro and then saying the motherboard is fantastic for gaming isnt exactly a fair test is it.

And intel dont make graphics cards to test with intel chips.

02-02-2008, 09:44:56

Rastalovich
That`s the thing. There are a fair few reviewers out there that would switch out cards, cpus or memory, but where is the fairness in the comparison ? Or the consistancy really.

U have to try and keep the playing field for all the boards ur going to compare as even as possible. Components, to an extent don`t matter that much as long as they`re the same. A choice of decent proven stuff in this case I think, don`t want to overcomplicate things either and take ur eye of what ur really reviewing, which is the mobo.

06-02-2008, 15:39:58

sinephase
Not a bad review, definitely not a "very" bad review. There are many benchmarks that were taken that don't rely on video at all. I do agree to an extent about the video card, but mainly because it wasn't tested with a PCIe 2.0 card, which is what the board is supposed to be for.

I'm sure it's quite hard to keep everything accurate because, for instance, in a lot of benchmarks a 8800 with 256bit memory vs. one with a 345bit (or whatever it is) doesn't look like much now, but once games, etc. utilize it better, there will be a growing difference between the two. Same with the wolfdale vs. conroe, because the wolfdale is using new instructions, and once those are used in apps, there will be more of a difference.

Would really like to see a comparison between PCIe 2.0 and 1.0(1) performance on this site.

17-02-2009, 05:50:39

Sleekit
I bought this board, sadly jumped into it without reading any reviews, i've been planning on overclocking my cpu for ages now, i've read many guides on overclocking (including the ones on here) but i'm still clueless, does anyone know this board well who could help me please?

17-02-2009, 10:58:51

w3bbo
Probably best asking in the overclocking section m8.

HERE
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.