Asus P5K P35 Socket 775 Motherboard

BIOS & Overclocking

The BIOS

As with all of Asus' most recent motherboards, the P5K is based around a BIOS from Phoenix Technologies. Some enthusiasts tend to favor the Award BIOS layout over Phoenix, but it's extremely hard to find fault with the overall layout and wealth of features available on the P5K.

Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS

Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS

Front-Side Bus speeds are adjustable in 1mhz increments all the way from 200mhz up to a rather insane 800mhz. Of course, the board isn't actually capable of hitting such a high FSB speed, but I can only think that such a wide FSB range was placed in the BIOS to remove any possibility of a "locked down" setting from hindering some insane liquid nitrogen overclocking fun!

Voltage options are equally as flexible, with vcore available in 0.0125v increments from 1.000v all the way up to 1.700v and vdimm ranging from 1.80v to 2.55v in 0.05v steps. More information on the voltage and overclocking options can be seen in the table below:

OptionAvailable Range
FSB
200-800mhz
PCI-E Clock
100-150mhz
VCore Voltage
1.000-1.700v
CPU PLL Voltage
1.50-1.80v
Northbridge Voltage
1.25-1.70v
Southbridge Voltage
1.05-1.20v
Memory Voltage
1.80-2.55v


Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS

Another feature brought over from the P5B series is the "O.C Profile" utility. This essentially allows you to save your current BIOS settings to a restorable profile, and can be very handy if you've spent a lot of time stabilising an overclock and don't want to lose the settings.

Asus P5k Deluxe BIOS Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS

Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS Asus P5K Deluxe BIOS

All other areas of the BIOS are just as feature packed and the "Hardware Monitor" seen bottom right gives fairly accurate readouts of the motherboard voltages, temperatures and fan speeds as you would expect from an enthusiast board.


Overclocking

With the success of the P5B, Commando and most P965 boards in general being a champion overclockers, the P5K certainly has quite a reputation to live up to. Using only the BIOS to overclock the installed E4300 processor with a maximum safe vcore voltage of 1.50v, I was able to achieve the following results from the P5K:

Asus P5K Deluxe Overclock Asus P5B Premium Overclock
Asus P5K Deluxe (Left) - Asus P5B Premium (Right)

As you can see from above, the P5K actually managed to beat the maximum overclock we'd previously set using the E4300 chip on the P5B Premium board by ~50mhz (5mhz FSB). This certainly shows that the P35 Northbridge can offer the same (if not better) overclock potential as its predecessor the P965.

Maximum FSB

Dropping the multiplier down to 6x and increasing the Northbridge voltage to it's maximum of 1.70v allowed for some serious FSB speeds, with the P5K hitting a very impressive 520mhz. This is 40mhz higher than the maximum FSB obtainable on our P5B Premium board, and should certainly keep the overclocking crowd happy.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-06-2007, 12:51:05

JN
"Today I'll be taking a look at Asus' first Bearlake (P35) chipset motherboard. Still based around DDR2, and with stiff competition from its elder P5B (P965) brother, how will it hold up?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...122313679s.jpg

Full Article

04-06-2007, 13:22:09

FragTek
Great review Jim, article linked @ XS!

04-06-2007, 13:24:58

!TIMMY!
Nice review, god things are moving on so fast, soon DDR3 and heres me just upgraded and still on DDR1 lol.

04-06-2007, 13:32:51

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Great review Jim, article linked @ XS!

Cheers dude

04-06-2007, 13:45:16

ionicle
looks awsome

cool review

04-06-2007, 13:59:03

FarFarAway
Great review jimbo

Think I'll wait a while to upgrade tho

04-06-2007, 14:29:40

dave87
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'

Think I'll wait a while to upgrade tho
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful

04-06-2007, 14:32:20

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful
Depends. If there was a P35-based board with DDR3 support that was as cheap as P965, mebbe that

If not P965 tbh

EDIT: Am I right in saying 680i supports the new Intel CPU's? If so I'll have an IN9

04-06-2007, 14:51:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful
Tough call really. If you're buying a board for a Conroe then I'd personally stick with P965. More mature, cheaper and there's some nicer boards out there (me loves my Commando).

However, if you're thinking of going 45nm, then it's got to be P35. Just beware that afaik the P5K isn't 100% guaranteed to support Penryn when it comes out - much the same situation as the early Asus boards that supported Conroe....but didn't.

04-06-2007, 18:32:17

5aboy
great review, love the little bit of overclocking done to a good-ish CPU too.

as i have just purchased one of these, i intend on posting my results too.

however, i think if you (like me) are moving to c2d for the first time, or are just making a new build with some amount of overclocking in mind, then the p5k dlx is just for you.

i think especially with current ddr2 prices, that it would be silly to move upto ddr3 so soon (remember how ddr2 rolled out, ddr1 was still king for many months until faster and tighter ddr2 came out) as you can probably buy 8gb of decent ddr2 for the same price (obviously for 4x2gb kits) as a single 1gb or 2gb kit of ddr3.

just my 2p worth...

04-06-2007, 18:43:27

mVp24
Was walking home today and guess what was @ my door step!

A P5K
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.