Asus P5K P35 Socket 775 Motherboard

Packaging & Contents

Packaging & Contents

Having seen and owned several Asus motherboards in the past, it would be fair to say that Asus have never really gone for the whole CGI Character or 'Gaming' style of packaging. Instead, things have always been kept simple with a rather professional looking black box and well organised information snippets.

Asus P5K Deluxe Box Asus P5K Deluxe Box

Not much has really changed with the P5K either. Using the standard black packaging along with the semi-transparent AI logo that signifies that the P5K Deluxe is part of Asus' "Lifestyle" range, the front of the box is uncomplicated and maintains the professional look its predecessors.

For those of us who crave information, a flap on the front of the box can be lifted to reveal details of the "Asus Super Memspeed" technology along with with some small thumbnails showing what accessories are included in the box.

Asus P5K Deluxe Box Asus P5K Deluxe Box

Further information is also provided around the back of the box, with a specification table similar to the one provided back on page 1, and a small thumbnail of the P5K motherboard with the Asus omni-directional antenna attached.

Asus P5K Deluxe Contents Asusk P5K Deluxe Package

Asus P5K Deluxe Cables Asus P5K Deluxe Manuals

Included in the box is the usual manuals and driver CD's along with the required motherbord I/O shield and a collection of SATA/IDE cables. A fairly uninspiring spread it has to be said, but enough to get you up and running with a new PC build. A full list of what's in the box can be seen below:

• UltraDMA 133/100/66 cable
• FDD cable
• 4 x Serial ATA cables
• 1 x 2-port Serial ATA power cable
• I/O Shield
• User's manual
• ASUS WiFi-AP Solo manual
• 3 in 1 Q-connector
• 1 x 2-port USB2.0 / 1-port IEEE1394 module
• ASUS WiFi-AP Solo omni-directional antenna
• Support CD

Asus P5K Deluxe Q-Connector

One thing unique to Asus motherboards is the "3-in-1 Q-Connector". These three small blocks are quite simply a godsend for the enthusiast who regulary disconnects their motherboard and is then faced with the frustration of trying to place the power/reset/activity LED connectors back on the motherboard header. As you can see from above, mine arrived slightly bent - but nothing that a quick adjustment with some pliers couldn't fix!
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-06-2007, 12:51:05

JN
"Today I'll be taking a look at Asus' first Bearlake (P35) chipset motherboard. Still based around DDR2, and with stiff competition from its elder P5B (P965) brother, how will it hold up?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...122313679s.jpg

Full Article

04-06-2007, 13:22:09

FragTek
Great review Jim, article linked @ XS!

04-06-2007, 13:24:58

!TIMMY!
Nice review, god things are moving on so fast, soon DDR3 and heres me just upgraded and still on DDR1 lol.

04-06-2007, 13:32:51

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Great review Jim, article linked @ XS!

Cheers dude

04-06-2007, 13:45:16

ionicle
looks awsome

cool review

04-06-2007, 13:59:03

FarFarAway
Great review jimbo

Think I'll wait a while to upgrade tho

04-06-2007, 14:29:40

dave87
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'

Think I'll wait a while to upgrade tho
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful

04-06-2007, 14:32:20

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful
Depends. If there was a P35-based board with DDR3 support that was as cheap as P965, mebbe that

If not P965 tbh

EDIT: Am I right in saying 680i supports the new Intel CPU's? If so I'll have an IN9

04-06-2007, 14:51:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful
Tough call really. If you're buying a board for a Conroe then I'd personally stick with P965. More mature, cheaper and there's some nicer boards out there (me loves my Commando).

However, if you're thinking of going 45nm, then it's got to be P35. Just beware that afaik the P5K isn't 100% guaranteed to support Penryn when it comes out - much the same situation as the early Asus boards that supported Conroe....but didn't.

04-06-2007, 18:32:17

5aboy
great review, love the little bit of overclocking done to a good-ish CPU too.

as i have just purchased one of these, i intend on posting my results too.

however, i think if you (like me) are moving to c2d for the first time, or are just making a new build with some amount of overclocking in mind, then the p5k dlx is just for you.

i think especially with current ddr2 prices, that it would be silly to move upto ddr3 so soon (remember how ddr2 rolled out, ddr1 was still king for many months until faster and tighter ddr2 came out) as you can probably buy 8gb of decent ddr2 for the same price (obviously for 4x2gb kits) as a single 1gb or 2gb kit of ddr3.

just my 2p worth...

04-06-2007, 18:43:27

mVp24
Was walking home today and guess what was @ my door step!

A P5K
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.