Asus P5K P35 Socket 775 Motherboard

Conclusion

Conclusion

As you would expect from the Asus Deluxe series, the P5K is a very cable and fully featured board. Sharing many design elements of its elder brother (the P5B), the P5K manages to have a clean and very accessible layout. My only minor gripes as described earlier in this review, is the lack of 90° SATA and PATA connectors, which in my opinion help with cable routing, and may also prevent any problems using top SATA ports along with an 8800Ultra and its obtrusive full-length cooler.

In terms of performance, the P5K is almost on-par, but consistently behind the P5B. Obviously with this being a brand new board on the market Asus will still need to do some tweaking, and I'm fairly confident that Asus could bring both boards head-to-head with only a BIOS update.

Overclocking is certainly one of the P5K stronger points - and with a maximum FSB of 520mhz, my affection and respect for the board certainly increased. This combined with the fact that the P5K managed to squeeze an extra 50mhz out of our E4300 could mean that the P965 based P5B and Commando boards could soon be dethroned as the best overclocker friendly motherboards on the market.

So, in summary - the P5K Deluxe is a very well featured motherboard, with excellent overclocking abilities and performance almost as good as the P5B. With Asus stating support for the upcoming 45nm CPU's and it's legacy support for DDR2, the P5K looks to be a perfect motherboard for those of us wanting to upgrade to Intel's "Penryn" CPU's without losing the overclock-ability of our P965 boards or moving over to DDR3 platform.

The Asus P5K Deluxe motherboard is available from Tekheads.co.uk for around £160 at time of writing.

Tekheads


Pro's
• Clean and accessible layout.
• Continued support for DDR2.
• FSB speeds up to 520mhz (and beyond?).
• Overclocking on-par, or better than the P965.

Con's
• Performance a tiny bit behind the P965 at the moment (BIOS update could easily fix this)
• Possible minor issue with SATA port placement and 8800Ultra cards.


Recommended Award


Thanks to Asus for making this review possible. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-06-2007, 12:51:05

JN
"Today I'll be taking a look at Asus' first Bearlake (P35) chipset motherboard. Still based around DDR2, and with stiff competition from its elder P5B (P965) brother, how will it hold up?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...122313679s.jpg

Full Article

04-06-2007, 13:22:09

FragTek
Great review Jim, article linked @ XS!

04-06-2007, 13:24:58

!TIMMY!
Nice review, god things are moving on so fast, soon DDR3 and heres me just upgraded and still on DDR1 lol.

04-06-2007, 13:32:51

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FragTek'
Great review Jim, article linked @ XS!

Cheers dude

04-06-2007, 13:45:16

ionicle
looks awsome

cool review

04-06-2007, 13:59:03

FarFarAway
Great review jimbo

Think I'll wait a while to upgrade tho

04-06-2007, 14:29:40

dave87
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'

Think I'll wait a while to upgrade tho
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful

04-06-2007, 14:32:20

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful
Depends. If there was a P35-based board with DDR3 support that was as cheap as P965, mebbe that

If not P965 tbh

EDIT: Am I right in saying 680i supports the new Intel CPU's? If so I'll have an IN9

04-06-2007, 14:51:55

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
If you had to buy now, P35 or P965 based board?

Good review though Jim, most helpful
Tough call really. If you're buying a board for a Conroe then I'd personally stick with P965. More mature, cheaper and there's some nicer boards out there (me loves my Commando).

However, if you're thinking of going 45nm, then it's got to be P35. Just beware that afaik the P5K isn't 100% guaranteed to support Penryn when it comes out - much the same situation as the early Asus boards that supported Conroe....but didn't.

04-06-2007, 18:32:17

5aboy
great review, love the little bit of overclocking done to a good-ish CPU too.

as i have just purchased one of these, i intend on posting my results too.

however, i think if you (like me) are moving to c2d for the first time, or are just making a new build with some amount of overclocking in mind, then the p5k dlx is just for you.

i think especially with current ddr2 prices, that it would be silly to move upto ddr3 so soon (remember how ddr2 rolled out, ddr1 was still king for many months until faster and tighter ddr2 came out) as you can probably buy 8gb of decent ddr2 for the same price (obviously for 4x2gb kits) as a single 1gb or 2gb kit of ddr3.

just my 2p worth...

04-06-2007, 18:43:27

mVp24
Was walking home today and guess what was @ my door step!

A P5K
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.