Asus P5E3 Premium X48 DDR3 Motherboard

3D Gaming Results

Quake 4
 
Quake 4 is a game built on the Doom 3 engine. Benchmarking was performed using Quake4Bench and a custom timedemo recording along with 0xAA, 0xAF settings at a resolution of 1024x768. The benchmark was set to run a total of 5 times, with Quake4Bench automatically calculating an average result at the end of the run.
 
Quake4
 
 
F.E.A.R
 
F.E.A.R. is a game based on the Lithtech Jupiter EX engine. It has volumetric lighting, soft shadows, parallax mapping and particle effects. Included in the game is a benchmark facility that taxes the entire PC system. This benchmark was run a total of 5 times, with the highest and lowest results being excluded and an average being calculated on the remaining 3 results.
 
F.E.A.R
 
 
BIOSHOCK
 
Bioshock is a recent FPS shooter by 2K games. Based on the UT3 engine it has a large amount of advanced DirectX techniques including excellent water rendering and superb lighting and smoke techniques. All results were recorded using F.R.A.P.S with a total of 5 identical runs through the same area of the game. The highest and lowest results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
BIOSHOCK
 
 
Result Observations
 
The P5E3 Premium manages to keep up with the rest of boards in the test, indeed showing that it is in no way crippled when compared to any of Asus' Replublic of Gamers boards or indeed any of the Nvidia chipset based boards (Striker II / XFX 780i).
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-03-2008, 09:05:07

JN
"Asus gives their popular P5* series a makeover with a spangly new X48 chipset, but how does it hold up against its predecessors?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...120101900s.jpg

Asus P5E3 Premium review

08-03-2008, 09:51:54

Luigi
Wow nice overclocking, i read somewhere that x48 is just a die shrink of x38, is that true?

08-03-2008, 10:07:07

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Wow nice overclocking, i read somewhere that x48 is just a die shrink of x38, is that true?
Yeah, IIRC it's a shrink from 90nm to 65nm and obviously has support for 1600mhz FSB. other than that they are pretty much the same.

08-03-2008, 10:11:39

Luigi
yeah, thats pretty good as my x38 gets real toasty, i guess thats what aids overclocking the fact it runs cooler, as 680i boards were awful with stock but under water really rocked most of the time..

Nice review btw i look forward to a proper read later

08-03-2008, 10:20:20

ionicle
looks nice

performs well

asus have been listening to people and implimenting some good ideas into their motherboards it seems...

08-03-2008, 10:24:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
yeah, thats pretty good as my x38 gets real toasty, i guess thats what aids overclocking the fact it runs cooler, as 680i boards were awful with stock but under water really rocked most of the time..

Nice review btw i look forward to a proper read later
It does certainly help, and even with the stock Asus aluminium heatsinks/copper heatpipes I didn't find that the NB got hot in the slightest.

Apparently the 790i is a lot cooler than the 680/708i (according to the marketing dudes), but I'll be able to say for sure in a week or so

08-03-2008, 10:29:53

Luigi
Are OC3D getting one in? theyve been on show on cebit, which i spotted one in a hexus article, it looks like a heatsink about the same size as that on 780i, but hopefully your right and it is a lot cooler.

08-03-2008, 10:38:09

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Are OC3D getting one in? theyve been on show on cebit, which i spotted one in a hexus article, it looks like a heatsink about the same size as that on 780i, but hopefully your right and it is a lot cooler.
I've got one here at the moment. Been playing with it for a while but can't say anything really until the 18th when NDA is lifted

It IS better than the 780i tho....

08-03-2008, 10:41:55

Luigi
Well this is what nvidia have been working on am i right? then they realised ppl still wanted ddr2 so mashed up a 680i with the pci-e 2 chip...

08-03-2008, 12:13:29

ionicle
w00t! looking forward to that

i'm guessing you've got the review done, and will post it at 00:01 on the 18'th?

28-04-2008, 09:10:34

w3bbo
I am sorely tempted to get one of these. Either the P5E3 or the DFI x48lt...hmmmm.

Great review once again Jim.

28-04-2008, 10:13:06

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='webbo'
I am sorely tempted to get one of these. Either the P5E3 or the DFI x48lt...hmmmm.
Don't ask me to choose. I'm a sucker for lush motherboards. The P5E3 does have the edge of BIOS options/voltages tho...i'll give it that for sure!

28-04-2008, 13:19:34

Luigi
mm. and not that your subzero, but it has a very good coldbug (as in you can get to -100 i believe before it wont post..)

29-04-2008, 04:33:31

-VK-
It's been booted at -140 degrees C....

For all you LN2 Junkies out there!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.