Asus P5E3 Deluxe WiFi-AP @n Socket 775 Motherboard

Test Setup and Overclocking

Test Setup

As you may or may not be aware, all of Overclock3D's motherboard test setups have been updated with identical hardware to reflect the growing need for quad core computing. We endeavor to get the hardware test setups as close as possible for each review performed.

 Asus Maximus
DFI LANPARY Asus P5E3
ProcessorIntel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz 2x4MB
MemoryCellshock PC2-6400 DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)/Kingston HyperX PC3-11000 CL7 DDR3 2gb Kit 7-7-7-20
Graphics Card Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E
Hard Disk Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling Noctua NH-U12P
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate (Latest Updates)
Graphics Drivers ATI Catalyst 7.4.44981
Motherboard Drivers Intel INF 8.300.1013

During the testing of the boards above, special care was taken to ensure that the BIOS settings used matched whenever possible. A fresh install of Windows Vista was also used between switching boards, preventing any possible performance issues due to left-over drivers from the previous motherboard install.

To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities were used:


Synthetic CPU & Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

Disk I/O Performance
• HDTach 3.0.4.0
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R


Overclocking

Overclocking was performed through the BIOS as all good overclocks should be. With all three boards having a huge amount of options and the Maximus and the DFI having reputations for being excellent overclockers, the P5E3 could be up against it in this part of our testing.

max overclock

The P5E3 managed to top the other boards by a small margin here, although it took an effort to squeeze that little bit extra from the Q6600 without better NorthBridge and chipset cooling. The P5E3 at 3690MHz just out-performs the other two boards here.

max fsb overclocking

After the slightly higher result in general overclocking I was expecting at least as high FSB from the P5E3 as the other two boards. Here the P5E3 shows its slight disadvantage over the other two boards with a few voltage options needing to be slightly higher to get the best FSB.

In general, the P5E3 is a good solid overclocker and should get the best out of your chip.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-12-2007, 13:10:29

FarFarAway
We have a gander at Asus "AI-Lifestyle" board, the P5E3 Deluxe

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...142735608s.jpg

See what we think

10-12-2007, 14:48:48

ionicle
looks decent enough, but why, in one of the pictures, was there a sticker over two usb ports, and a network port? :S

infact, its in the pic in the first post ^^

is it to protect it or somthing? :S

10-12-2007, 15:03:22

FarFarAway
Nah just shows you where the USB wake-on goes in, should have taken it off but forgot

10-12-2007, 16:08:18

ionicle

10-12-2007, 16:45:42

SBB
Looks nice, shame the overclocking isnt as good as the rest of it

10-12-2007, 16:48:39

FarFarAway
Agreed, although cooling limited me tbh. Still 3.7GHz easily on a Q6600 isn't to be sniffed at. Sometimes I wish we could have a bit more time with the boards to tweak away
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.