Asus P5B-E Plus socket 775 Motherboard p965

Introduction, Packaging and Package

Introduction

Asus have a long and excellent history of making some of the best motherboards that money can buy. In recent years they've even managed to step it up a notch and produce some awesome enthusiast boards.

We take a look at the baby brother of the Asus P5B Deluxe: the Asus P5B-E Plus. Will this board live up to the reputation already gained by it's elder sibling as one of the best overclocking 775 boards? Let's see...

Packaging

Packaging isn't as necessary in the generally online world of computer components, but it can make an eye-catching difference in retail shelves. The Asus P5B-E Plus has been given a typical look by Asus, who have generally avoided the typical strange characters or themed boxes of other manufacturers in preference for a box that looks neat, tidy and professional.

asus p5b-e plus box asus p5b-e plus box

As you can see - the top of the box took a bit of a battering on it's way to me, so did the packaging inside the box absorb the blows?

asus p5b-e plus in box asus p5b-e plus

There was indeed no damage to the components inside, but the first impression I got was, (I have to say), "ghetto". I don't think I've seen a simple layer of corrugated cardboard to protect an enthusiast motherboard before but there's a first time for everything.

While the box looks nice, the packaging innards and protection leave quite a lot to be desired.

Package

Moving swiftly on to the package that Asus supply with the board we can see a nice range of connecters to get you going with it.

asus p5b-e plus

Here we have:

* 1 x IO backplate
* 1 x IDE Ribbon cable
* 1 x Floppy ribbon cable
* 2 x Molex > SATA power cables
* 3 x SATA cables
* 1 x IEE1394 Firewire internal > external (1 port) PCI backplate connecter
* 1 x USB internal > external (2 port)PCI backplate connecter
* Asus "EZ connecters" (USB, firewire and front panel IO)
* Asus Driver/Utilities Install CD
* Asus P5B-E plus User Guide

That's not a bad collection of stuff to get going with. The only thing I noticed was lacking was SATA cables to fill all SATA ports on the motherboad, but as this is not a high-end board this can be forgiven.

A quick work about the Asus "EZ connecters". These are excellent for getting your internals wired right and for people who rebuild their PC's a lot. As a detachable extension to a couple of your internal port connections, you can wire this first then attach to the motherboard. Certainly saves a lot of faffing about in what is usually a dimly lit area on the motherboard inside a case. Seeing as case manufacturers don't seem to want to do it, I'm glad to see Asus stepping up and making our lives easier.

asus p5b-e plus ez connecter

Let's take a look at the board itself

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-12-2006, 06:52:12

FarFarAway
Let's see how the P5B Deluxe's little brother got on then shall we?

Click

28-12-2006, 08:45:01

FragTek
I think the page 5 32million Super Pi test graph is wrong? 19 sec 32mil test??

Edit: Looks like a sweet arse board!

28-12-2006, 08:46:11

FarFarAway
Bah ye tis in Minutes

Frag u @ home?

28-12-2006, 08:47:36

FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Bah ye tis in Minutes

Frag u @ home?
Nah sorry mate, @ work

28-12-2006, 09:16:43

FarFarAway
Changed with some faffing

28-12-2006, 12:28:34

NickS
Good board but I'm glad I didn't purchase it. 2.1v vDimm would have made me sell it the minute I booted it up.

Anyway, extremely thorough review Kemp. Looks great!

28-12-2006, 12:38:45

markkleb
As usual great review..

28-12-2006, 15:06:30

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Good board but I'm glad I didn't purchase it. 2.1v vDimm would have made me sell it the minute I booted it up.

Anyway, extremely thorough review Kemp. Looks great!
2.4vDIMM mate

But ye tis a nice board

29-12-2006, 01:15:59

mVp24
Hey Kemp, I just thought I'd let you know about a couple of typos I think I found under the Introduction section on page 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='kemp
Asus has a long and excellent history of making some of the best motherboards that money can buy. In recent years [b]they've[/b'] even managed to step it up a notch and produce some awesome enthusiast boards.
Am gonna read the whole review tonight looks like a good read btw!

29-12-2006, 01:53:30

NickS
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
2.4vDIMM mate

But ye tis a nice board
Oh? I thought you set max. values in BIOS when u took screenies.

Some P5B's (well, some revisions) were known to max out at 2.1v also.

2.4 is still slightly low, but safe for D9. Above 2.4, heck, even 2.4v for D9 will kill it slowly.

29-12-2006, 02:54:22

FarFarAway
Ye it's 2.45v which isn't too bad, though very slightly low I spose.

@ spirtd: Changed the they've, but I think have looks fine to me

29-12-2006, 06:24:10

FragTek
Kempez IS an English major

02-01-2007, 02:53:24

brajko2
Hi

Nice review... just wanted to add Matthew, that and the bottom of this page, you have included direct link to www.abit.com.tw :-)

"Thanks To Asus for the Review Sample"

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?type=3&id=142&page=9&desc=asus_p5b-e_plus_socket_775_motherboard_p965

02-01-2007, 03:38:20

FarFarAway
Oops, dunno what I was doing there

Changed

20-05-2007, 03:55:12

mVp24
Hey Kemp is this the same as the Asus P5B Plus on their website?

Why the P5B E?

20-05-2007, 11:33:26

FarFarAway
That's what the box (and mobo) said mate

20-05-2007, 11:55:48

Toxcity
An amazing read thanks!

28-08-2007, 09:02:40

Pingman
Another Good review, and i gotta say i really like my P5B-E, i bought it to save a bit of money on bits of the P5B-deluxe that i didn't need, liek the Wifi and dual LAN etcand im pleased as it's performed great, overclocks well and only cost £75

28-08-2007, 14:18:42

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pingman'
Another Good review, and i gotta say i really like my P5B-E, i bought it to save a bit of money on bits of the P5B-deluxe that i didn't need, liek the Wifi and dual LAN etcand im pleased as it's performed great, overclocks well and only cost £75
Aye it is indeed a good deal mobo

28-08-2007, 14:36:11

Pingman
I've just realised, mine is just the P5B-E not the P5B-E PLUS. Is there a difference between the two?

28-08-2007, 14:50:03

FarFarAway
Not much of a muchness I don't think, is yours black?

28-08-2007, 14:51:33

Pingman
Yellow

28-08-2007, 14:52:26

FarFarAway
Ye this ones black and has a few more SATA ports I think

Did you read the review and look at the pics? lol

29-08-2007, 06:04:00

Pingman
Yeah i read it lol

I just assumed because the box and board were different colours that i had a later/earlier revision or you hada 'review' sample, only when i checked my box i saw it ha no PLUS.

15-03-2008, 06:20:56

OptimAdam
Does anyone know if this board will support the penryns that are out soon?

15-03-2008, 07:48:22

PV5150
I would imagine so with a BIOS update, but don't expect the longevity to cover Nehalem procs (LGA1366). All you need do is head to the manufacturers website to find the answer, which I have already done for you here

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ASUS'
- Support Intel® next generation 45nm Multi-core CPU
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.