ASUS Maximus VII Hero Review

Conclusion

ASUS Maximus VII Hero Preview

Conclusion

Pricing and naming conventions in hardware are always a funny thing. In the same way that people aren't too keen on buying the cheapest bottle of wine on the menu, so it proves with Hardware. Put out a £40 motherboard and nobody would buy it because they assume it's rubbish. A £500 motherboard would only get a niche audience because of the price, but there would still be more people interested in it as, for that price, it must be worth it. Naming is similar. Call a motherboard the "ASUS ROG Sheep" and it's unlikely to sell. Call it the "Extreme Gaming Black Edition" though and it'll fly off the shelves. Que sera sera. We gladly told anyone who would listen that the sweet spot is, in the case of ASUS, their Formula range. The Maximus VII Hero is aimed squarely at that audience and price-point, and what a stunner it is.

The looks are minimalist, bordering on disappointing, when it comes to the amount of things soldered onto the PCB, but the combination of the minimalist black PCB with red accent points and red plastics continue to be as gorgeous as they have been since the first caveman mixed charcoal with cochineal. No matter which angle you look at it from the Hero is a pretty board that lights up in all the right places and will blend with many systems, we think that this version of the ROG motherboard design could be their.

It certainly isn't bereft of features to match those looks. The use of the Intel I217-V LAN with the ASUS Game First software must have sent tremors through a certain other LAN company who strive for low ping traffic shaping suitable for gaming. SupremeFX 2014 Audio is some of the best onboard audio we've ever heard and it definitely risks putting the Xonar arm of ASUS out of business. Why buy an external soundcard when the supplied audio is this good? We love the BIOS which has been refined from the early days of UEFI ones to something which works with high DPI gaming mice, has everything clearly labelled and has a plethora of tweaking options.

It's with those tweaking options that we have to start with our performance assessment. Rock solid 4.9GHz with dual-channel 2933MHz memory is enough to make even the most jaded of users need a napkin to wipe up the drool, and although we couldn't get our CPU sufficiently stable for our full battery of tests we saw 5GHz with 2933MHz memory too. This is the first time we have seen 2933 with two sticks with just a simple flick of the XMP button, we had thought without a great deal of time tweaking the IMC in our CPU just didnt have it in it, thanks the Hero the gauntlet has been thrown down! The benchmarks back up this blistering potential with the Maximus VII Hero regularly topping our graphs, and often by a big margin. 3D Performance in particular was outstanding with a big gap from the Hero down to the next best. Everywhere you looked the results were loud and proud. About the only negative we can find is the PC Mark Vantage test where the Hero exactly matched the Z97A, which makes us wonder if it's something about the way ASUS design their motherboards that affects that particular test. Certainly PC Mark 7 had the Maximus VII Hero back at the top.

A great looking motherboard with monumental performance both in overclocking capabilities and actual results, the Maximus VII Hero is everything you could want from a Republic of Gamers motherboard but with an affordable price tag. We love it, and we're sure you will too. Gold. Our first Z97 Gold too.

     

Thanks to ASUS for supplying the Maximus VII Hero for review. Discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-05-2014, 08:56:50

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...143657967l.jpg

The first of the Z97 ROG boards is the Maximus VII Hero. An affordable Z97 option with all the ROG bells and whistles. How does it perform?


Continue Reading

12-05-2014, 10:15:58

Wraithguard
Oww snap 5Ghz!!? Great review & nice solid pricing.

Cracking board.... your move Gigabyte..

12-05-2014, 10:25:31

RickPlaysWarr
Love it, Thank you so much for the review Tom. I have mine and am starting on the build. I really hope you get to M.2 reviews soon. The thought of a self contained bootable system that performs great is a big one for me. After seeing this review, I need to buy some better memory than I have to do this board justice.

12-05-2014, 10:25:34

krew
i just wish there would be at least one sata express ;(

12-05-2014, 10:26:31

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPlaysWarr View Post
Love it, Thank you so much for the review Tom. I have mine and am starting on the build. I really hope you get to M.2 reviews soon. The thought of a self contained bootable system that performs great is a big one for me. After seeing this review, I need to buy some better memory than I have to do this board justice.
Its VERY CPU limited too though matey - Id advise 2400mhz tbh

12-05-2014, 11:04:18

Dicehunter
Not to sound like an arse but isn't your 4770K the cherry picked one ?

12-05-2014, 11:07:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Not to sound like an arse but isn't your 4770K the cherry picked one ?
'the' no mate. I just won the silicone lottery

12-05-2014, 11:19:28

Dicehunter
Ahh cooleo, Still I'm going to stay with what I have for this year, I'll happily wait for 5770K or what ever they decide to call it, I want a LARGE jump in performance so another gen or 2 wait for me

12-05-2014, 11:47:13

Rory.Will
Great stuff, nice review Tom. Loving the new camera too, the detail is nice and focussed

Just to speculate how do you think the VII Gene will perform compared to this??
Planning an MATX build with the VI Gene at the moment but wondering whether to get the Z97 board with a Haswell CPU and just upgrade later?

Was planning on using my 16GB Dominator Platinum memory too but it's the 1600mhz sticks. Would you recommend higher??

12-05-2014, 12:06:31

MaddenShadow
That was a great video review. Probably among the best so far!

12-05-2014, 12:16:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rory.Will View Post
Great stuff, nice review Tom. Loving the new camera too, the detail is nice and focussed

Just to speculate how do you think the VII Gene will perform compared to this??
Planning an MATX build with the VI Gene at the moment but wondering whether to get the Z97 board with a Haswell CPU and just upgrade later?

Was planning on using my 16GB Dominator Platinum memory too but it's the 1600mhz sticks. Would you recommend higher??

Not really going to get into that, its only ever going to be a guess....

12-05-2014, 12:26:04

Rory.Will
Fair enough man, I'll just wait for release.

Reading it again, it was a bit of a loaded question to ask you lol. Just got the cogs turning after watching the Hero review, made Z97 allot more exciting.

I'll wait for the reviews.

12-05-2014, 14:10:07

SieB
Well it definitely looks better than the gold boards, still don't like the heatsinks on this either though

Still a good motherboard with good performance, we just need to see what the Devils Canyon chips are like on these Z97 boards.

12-05-2014, 14:11:15

Cru
looks like a great board. hopefully the hero 8 will be similar/better as i can't see me upgrading to z97

12-05-2014, 16:38:25

Dicehunter
Tom that card in your rig in the video, Are you purposely staying focused on it ? You git ! , Oh well only another 2-3 weeks

12-05-2014, 16:39:30

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Tom that card in your rig in the video, You git ! , Oh well only another 2-3 weeks.

Ive got two

12-05-2014, 16:43:55

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Ive got two
I'll swap you my pre-order ? j/k j/k

12-05-2014, 16:57:34

Wraithguard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
Tom that card in your rig in the video, Are you purposely staying focused on it ? You git ! , Oh well only another 2-3 weeks
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Ive got two
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
I'll swap you my pre-order ? j/k j/k
It's just been one long giggle on here today, certainly has made a long dull day very bright indeed.

12-05-2014, 19:00:39

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraithguard View Post
It's just been one long giggle on here today, certainly has made a long dull day very bright indeed.
Tomorrows front page OC3D news from Tom "I'm missing a Matrix card and I think I know who it is, He left a note saying "You can have my pre-order when it arrives lolroflcopter"

13-05-2014, 00:55:19

Sypherian
WOW!! an impressive OC, ASUS certainly aren't messing around I'm still a bit intrigued to see what Gigabyte brings to the game but gotta say I'm already sold .

15-05-2014, 19:41:05

Daumier
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Not really going to get into that, its only ever going to be a guess....

Hopefully a VII Gene review ain't far off...

16-05-2014, 05:14:11

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daumier View Post
Hopefully a VII Gene review ain't far off...
I dont have one yet so its weeks at best

03-06-2014, 07:37:41

Xyon93
Any idea when you'll get a chance to review the Ranger Tom?
Would love to see how it stacks up against its older brother, need to decide whether the extra 30 is worth it as my build is on a fairly tight budget! Thanks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.