ASUS Maximus V Formula ThunderFX Review

Up Close - Features

ASUS Maximus V Formula Review

Up Close - Features

There is a lot of hardware packed in to the bottom-left hand corner of the Formula. As well as the excellent Supreme FX IV audio chip, we have the PLX 8608 to provide extra PCI Express bandwidth and the traffic-shaping GameFirst, that keeps your online gaming prioritised regardless of what your OS wants to do.

ASUS Maximus V Formula Review     ASUS Maximus V Formula Review  

The heatsink is a clever dual purpose one dubbed Fusion Thermo, with built in potential for water-cooling should you so desire, as well as being very robust if you're merely using air-cooling. It's well designed enough that even our huge Silver Arrow fits between the barbs with plenty of room to spare.

Around the RAM slots are the ROG standards of the ProbeIt monitoring points, MemOK which helps boot stability, and the CPU Slow switch if LN2 is your weapon of choice.

ASUS Maximus V Formula Review     ASUS Maximus V Formula Review  

The rear is well appointed with eight USB ports alongside the HDMI and DisplayPort outputs and usual audio and LAN connectors. The gap between the CMOS clear and ROG Connect buttons on the left hand side of this photo is where the mPCIe/Bluetooth/WiFi module sits. Storage is handled by six SATA 6Gbp/s ports and two of the older SATA 3Gbp/s ones.

ASUS Maximus V Formula Review     ASUS Maximus V Formula Review

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-08-2012, 03:50:54

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095225657l.JPG

The second in our look at the Maximus V motherboards comes in the form of the Formula ThunderFX.

Continue Reading

08-08-2012, 05:28:48

Lollipop
I don't really like the barbs and the heatsink design in general.

08-08-2012, 06:54:52

dipzy
same here, the heatsinks have that rubbery look/texture but other than that great board

08-08-2012, 07:10:56

Ciric
Yea, why can't they just make some 1/4 threads, and close it with some plugs with the top in the same material as the heatsinks :/

08-08-2012, 07:12:52

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciric View Post
Yea, why can't they just make some 1/4 threads, and close it with some plugs with the top in the same material as the heatsinks :/
Pretty much what I thought too.

08-08-2012, 09:21:03

AverageNinja
I don't think it looks that bad at all. And maybe you could just get the dremel out and cut it off? That would ruin the watercooling possibilities on that heatsink though.

08-08-2012, 11:11:08

spidey81
I've been considering this board for a future IB build. However, of all the reviews I've seen there's been no mention of the barb size on the built in water blocks. I agree that it would have been heaps easier to just have put 1/4" threads in instead of permanent barbs. However, my entire system uses 1/2" barbs with 7/16" tubing. It may technically work if I got a couple of 3/8" barbs/adapters, but it just wouldn't be right. If you get what I mean. I'm assuming since there's been no mention, and from the looks of it, that they are 3/8" barbs. So that will probably be a deal killer.

10-08-2012, 12:03:48

me29011993
I have the same board, but on top of the board against the cooling block and a little bit right of the 2 fan connectors, are 3 pins, do you know what they are for, cause I can't find them in the user guide.

Thx

19-08-2012, 14:54:15

Munio
A very good review with an honest conclusion. Well done Mr Waters.
Judging on last few reviews of Z77 I think MSI G65 is the best deal and hopefully it will end up in my new build.

Kind regards to everyone btw from a new member

19-09-2012, 08:21:41

XtremePhysX
I'm most likely buying this motherboard but with out the thunderbolt thing.
The only reason I'm getting it is to use more tubing XD

16-11-2012, 03:52:28

Stalker_26
Hi All,

I have this board and the barb size is 3/8, which can also be found in the PDF version on the motherboards manual

Cracking board btw
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.