ASUS Maximus V Formula ThunderFX Review

3D Mark

ASUS Maximus V Formula Review

3D Mark Vantage

As expected Vantage is heavily reliant upon the Sapphire HD7950 instead of the whole package, but the results are still pretty good, with the P score being more impressive than the X score, but all of them are fine.

 

3D Mark 11

The more up-to-date 3D Mark 11 is even closer, and it's clear how much of a benefit the larger overclock available to the Extreme is when compared to the rest of the Z77 motherboards. The Formula stock performance is again more impressive than the overclocked result.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-08-2012, 03:50:54

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095225657l.JPG

The second in our look at the Maximus V motherboards comes in the form of the Formula ThunderFX.

Continue Reading

08-08-2012, 05:28:48

Lollipop
I don't really like the barbs and the heatsink design in general.

08-08-2012, 06:54:52

dipzy
same here, the heatsinks have that rubbery look/texture but other than that great board

08-08-2012, 07:10:56

Ciric
Yea, why can't they just make some 1/4 threads, and close it with some plugs with the top in the same material as the heatsinks :/

08-08-2012, 07:12:52

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciric View Post
Yea, why can't they just make some 1/4 threads, and close it with some plugs with the top in the same material as the heatsinks :/
Pretty much what I thought too.

08-08-2012, 09:21:03

AverageNinja
I don't think it looks that bad at all. And maybe you could just get the dremel out and cut it off? That would ruin the watercooling possibilities on that heatsink though.

08-08-2012, 11:11:08

spidey81
I've been considering this board for a future IB build. However, of all the reviews I've seen there's been no mention of the barb size on the built in water blocks. I agree that it would have been heaps easier to just have put 1/4" threads in instead of permanent barbs. However, my entire system uses 1/2" barbs with 7/16" tubing. It may technically work if I got a couple of 3/8" barbs/adapters, but it just wouldn't be right. If you get what I mean. I'm assuming since there's been no mention, and from the looks of it, that they are 3/8" barbs. So that will probably be a deal killer.

10-08-2012, 12:03:48

me29011993
I have the same board, but on top of the board against the cooling block and a little bit right of the 2 fan connectors, are 3 pins, do you know what they are for, cause I can't find them in the user guide.

Thx

19-08-2012, 14:54:15

Munio
A very good review with an honest conclusion. Well done Mr Waters.
Judging on last few reviews of Z77 I think MSI G65 is the best deal and hopefully it will end up in my new build.

Kind regards to everyone btw from a new member

19-09-2012, 08:21:41

XtremePhysX
I'm most likely buying this motherboard but with out the thunderbolt thing.
The only reason I'm getting it is to use more tubing XD

16-11-2012, 03:52:28

Stalker_26
Hi All,

I have this board and the barb size is 3/8, which can also be found in the PDF version on the motherboards manual

Cracking board btw
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.