ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review

Test Setup

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Motherboard
Intel Core i5-2500K Processor
8GB G.Skill RipjawsX 2133MHz CAS9
Noctua NH-D14
Be Quiet Dark Power Pro
Windows 7 64 Bit


Thanks to an array of memory settings the Gene-Z easily handles our G.Skill at its rated speed. It's surprising to see ASUS specifications include speeds that are architecturally impossible, but it has no problems with our speedy kit.

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review  

Overclocking the 2500K is easy on the Gene-Z and although we could obtain 4.9GHz it wasn't totally stable and so we had to settle at a 4.8GHz clockspeed at a decent 1.48 vCore to run our battery of tests.

In addition to the ASUS AI Suite of utilities there is also a ROG-branded version of CPU-Z included, and it would be a shame to waste the opportunity so here it is.

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2011, 14:17:12

Today we take a look at the ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z. Does it live up to the Maximus name?

Continue Reading

29-06-2011, 14:26:46


29-06-2011, 14:31:41

nice review!

29-06-2011, 14:34:46

Not a bad board I hope it does come in at 130 though it doesn't seem worth 160 or more

Good review as usual Bryan.

29-06-2011, 14:36:24

damn messed that up as well meant to remove the link and it typed into my reply yeah I figured out I had the wrong post lmao

29-06-2011, 14:39:10

Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post

Newegg has them for 559$ so I'm not thinking 130L range
Wrong board matey, this is the Matax z68 board it's not the one from the Shadow H2O build.

29-06-2011, 18:33:56

yup....startin to wish i went intel

30-06-2011, 18:23:43


30-06-2011, 20:53:39

Wish it was a bit cheaper but I will still probably get it.

16-07-2011, 08:00:53

nice review. Wondering which is better as compared to P8Z68-V pro, of which is a few quids more expensive.

17-08-2011, 11:14:17

so have you guys contemplated changing this to gold or a value award??? i can get this in the states for $150 right now.....thats less than 100 ??quid?? aint'it???

17-08-2011, 19:40:19

nice review,sometimes they did dip to 135, i got my gene 3 x58 for that much

18-08-2011, 16:26:58

Nice board!

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.