ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review

Up Close

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review

Up Close

As always with ASUS ROG products the box is instantly recognisable in the modern classic red with silver lettering. It's worth noting that the box is barely bigger than the motherboard itself, ensuring no wasted packaging.

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review     ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review  

Unlike many ROG motherboards there isn't a flap revealing the motherboard, rather the top flap opens to give an extended look at the many features. Opening this gives us our first glimpse of the Gene-Z which we'll look at in a moment.

As is always the case with ROG boards there is a plethora of accessories from ROG connect cables through stickers to identify your SATA drives and all the usual paraphernalia.

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review     ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review  

As expected the Gene-Z follows the design ethos of the ROG line-up perfectly, being a mixture of black and red. The mATX format always compresses things due to the smaller footprint, but the Gene-Z does appear to be more squished than normal.

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review     ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z Review

We'll look closer on the next page.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2011, 14:17:12

Today we take a look at the ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z. Does it live up to the Maximus name?

Continue ReadingQuote

29-06-2011, 14:26:46


29-06-2011, 14:31:41

nice review! Quote

29-06-2011, 14:34:46

Not a bad board I hope it does come in at £130 though it doesn't seem worth £160 or more

Good review as usual Bryan.Quote

29-06-2011, 14:36:24

damn messed that up as well meant to remove the link and it typed into my reply yeah I figured out I had the wrong post lmaoQuote

29-06-2011, 14:39:10

Originally Posted by S_I_N View Post

Newegg has them for 559$ so I'm not thinking 130L range
Wrong board matey, this is the Matax z68 board it's not the one from the Shadow H2O build.Quote

29-06-2011, 18:33:56

yup....startin to wish i went intelQuote

30-06-2011, 18:23:43

nice Quote

30-06-2011, 20:53:39

Wish it was a bit cheaper but I will still probably get it.Quote

16-07-2011, 08:00:53

nice review. Wondering which is better as compared to P8Z68-V pro, of which is a few quids more expensive.Quote

17-08-2011, 11:14:17

so have you guys contemplated changing this to gold or a value award??? i can get this in the states for $150 right now.....thats less than 100 ??quid?? aint'it???Quote

17-08-2011, 19:40:19

nice review,sometimes they did dip to 135, i got my gene 3 x58 for that muchQuote

18-08-2011, 16:26:58

Nice board!Quote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.