ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

3D Gaming Results

 
Crysis is without doubt one of the most visually stunning and hardware-challenging games to date. By using CrysisBench - a tool developed independently of Crysis - we performed a total of 5 timedemo benchmarks using a GPU-intensive pre-recorded demo. To ensure the most accurate results, the highest and lowest benchmark scores were then removed and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 

 


 
Call of Duty 4 is a stunning DirectX 9.0c based game that really looks awesome and has a very full feature set. With lots of advanced lighting, smoke and water effects, the game has excellent explosions along with fast game play. Using the in-built Call Of Duty features, a 10-minute long game play demo was recorded and replayed on each of the GPU's using the /timedemo command a total of 5 times. The highest and lowest FPS results were then removed, with an average being calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 

 


Ubisoft has developed a new engine specifically for Far Cry 2, called Dunia, meaning "world", "earth" or "living" in Parsi. The engine takes advantage of multi-core processors as well as multiple processors and supports DirectX 9 as well as DirectX 10. Running the Far Cry 2 benchmark tool the test was run 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being omitted and the average calculated from the remaining 3.
 
 
 
GRID
 
Race Driver: Grid is a visually taxing game that presents a challenge to any graphics system. Results were recorded using FRAPS to log the average FPS over a 2 minute race. To ensure consistency, the same track, car and general path of travel was used in each of the 5 benchmark runs, with an average FPS being calculated from the median three results.
 
 
Results Analysis
 
Gaming shows once again that there's certainly life in the old dog yet, with most results well into the 100FPS range albeit at low settings. However, quite a few of the results show that overclocking is required to make full use of even the GTX260's power, so its certainly handy to know the Maximus II GENE is a master of this art.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-07-2009, 11:15:15

JN
"They say that size doesn't matter, It's what you do with it that counts. But will ASUS's latest mATX motherboard - the Maximus II GENE hit all the right spots? Read on to find out.."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...090210456s.jpg

ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

29-07-2009, 11:42:15

Ghosthud1
wow that was weird i was just looking at this board on scan thinking about getting one, thanks for teh review

29-07-2009, 11:54:35

JN
No probs. TBH I REALLY like this board. SO much I'm tempted to buy one and build an 'uber htpc'.

29-07-2009, 11:55:48

Ghosthud1
lololol just what im thinking mate,and also what shal i do? either wait for a p55 matx board or just get this one?

29-07-2009, 12:01:17

Ham
Jim, you have officially ruined my plan for payday.

Great review, looks to be an awesome board!

29-07-2009, 14:59:33

maxw
wow - I didn't realise this one was coming out!

It looks a lot better (aesthetically) than the DFI equivalent, so I may well get one.

Thanks for the brilliant review Jim!

29-07-2009, 15:13:59

zak4994
This thing has my name written all over it.

Gonna get this thing as soon as possible.

29-07-2009, 15:46:37

Rastalovich
775 just refuses to go away.

And with good cause !

Great stuff.

29-07-2009, 19:27:04

diablo170
Gr8 review, was lookin at a mATX board for a htpc build around christmas.

30-07-2009, 02:43:08

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys. Have to say that playing with S775 again rekindled an old flame for me.

Ghost: Just noticed your Q. Bit hard to say without being able to say much about the P55, but I think it's going to all lay in the overclocking. Some say the i5 chips will be crap overclockers because Intel will have learned from their i7 920 'mistake', but I personally don't know.

30-07-2009, 15:05:20

w3bbo
I reckon i5 will be just as good tbh. All this clap trap about intel making a 'mistake' with i7's makes me cry. Iirc, P4s clocked well, core2's as did the c2q's not to mention the revised 45nm versons. Why would Intel suddenly start limiting thier chips? If anything I can see i5 being what wolfdale was to yorkfield - faster speeds, just a little less grunt.

Personally I'm looking forward to i9 and 6 core optys. Competition is deffo hotting up.

30-07-2009, 16:30:10

Rastalovich
Time will come ofc, where they will (both camps) remove all the tweakage in the name of "being green".

(smoke screen for, "if u want faster, pay more money" - prices we can now fix)

01-08-2009, 09:42:47

Ghosthud1
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!

01-08-2009, 09:51:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!
Awesome dude!

Pix of course and OC screenies ;P

01-08-2009, 10:19:12

Ghosthud1
pix will come ofc, the board is just pure eye candy and hopefully this ocz vendetta will hold out and fit in the case....

02-08-2009, 08:06:42

Ghosthud1
dern dern dernnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2884/p1000868r.jpg

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/1213/p1000870n.jpg

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/9326/p1000871.jpg

will get beauty shots once my e5200, e8500 and q9650 arrive in the post overclocking madness anyone?!!?

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet

02-08-2009, 15:19:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet
Its only paper....look what you got in return
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.