ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

Synthetic Memory Results



SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 

 
 


Everest is in many ways similar to Sisoft Sandra. Focusing mainly on software and hardware information reporting, Everest also comes with a benchmark utility suitable for testing the read, write and latency performance of the memory subsystem. Each of these benchmarks were performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 
 
 
Results Analysis
 
Interestingly the memory benchmarks are a bit of a mixed bag with the overclocked settings taking the lead in the bandwidth results but then loosing out in the latency. Pretty strange considering the timings remained the same in both configurations and the memory divider, which should have only affected bandwidth, was the only thing to be changed.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-07-2009, 11:15:15

JN
"They say that size doesn't matter, It's what you do with it that counts. But will ASUS's latest mATX motherboard - the Maximus II GENE hit all the right spots? Read on to find out.."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...090210456s.jpg

ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

29-07-2009, 11:42:15

Ghosthud1
wow that was weird i was just looking at this board on scan thinking about getting one, thanks for teh review

29-07-2009, 11:54:35

JN
No probs. TBH I REALLY like this board. SO much I'm tempted to buy one and build an 'uber htpc'.

29-07-2009, 11:55:48

Ghosthud1
lololol just what im thinking mate,and also what shal i do? either wait for a p55 matx board or just get this one?

29-07-2009, 12:01:17

Ham
Jim, you have officially ruined my plan for payday.

Great review, looks to be an awesome board!

29-07-2009, 14:59:33

maxw
wow - I didn't realise this one was coming out!

It looks a lot better (aesthetically) than the DFI equivalent, so I may well get one.

Thanks for the brilliant review Jim!

29-07-2009, 15:13:59

zak4994
This thing has my name written all over it.

Gonna get this thing as soon as possible.

29-07-2009, 15:46:37

Rastalovich
775 just refuses to go away.

And with good cause !

Great stuff.

29-07-2009, 19:27:04

diablo170
Gr8 review, was lookin at a mATX board for a htpc build around christmas.

30-07-2009, 02:43:08

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys. Have to say that playing with S775 again rekindled an old flame for me.

Ghost: Just noticed your Q. Bit hard to say without being able to say much about the P55, but I think it's going to all lay in the overclocking. Some say the i5 chips will be crap overclockers because Intel will have learned from their i7 920 'mistake', but I personally don't know.

30-07-2009, 15:05:20

w3bbo
I reckon i5 will be just as good tbh. All this clap trap about intel making a 'mistake' with i7's makes me cry. Iirc, P4s clocked well, core2's as did the c2q's not to mention the revised 45nm versons. Why would Intel suddenly start limiting thier chips? If anything I can see i5 being what wolfdale was to yorkfield - faster speeds, just a little less grunt.

Personally I'm looking forward to i9 and 6 core optys. Competition is deffo hotting up.

30-07-2009, 16:30:10

Rastalovich
Time will come ofc, where they will (both camps) remove all the tweakage in the name of "being green".

(smoke screen for, "if u want faster, pay more money" - prices we can now fix)

01-08-2009, 09:42:47

Ghosthud1
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!

01-08-2009, 09:51:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!
Awesome dude!

Pix of course and OC screenies ;P

01-08-2009, 10:19:12

Ghosthud1
pix will come ofc, the board is just pure eye candy and hopefully this ocz vendetta will hold out and fit in the case....

02-08-2009, 08:06:42

Ghosthud1
dern dern dernnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2884/p1000868r.jpg

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/1213/p1000870n.jpg

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/9326/p1000871.jpg

will get beauty shots once my e5200, e8500 and q9650 arrive in the post overclocking madness anyone?!!?

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet

02-08-2009, 15:19:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet
Its only paper....look what you got in return
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.