ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

Synthetic CPU Results

 
SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 

 


SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. Once again, testing was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 
 
 

 


PassMark is a popular benchmarking suite which test all aspect of PC hardware.The CPU test examines Mathematical operations, compression, encryption, SSE, 3DNow! instructions and more. Each CPU test was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 
 
Results Analysis

No surprises here really. The overclocked results of the E8400 at 4.3GHz completely stomp the stock results taken at 3.0GHz. If this shows us one thing, its that the combination of a cheap LGA775 CPU + a solid overclocking motherboard can really turn out some respectable results, especially in single-core benchmarks such as SuperPI that completely thrive on MHz performance.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-07-2009, 11:15:15

JN
"They say that size doesn't matter, It's what you do with it that counts. But will ASUS's latest mATX motherboard - the Maximus II GENE hit all the right spots? Read on to find out.."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...090210456s.jpg

ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

29-07-2009, 11:42:15

Ghosthud1
wow that was weird i was just looking at this board on scan thinking about getting one, thanks for teh review

29-07-2009, 11:54:35

JN
No probs. TBH I REALLY like this board. SO much I'm tempted to buy one and build an 'uber htpc'.

29-07-2009, 11:55:48

Ghosthud1
lololol just what im thinking mate,and also what shal i do? either wait for a p55 matx board or just get this one?

29-07-2009, 12:01:17

Ham
Jim, you have officially ruined my plan for payday.

Great review, looks to be an awesome board!

29-07-2009, 14:59:33

maxw
wow - I didn't realise this one was coming out!

It looks a lot better (aesthetically) than the DFI equivalent, so I may well get one.

Thanks for the brilliant review Jim!

29-07-2009, 15:13:59

zak4994
This thing has my name written all over it.

Gonna get this thing as soon as possible.

29-07-2009, 15:46:37

Rastalovich
775 just refuses to go away.

And with good cause !

Great stuff.

29-07-2009, 19:27:04

diablo170
Gr8 review, was lookin at a mATX board for a htpc build around christmas.

30-07-2009, 02:43:08

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys. Have to say that playing with S775 again rekindled an old flame for me.

Ghost: Just noticed your Q. Bit hard to say without being able to say much about the P55, but I think it's going to all lay in the overclocking. Some say the i5 chips will be crap overclockers because Intel will have learned from their i7 920 'mistake', but I personally don't know.

30-07-2009, 15:05:20

w3bbo
I reckon i5 will be just as good tbh. All this clap trap about intel making a 'mistake' with i7's makes me cry. Iirc, P4s clocked well, core2's as did the c2q's not to mention the revised 45nm versons. Why would Intel suddenly start limiting thier chips? If anything I can see i5 being what wolfdale was to yorkfield - faster speeds, just a little less grunt.

Personally I'm looking forward to i9 and 6 core optys. Competition is deffo hotting up.

30-07-2009, 16:30:10

Rastalovich
Time will come ofc, where they will (both camps) remove all the tweakage in the name of "being green".

(smoke screen for, "if u want faster, pay more money" - prices we can now fix)

01-08-2009, 09:42:47

Ghosthud1
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!

01-08-2009, 09:51:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!
Awesome dude!

Pix of course and OC screenies ;P

01-08-2009, 10:19:12

Ghosthud1
pix will come ofc, the board is just pure eye candy and hopefully this ocz vendetta will hold out and fit in the case....

02-08-2009, 08:06:42

Ghosthud1
dern dern dernnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2884/p1000868r.jpg

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/1213/p1000870n.jpg

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/9326/p1000871.jpg

will get beauty shots once my e5200, e8500 and q9650 arrive in the post overclocking madness anyone?!!?

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet

02-08-2009, 15:19:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet
Its only paper....look what you got in return
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.