ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

Introduction & Specifications

Introduction & Specifications
 
ASUS LogoIt wasn't so long ago that the mATX motherboard was deemed only acceptable for use inside HTPC setups or budget builds. Most came with shoddy low-end integrated graphics and nasty on-board sound chips and no enthusiast in their right minds would consider going anywhere near one. However, on the 27th February 2009 ASUS shocked us all. By splicing the features of their high-end Republic of Gamers Rampage II motherboard along the standard mATX form factor, the first ever performance i7 X58 mATX motherboard was born. Named the ASUS RoG Rampage II Gene, the board was received well by both enthusiasts and the press. Not only did it possess all the features of it's larger ATX counterpart but it was also more affordable, better at overclocking and took the lead in many benchmarks.
 
But why should the i7 crowd get all the fun?
 
Although good old Socket 775 has been receiving a lot less attention recently, it is still very much one of the top choices for enthusiasts who don't want to shell out on an expensive i7 setup. After all CPU's such as the E8400 and E7200 are cheap as chips (no pun!) these days and punch well above their weight when overclocked. In fact, its almost hard to believe that the last S775 motherboard reviewed here on Overclock3D was almost a year ago! ASUS however, aren't so keen to let the Core 2 series die just yet and recently announced a new member of their 'Gene' pool, the Maximus II Gene. Today we're going to be putting this board through its paces, but first the specs:
 
CPU
Intel® Socket 775 Core™2 Quad/Core™2 Extreme/Core™2 Duo/Pentium® dual-core/Celeron® dual-core / Celeron® Processors Support Intel® 45nm Multi-Core CPU
* Refer to www.asus.com for Intel CPU support list

Chipset

Intel® P45 /ICH10R

Front Side Bus

1600/1333/1066/800 MHz

Memory:

4 x DIMM, Max. 16 GB, DDR2 1300/1200/1066/800/667 Non-ECC,Un-buffered Memory
Dual Channel memory architecture
*Refer to www.asus.com or this user manual for the Memory QVL(Qualified Vendors Lists).

Expansion Slots
2 x PCIe 2.0 x16 (single max @ x16,dual @ x8 speed)
1 x PCIe x1
1 x PCI 2.2

Multi-GPU Support
Support ATI CrossFireX™ Technology

Storage
Intel ICH10R controller
6 xSATA 3 Gb/s ports
Intel Matrix Storage Technology Support RAID 0,1,5,10
JMicron® JMB363 PATA and SATA controller
1 xUltraDMA 133/100/66/33 for up to 2 PATA devices
1 xExternal SATA 3.0 Gb/s port (SATA On-the-Go)
1 xSATA 3.0 Gb/s port

LAN
Gigabit LAN

Audio
SupremeFX X-Fi built-in
8 - Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
- EAX® Advanced™ HD 4.0
- X-Fi CMSS®-3D
- X-Fi Crystalizer™
- Creative ALchemy

IEEE 1394 2 x 1394a ports (1 port at back I/O, 1 port onboard)
USB 12 USB 2.0 ports (6 ports at back I/O, 6 ports onboard)

Overclocking Features
Keyboard-TweakIt
CPU Level Up
iROG
Extreme Tweaker
Loadline Calibration
Power Design:
- 8-phase CPU power
- 2-phase DRAM power
- 2-phase NB power
Intelligent overclocking tools:
- TurboV
- O.C Profile
- COP EX (Component Overheat Protection - EX)
- Voltiminder LED
- ASUS C.P.R.(CPU Parameter Recall)

Special Features
ASUS MyLogo 3
ASUS EZ Flash 2
ASUS CrashFree BIOS 3
ASUS Q-Connector
External LCD Poster
MemOK!
One DIMM latch
Onboard Switches: Power / Reset / Memok / Clr CMOS (at rear)
ASUS EPU-6 Engine
ASUS Fan Xpert

Powered by an P45/ICH10R chipset combo the Maximus II Gene has official support for DDR2-1300 memory, Crossfire (albeit at 8x8x) and RAID 0/1/5/10 via the six SATA-II ports. Sound is provided via an on-board version of ASUS' SupremeFX X-Fi which is capable of EAX4.0 and many other X-Fi features, but mostly by software emulation. Other features common only to the ASUS RoG series are also plentiful with 8-Phase CPU power circuitry, 2-Phase DRAM and NB power, Voltminder LED, Onboard swiches and a whole host of other goodies. But before I give the game away let's move on to the next page and take a proper look at the board....
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-07-2009, 11:15:15

JN
"They say that size doesn't matter, It's what you do with it that counts. But will ASUS's latest mATX motherboard - the Maximus II GENE hit all the right spots? Read on to find out.."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...090210456s.jpg

ASUS Maximus II GENE mATX Motherboard

29-07-2009, 11:42:15

Ghosthud1
wow that was weird i was just looking at this board on scan thinking about getting one, thanks for teh review

29-07-2009, 11:54:35

JN
No probs. TBH I REALLY like this board. SO much I'm tempted to buy one and build an 'uber htpc'.

29-07-2009, 11:55:48

Ghosthud1
lololol just what im thinking mate,and also what shal i do? either wait for a p55 matx board or just get this one?

29-07-2009, 12:01:17

Ham
Jim, you have officially ruined my plan for payday.

Great review, looks to be an awesome board!

29-07-2009, 14:59:33

maxw
wow - I didn't realise this one was coming out!

It looks a lot better (aesthetically) than the DFI equivalent, so I may well get one.

Thanks for the brilliant review Jim!

29-07-2009, 15:13:59

zak4994
This thing has my name written all over it.

Gonna get this thing as soon as possible.

29-07-2009, 15:46:37

Rastalovich
775 just refuses to go away.

And with good cause !

Great stuff.

29-07-2009, 19:27:04

diablo170
Gr8 review, was lookin at a mATX board for a htpc build around christmas.

30-07-2009, 02:43:08

JN
Cheers for the feedback guys. Have to say that playing with S775 again rekindled an old flame for me.

Ghost: Just noticed your Q. Bit hard to say without being able to say much about the P55, but I think it's going to all lay in the overclocking. Some say the i5 chips will be crap overclockers because Intel will have learned from their i7 920 'mistake', but I personally don't know.

30-07-2009, 15:05:20

w3bbo
I reckon i5 will be just as good tbh. All this clap trap about intel making a 'mistake' with i7's makes me cry. Iirc, P4s clocked well, core2's as did the c2q's not to mention the revised 45nm versons. Why would Intel suddenly start limiting thier chips? If anything I can see i5 being what wolfdale was to yorkfield - faster speeds, just a little less grunt.

Personally I'm looking forward to i9 and 6 core optys. Competition is deffo hotting up.

30-07-2009, 16:30:10

Rastalovich
Time will come ofc, where they will (both camps) remove all the tweakage in the name of "being green".

(smoke screen for, "if u want faster, pay more money" - prices we can now fix)

01-08-2009, 09:42:47

Ghosthud1
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!

01-08-2009, 09:51:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'
picking up this board tommorow from ccl got a q9650 on the way from ebay aswell it shal be epic!
Awesome dude!

Pix of course and OC screenies ;P

01-08-2009, 10:19:12

Ghosthud1
pix will come ofc, the board is just pure eye candy and hopefully this ocz vendetta will hold out and fit in the case....

02-08-2009, 08:06:42

Ghosthud1
dern dern dernnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/2884/p1000868r.jpg

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/1213/p1000870n.jpg

http://img149.imageshack.us/img149/9326/p1000871.jpg

will get beauty shots once my e5200, e8500 and q9650 arrive in the post overclocking madness anyone?!!?

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet

02-08-2009, 15:19:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'

ohh and thanks OC3D for the review you just drained my wallet
Its only paper....look what you got in return
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.