ASUS Maximus II Formula P45 Motherboard

Hard Drive Benchmarks

 
HDTach is a free hard disk benchmarking program from SimpliSoftware. This benchmark is not only capable of producing results on hard disk access times but also CPU usage required during disk access. The "Long bench" was run a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being omitted and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 
 
Results Observations
As you can see, the results are pretty even across the board, which you would expect as all boards make use of Intel' ICH10R Southbridge. The Maximus II does, however, appear to have a slight edge, being half a second quicker on the random access test and also having a higher burst and read speed.
 
Please note that Asus 'Speeding' Utility was not used throughout this testing period in the interests of equality.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-07-2008, 08:45:38

JN
"With more features than ever before, very cool looking heatsinks and a shiny new chipset. Does the Maximus II have what it takes to be crowned P45 King?" - By Webbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...234845465s.jpg



ASUS Maximus II Formula P45 Motherboard

10-07-2008, 09:01:45

Bungral
Tis very very nice indeed. I really like the look of it.

That said.. With the new Rampage looking just as good, If I had the wedge and was after a new mobo, I'd plump for the Rampage.

10-07-2008, 09:57:02

Mr. Smith
Rich, your OC tests - is the 3.9 jiggahurtz stable or just a screenie? Also, how does that compare to other mobos you've had the chip on?

I think that is relevant...

Ta

10-07-2008, 10:15:55

w3bbo
Prime95 was run for overnight (8 hours) aswell as a 1hr hour OCCT run - not exactly proof of 24/7 stability but it's good enough imo. This is compared against similar results with the MSI and P5Q deluxe. I rated the Maximus higher as, along with the ridiculous amount of BIOS tweaks available with more time and a more mature BIOS it is my belief the Maximus can at least equal the P5Q, not only that but gaming wise the maximus is already ahead of the P5Q albeit not by much.

Also overclocking on air, as I'm sure you are aware, can be heavily influenced by ambient air temps which due to the recent hot weather is limiting the possibilities. Using phase change is not realy an option as it isn't indicative of the 'average' user and wouldn't give a fair representation of the possibilities of the motherboard.

Because the P45 uses PCIE 2.0 which is double the bandwidth of PCIe 1.1 the need for 16 lanes is debatable so going for an X48 (which appears not to clock as good as P45) is not a decision that should be taken lightly. I guess it comes down to if you want every last ounce of CPU or GPU power - CPU = P45, GPU=X48 imo.

10-07-2008, 11:20:50

Luigi
Wow, Nice review

One thing that was in the press release, but I didnt see demonstrated, was the removable part of heatpipe cooling on the NB?

Is this possible?

10-07-2008, 11:22:20

WC Annihilus
Edit: think I read that wrong

10-07-2008, 11:26:52

Luigi
Yeah, apparently just the NB part can be taking off for water cooling, so you dont have to do the whole board?

10-07-2008, 11:30:17

WC Annihilus
Looking at the removed assembly pic, I don't really see how that would work, but I suppose I should let webbo answer this one

10-07-2008, 11:38:19

w3bbo
Yes it is possible - I'll upload a pic of that for you but I didn't include it in the review due to space constraints and the fact I can't understand why anyone would want to as if you are going to apply an aftermarket solution, the whole heatpipe would be best to be removed. I thought it better to include the whole heatpipe removal than just the top of the NB.

Just for you :

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...163754119l.jpg

As you can see, if you used an aftermarket solution you would in effect be creating a sandwhich effect and the cooling would be hampered by having to battle with two lots of TIM. Hence, best to remove the whole lot if that is your aim.

10-07-2008, 12:55:17

Pjalchemist
Loving my bord. Right out the box been able to hit 600FSB after latest BIOS update. It is eye catching. I can see there point in regards to the NB WC option, not much room to play though. Glad they have ditched push pins and the so called TIM. Think they lost too many bords that way! Luck has it i have an X38 IHS so when it come to going DICE on the NB i'll lid it. Nice review and nice ES bord!

10-07-2008, 13:00:44

w3bbo
Cheers Pete

31-08-2008, 07:52:17

ogmw
Hello im new to these forums and to overclocking so hello...

I have the Same MB and a Q6600 CPU and OCZ DDR2 platinum 800 RAM...

Just wanting to know the settings for the 3.6ghz OC and also is it stable?

Thanks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.