ASUS Maximus II Formula P45 Motherboard

Features

Features
 
Other than the usual features found on the current crop of motherboards around today, the Maximus II Formula has a few extra little features that are examined below.
 
ATI
ATI's CrossfireX is supported through 2x 8 PCIe lanes on the Maximus II Formula. While not having as many PCIe lanes as it's X48 brethren current GPU's do not seem to take full advantage of 16 lanes and so there is little performance drop in using 8 lanes but a massive leap over previous P35 CrossfireX configurations.
BIOS
The Flashback BIOS function allows the user to instantaneously go back to a previous BIOS version acting very much like a 'Save Game' function. Two BIOS ROM files can be stored on the motherboard allowing the user to recover a failed BIOS flash (thereby flashing the corrupt ROM with a working version) or it can be used to ave a whole BIOS setup rather than just the overclocked settings.
Reset
Instead of purchasing the most expensive CPU around you can simply buy a cheaper version and make use of the CPU Level Up feature which will overclock your current CPU to a performance level of a more expensive CPU. This is an excellent feature for those not accustomed with BIOS overclocking.
EPUThe latest power saving feature installed on the Maximus II is the EPU-6 Engine. This feature detects current PC loadings and adjusts the power requirements accordingly. CPU, VGA, Memory, Chipset, Drives and system fans can all be automatically adjusted (if supported) to save power and therefore money! Another handy feature is you can tell in real time how much power your CPU is using - see below:
 
 
Speeding HDD
Speeding HDD allows the end user to setup Raid configurations (0, 1) without the need for drivers or complicated BIOS setups. The graphical user interface is very easy to use and can be used to either setup a quick RAID array once in windows or be used to back up one drive to another. The whole process of setting the drives up is very simple, just plug the drives in, boot up and use the on screen instructions to set the drives to whatever configuration you like.
 
 
The SupremeFX riser card supplied with the Maximus II features an XFI based chipset allowing the use of almost all of Creatives XFI trickery including XFI Crystallizer, CMSS3D and EAX 4.0 which accurately provides a virtual 3D surround sound and enhancement experience in both games and movies. It is a strange move for Asus considering that Asus now have their own sound solution in the Xonar series but it is a welcome one nonetheless as the XFI card is much better than previous versions of the SupremeFX cards offering greater features and functionality.
 
  
 
So now you have seen what the Maximus II has to offer in terms of features, let's see if the ROG BIOS can match this impressive list of software extras...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-07-2008, 08:45:38

JN
"With more features than ever before, very cool looking heatsinks and a shiny new chipset. Does the Maximus II have what it takes to be crowned P45 King?" - By Webbo

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...234845465s.jpg



ASUS Maximus II Formula P45 Motherboard

10-07-2008, 09:01:45

Bungral
Tis very very nice indeed. I really like the look of it.

That said.. With the new Rampage looking just as good, If I had the wedge and was after a new mobo, I'd plump for the Rampage.

10-07-2008, 09:57:02

Mr. Smith
Rich, your OC tests - is the 3.9 jiggahurtz stable or just a screenie? Also, how does that compare to other mobos you've had the chip on?

I think that is relevant...

Ta

10-07-2008, 10:15:55

w3bbo
Prime95 was run for overnight (8 hours) aswell as a 1hr hour OCCT run - not exactly proof of 24/7 stability but it's good enough imo. This is compared against similar results with the MSI and P5Q deluxe. I rated the Maximus higher as, along with the ridiculous amount of BIOS tweaks available with more time and a more mature BIOS it is my belief the Maximus can at least equal the P5Q, not only that but gaming wise the maximus is already ahead of the P5Q albeit not by much.

Also overclocking on air, as I'm sure you are aware, can be heavily influenced by ambient air temps which due to the recent hot weather is limiting the possibilities. Using phase change is not realy an option as it isn't indicative of the 'average' user and wouldn't give a fair representation of the possibilities of the motherboard.

Because the P45 uses PCIE 2.0 which is double the bandwidth of PCIe 1.1 the need for 16 lanes is debatable so going for an X48 (which appears not to clock as good as P45) is not a decision that should be taken lightly. I guess it comes down to if you want every last ounce of CPU or GPU power - CPU = P45, GPU=X48 imo.

10-07-2008, 11:20:50

Luigi
Wow, Nice review

One thing that was in the press release, but I didnt see demonstrated, was the removable part of heatpipe cooling on the NB?

Is this possible?

10-07-2008, 11:22:20

WC Annihilus
Edit: think I read that wrong

10-07-2008, 11:26:52

Luigi
Yeah, apparently just the NB part can be taking off for water cooling, so you dont have to do the whole board?

10-07-2008, 11:30:17

WC Annihilus
Looking at the removed assembly pic, I don't really see how that would work, but I suppose I should let webbo answer this one

10-07-2008, 11:38:19

w3bbo
Yes it is possible - I'll upload a pic of that for you but I didn't include it in the review due to space constraints and the fact I can't understand why anyone would want to as if you are going to apply an aftermarket solution, the whole heatpipe would be best to be removed. I thought it better to include the whole heatpipe removal than just the top of the NB.

Just for you :

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...163754119l.jpg

As you can see, if you used an aftermarket solution you would in effect be creating a sandwhich effect and the cooling would be hampered by having to battle with two lots of TIM. Hence, best to remove the whole lot if that is your aim.

10-07-2008, 12:55:17

Pjalchemist
Loving my bord. Right out the box been able to hit 600FSB after latest BIOS update. It is eye catching. I can see there point in regards to the NB WC option, not much room to play though. Glad they have ditched push pins and the so called TIM. Think they lost too many bords that way! Luck has it i have an X38 IHS so when it come to going DICE on the NB i'll lid it. Nice review and nice ES bord!

10-07-2008, 13:00:44

w3bbo
Cheers Pete

31-08-2008, 07:52:17

ogmw
Hello im new to these forums and to overclocking so hello...

I have the Same MB and a Q6600 CPU and OCZ DDR2 platinum 800 RAM...

Just wanting to know the settings for the 3.6ghz OC and also is it stable?

Thanks
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.