ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

AIDA64

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

For our testing we've got an i7-870 on a Maximus III Extreme at stock at 4 GHz. An i7-950 on a Rampage III Extreme at stock and 4.4GHz and our i7-2600K at stock and 4.6GHz. We're also trying out a new style of graph so opinions are welcome.

AIDA64

Straight out the gate the Maximus IV is taking the plaudits thanks to the improved power available with the i7-2600K. Clearly the inclusion of the AES instruction set in the 32nm CPUs allows it to blow that benchmark away, but all the rest it rocks hard in too, especially at stock when against the much faster clocked previous generation.

 

Memory would be one of the tests that we expect the Maximus IV to meet the Maximus III and fall way behind the triple-channel wonder that is the X58 chipset. Amazingly it doesn't and produces some staggering numbers. Either the memory controller is vastly refined and the next version of the LGA1366 chips will be mind-blowing, or Triple-Channel was acclaimed to have benefits that just don't pan out.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2011, 23:53:17

tinytomlogan
As with any new chip release there is a new chipset. If there is a new chipset, it's time for a new ROG board. Today the Maximus IV Extreme.

Continue Reading

03-01-2011, 00:10:28

Delusion77
I like the UEFI as a change from bios

03-01-2011, 00:18:56

Mr. Strawberry
glad to see IDE and PCI has finally gone and them new BIOS look SWEET!

03-01-2011, 00:34:22

Zeals
Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?

03-01-2011, 00:35:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?
Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.

03-01-2011, 01:03:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.
Well they'll get better press if you let you use it when it's all patched up.

03-01-2011, 01:27:57

Anders Heilemann
Feedback for your graphs.

You should add static values to each bar to make it easier to compare between them. There are so many graphs associated with reviews such as yours, would be nice to be able to move more quickly through them.

And especially in cases like the wprime95 in your new LGA 1155 review where the 1024M values are so high they stretch the scale, leaving almost no resolution for displaying the 1M results. So you have to hover the mouse over each of them.

Also just post them as pictures, the animations don't really add anything to it and pictures will probably load faster. But most importantly you gain compatibility with non flash compatible mobile devices.

I mostly read review and do research when commuting and being out of the house. Most other sites work for that, but yours.

Other than that, thanks for a great site. I appreciate the amount of detail you out into your work.

Looking forward to see how far you can get the i7-2600K on boards like the new UD7 from Gigabyte. I don't really trust the Digi+ VRM and UEFI bios yet.

03-01-2011, 12:24:16

Typhoon10
So is EFI just a new bios with a GUI or does allow for really fast boot times too?

03-01-2011, 13:24:35

LaurenceGough
It should be faster in theory, although it doesn't appear to be so far..

05-01-2011, 03:14:47

LaurenceGough
Could you review some P67 Gigabyte boards also? Before release date??

30-01-2011, 16:48:38

coolgame
will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????

30-01-2011, 17:03:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
We will get to them in due course dude

30-01-2011, 17:03:42

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
It does fit on my P8P67 Deluxe. So I would say yes

19-02-2011, 01:27:07

Tim the Enchanter
I have the same question, i.e. will the NH-D14 fit and allow for RAM with heat sinks.

Tim

(first post)

19-02-2011, 02:25:04

Tim the Enchanter
Woops. Looks like that is what you used in your review. Now I know it fits.

Thx!

Tim

23-02-2011, 23:09:47

VSOP
Still love my Fatal1ty P67 Professional
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.