ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

Test Setup and Overclocking

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

Test Setup

Thankfully because this is an evolution of the LGA1156 we can import a lot of our normal test hardware. We'll be using the top-of-the-range Intel Core i7-2600K today, and in all future P67 Motherboard tests.

Intel Core i7-2600K
ASUS Maximus IV Extreme
Corsair HX1200 PSU
4GB Mushkin Redline RAM
Noctua NH-D14
nVidia GTX570
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

We will be putting the Maximus IV Extreme up against the Maximus III Extreme and Rampage III Extreme to really compare the various Intel CPU solutions.

Overclocking and Temperatures

As we mentioned in our Intel Sandybridge review also available to read today, the new range of processors don't just have a fast speed and an idle speed, but rather they have a lower power setting, the standard speed, and your overclock only takes effect when the processor is being used hard.

The ease with which we could automatically level the processor up to 4.6GHz gave us hope that it would follow the stock Intel board and breeze to 5GHz, but sadly the 4.6GHz speed is as much as it's willing to give up. Although we could argue that this is an immature BIOS the boards have been around for a long time now and these problems should have been ironed out. Especially for such a high priced offering.

It is quite strange to see such an insane multiplier when we're used to the Bus Speed being the element to overclock.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review 
The new chips and chipset handle Memory well although because everything goes in different increments as you could see in our specifications table on page one you might not get the speed you're used to from your kit.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review 

Temperatures are definitely kept well under control thanks to the larger emphasis on energy efficiency coupled with the 32nm process. 4.6GHz yet only 70°C is mightily impressive.

 ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2011, 23:53:17

tinytomlogan
As with any new chip release there is a new chipset. If there is a new chipset, it's time for a new ROG board. Today the Maximus IV Extreme.

Continue Reading

03-01-2011, 00:10:28

Delusion77
I like the UEFI as a change from bios

03-01-2011, 00:18:56

Mr. Strawberry
glad to see IDE and PCI has finally gone and them new BIOS look SWEET!

03-01-2011, 00:34:22

Zeals
Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?

03-01-2011, 00:35:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?
Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.

03-01-2011, 01:03:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.
Well they'll get better press if you let you use it when it's all patched up.

03-01-2011, 01:27:57

Anders Heilemann
Feedback for your graphs.

You should add static values to each bar to make it easier to compare between them. There are so many graphs associated with reviews such as yours, would be nice to be able to move more quickly through them.

And especially in cases like the wprime95 in your new LGA 1155 review where the 1024M values are so high they stretch the scale, leaving almost no resolution for displaying the 1M results. So you have to hover the mouse over each of them.

Also just post them as pictures, the animations don't really add anything to it and pictures will probably load faster. But most importantly you gain compatibility with non flash compatible mobile devices.

I mostly read review and do research when commuting and being out of the house. Most other sites work for that, but yours.

Other than that, thanks for a great site. I appreciate the amount of detail you out into your work.

Looking forward to see how far you can get the i7-2600K on boards like the new UD7 from Gigabyte. I don't really trust the Digi+ VRM and UEFI bios yet.

03-01-2011, 12:24:16

Typhoon10
So is EFI just a new bios with a GUI or does allow for really fast boot times too?

03-01-2011, 13:24:35

LaurenceGough
It should be faster in theory, although it doesn't appear to be so far..

05-01-2011, 03:14:47

LaurenceGough
Could you review some P67 Gigabyte boards also? Before release date??

30-01-2011, 16:48:38

coolgame
will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????

30-01-2011, 17:03:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
We will get to them in due course dude

30-01-2011, 17:03:42

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
It does fit on my P8P67 Deluxe. So I would say yes

19-02-2011, 01:27:07

Tim the Enchanter
I have the same question, i.e. will the NH-D14 fit and allow for RAM with heat sinks.

Tim

(first post)

19-02-2011, 02:25:04

Tim the Enchanter
Woops. Looks like that is what you used in your review. Now I know it fits.

Thx!

Tim

23-02-2011, 23:09:47

VSOP
Still love my Fatal1ty P67 Professional
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.