ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

BIOS Pt2

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

BIOS Pt2

The Advanced screen gives us the chance to turn Hyper-threading off as well as C1E state and the normal CPU feature adjustment that Intel provide.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

Full screen boot logos. Hugely irritating and probably the first thing that gets turned off. They are the equivalent to "congratulations on purchasing the...." blurb you get at the beginning of manuals. Yes we know what we've brought. Now let us focus on what we're doing with it.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

The monitoring elements are unchanged from previous BIOS' we've seen with various temperature monitors and settings, as well as thermal shut-down levels.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

Despite being much simpler to overclock automatically, it's much more complex to do so manually and so you'll be making good use of the many BIOS save slots available to you.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2011, 23:53:17

tinytomlogan
As with any new chip release there is a new chipset. If there is a new chipset, it's time for a new ROG board. Today the Maximus IV Extreme.

Continue Reading

03-01-2011, 00:10:28

Delusion77
I like the UEFI as a change from bios

03-01-2011, 00:18:56

Mr. Strawberry
glad to see IDE and PCI has finally gone and them new BIOS look SWEET!

03-01-2011, 00:34:22

Zeals
Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?

03-01-2011, 00:35:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?
Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.

03-01-2011, 01:03:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.
Well they'll get better press if you let you use it when it's all patched up.

03-01-2011, 01:27:57

Anders Heilemann
Feedback for your graphs.

You should add static values to each bar to make it easier to compare between them. There are so many graphs associated with reviews such as yours, would be nice to be able to move more quickly through them.

And especially in cases like the wprime95 in your new LGA 1155 review where the 1024M values are so high they stretch the scale, leaving almost no resolution for displaying the 1M results. So you have to hover the mouse over each of them.

Also just post them as pictures, the animations don't really add anything to it and pictures will probably load faster. But most importantly you gain compatibility with non flash compatible mobile devices.

I mostly read review and do research when commuting and being out of the house. Most other sites work for that, but yours.

Other than that, thanks for a great site. I appreciate the amount of detail you out into your work.

Looking forward to see how far you can get the i7-2600K on boards like the new UD7 from Gigabyte. I don't really trust the Digi+ VRM and UEFI bios yet.

03-01-2011, 12:24:16

Typhoon10
So is EFI just a new bios with a GUI or does allow for really fast boot times too?

03-01-2011, 13:24:35

LaurenceGough
It should be faster in theory, although it doesn't appear to be so far..

05-01-2011, 03:14:47

LaurenceGough
Could you review some P67 Gigabyte boards also? Before release date??

30-01-2011, 16:48:38

coolgame
will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????

30-01-2011, 17:03:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
We will get to them in due course dude

30-01-2011, 17:03:42

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
It does fit on my P8P67 Deluxe. So I would say yes

19-02-2011, 01:27:07

Tim the Enchanter
I have the same question, i.e. will the NH-D14 fit and allow for RAM with heat sinks.

Tim

(first post)

19-02-2011, 02:25:04

Tim the Enchanter
Woops. Looks like that is what you used in your review. Now I know it fits.

Thx!

Tim

23-02-2011, 23:09:47

VSOP
Still love my Fatal1ty P67 Professional
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.