ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

BIOS Pt1

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

BIOS Pt1

It was nearly two years ago that we first saw the EFI BIOS which promised to revolutionise the way we treated the blue screens we see so much of. It was outstandingly impressive and we couldn't wait for it to appear on motherboards. Multiple new chipsets have come and gone since then without a single one of them moving away from the standard "cursors and Enter" method of adjusting your BIOS. Finally though with the P67 Maximus IV Extreme from ASUS we see the mouse controlled BIOS making an appearance.

Instantly you can see what a benefit this has to legibility. Also the days of built-in overclocking giving a minuscule increase appear to be over as the CPU Level Up gives us the option of a staggering 4.6 GHz for our i7-2600K we're testing with today.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

Although the items have moved around a bit, and the way in which we navigate has certainly changed, generally speaking the adjustments that can be made are the same.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

The Turbo Power screen on the right is important. The methodology of overclocking these new processors is very different indeed, and we discuss that in our CPU review that is also going up at the same time as this one.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

Power can be adjusted either based upon heat restrictions, or just going all out for maximum power. So much of the new chips and the chipset is based upon energy saving which makes sense considering the new overclocking method.

As you can see although it looks very different, it's actually quite familiar too.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2011, 23:53:17

tinytomlogan
As with any new chip release there is a new chipset. If there is a new chipset, it's time for a new ROG board. Today the Maximus IV Extreme.

Continue Reading

03-01-2011, 00:10:28

Delusion77
I like the UEFI as a change from bios

03-01-2011, 00:18:56

Mr. Strawberry
glad to see IDE and PCI has finally gone and them new BIOS look SWEET!

03-01-2011, 00:34:22

Zeals
Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?

03-01-2011, 00:35:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?
Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.

03-01-2011, 01:03:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.
Well they'll get better press if you let you use it when it's all patched up.

03-01-2011, 01:27:57

Anders Heilemann
Feedback for your graphs.

You should add static values to each bar to make it easier to compare between them. There are so many graphs associated with reviews such as yours, would be nice to be able to move more quickly through them.

And especially in cases like the wprime95 in your new LGA 1155 review where the 1024M values are so high they stretch the scale, leaving almost no resolution for displaying the 1M results. So you have to hover the mouse over each of them.

Also just post them as pictures, the animations don't really add anything to it and pictures will probably load faster. But most importantly you gain compatibility with non flash compatible mobile devices.

I mostly read review and do research when commuting and being out of the house. Most other sites work for that, but yours.

Other than that, thanks for a great site. I appreciate the amount of detail you out into your work.

Looking forward to see how far you can get the i7-2600K on boards like the new UD7 from Gigabyte. I don't really trust the Digi+ VRM and UEFI bios yet.

03-01-2011, 12:24:16

Typhoon10
So is EFI just a new bios with a GUI or does allow for really fast boot times too?

03-01-2011, 13:24:35

LaurenceGough
It should be faster in theory, although it doesn't appear to be so far..

05-01-2011, 03:14:47

LaurenceGough
Could you review some P67 Gigabyte boards also? Before release date??

30-01-2011, 16:48:38

coolgame
will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????

30-01-2011, 17:03:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
We will get to them in due course dude

30-01-2011, 17:03:42

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
It does fit on my P8P67 Deluxe. So I would say yes

19-02-2011, 01:27:07

Tim the Enchanter
I have the same question, i.e. will the NH-D14 fit and allow for RAM with heat sinks.

Tim

(first post)

19-02-2011, 02:25:04

Tim the Enchanter
Woops. Looks like that is what you used in your review. Now I know it fits.

Thx!

Tim

23-02-2011, 23:09:47

VSOP
Still love my Fatal1ty P67 Professional
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.