ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

Looking Closer

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

Closer Inspection

The CPU area is fairly busy with lots of power circuitry surrounding it above and to the left. Otherwise it's the standard motherboard layout we're all used to.

The DIMM sockets have the excellent single-clip retention method that is a boon for anyone who switches memory often, but sufficiently great that even if you only ever insert your RAM once you'll appreciate it. Below that we have the ProbeIt monitoring points, as well as the onboard controls for power and reset. Almost hidden on the edge is the LN2 dip switch so those of you who play with sub-zero cooling can quickly fix the frozen issue.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

With the left hand side of the Maximus IV Extreme full of eye-catching colours and heat-sinks it's not a shock to see the bottom right-hand corner rather sparse in comparison. SATA II ports being grey and the SATA 3 ones being red is fairly formulaic. It's a little surprising to see the Southbridge so plain. Even the Formula variants of the previous range had a little more pizazz. 

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

The left hand side of the board contains the extra Molex adaptor for extra GPU power should you be running a multiple card setup. It's also where you can plug in the ROG Bluetooth adaptor we saw on the previous page.

For a new chipset the rear panel is outstandingly familiar. A combined PS2 port, USB ports, Network and audio jacks are exactly where you'd expect them to be.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

It may appear at first glance that the motherboard has a North Bridge but alas Sherlock that is actually an Nvidia NF200. Natively the P67 has 16 PCI-express lanes so 1x16 or 8x and 8x for Crossfire or SLI. By Asus adding the NF200 it allows the end user to have enough PCIE lanes to run up to 3 GPU's. So if the board is familiar, which is a good thing considering how well built the ROG line of motherboards are, then what is the big change? Turn over to find out.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2011, 23:53:17

tinytomlogan
As with any new chip release there is a new chipset. If there is a new chipset, it's time for a new ROG board. Today the Maximus IV Extreme.

Continue Reading

03-01-2011, 00:10:28

Delusion77
I like the UEFI as a change from bios

03-01-2011, 00:18:56

Mr. Strawberry
glad to see IDE and PCI has finally gone and them new BIOS look SWEET!

03-01-2011, 00:34:22

Zeals
Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?

03-01-2011, 00:35:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?
Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.

03-01-2011, 01:03:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.
Well they'll get better press if you let you use it when it's all patched up.

03-01-2011, 01:27:57

Anders Heilemann
Feedback for your graphs.

You should add static values to each bar to make it easier to compare between them. There are so many graphs associated with reviews such as yours, would be nice to be able to move more quickly through them.

And especially in cases like the wprime95 in your new LGA 1155 review where the 1024M values are so high they stretch the scale, leaving almost no resolution for displaying the 1M results. So you have to hover the mouse over each of them.

Also just post them as pictures, the animations don't really add anything to it and pictures will probably load faster. But most importantly you gain compatibility with non flash compatible mobile devices.

I mostly read review and do research when commuting and being out of the house. Most other sites work for that, but yours.

Other than that, thanks for a great site. I appreciate the amount of detail you out into your work.

Looking forward to see how far you can get the i7-2600K on boards like the new UD7 from Gigabyte. I don't really trust the Digi+ VRM and UEFI bios yet.

03-01-2011, 12:24:16

Typhoon10
So is EFI just a new bios with a GUI or does allow for really fast boot times too?

03-01-2011, 13:24:35

LaurenceGough
It should be faster in theory, although it doesn't appear to be so far..

05-01-2011, 03:14:47

LaurenceGough
Could you review some P67 Gigabyte boards also? Before release date??

30-01-2011, 16:48:38

coolgame
will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????

30-01-2011, 17:03:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
We will get to them in due course dude

30-01-2011, 17:03:42

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
It does fit on my P8P67 Deluxe. So I would say yes

19-02-2011, 01:27:07

Tim the Enchanter
I have the same question, i.e. will the NH-D14 fit and allow for RAM with heat sinks.

Tim

(first post)

19-02-2011, 02:25:04

Tim the Enchanter
Woops. Looks like that is what you used in your review. Now I know it fits.

Thx!

Tim

23-02-2011, 23:09:47

VSOP
Still love my Fatal1ty P67 Professional
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.