ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

First Look

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

First Look

Externally the M4E keeps up the standard ROG style packaging, with clear and concise information provided throughout. Also nice to see is the de rigueur flap with a clear panel to enable you to get a good look at the board prior to purchase.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

One element that the ROG boards always do well is the inclusion of extensive documentation. Whilst we could berate them for not having sufficient information upon the various BIOS settings or a troubleshooting guide that extends to more than "check it's plugged in" these are faults that occur with every single motherboard manual on the planet and so it would be churlish to single out ASUS.

The stickers that can be used to identify the SATA cables are highly useful especially if you've got multiple storage identical devices. I'm sure we've all accidentally formatted our backup drive at some point in our lives.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

The IO Shield is gloriously padded. No more do we end up looking like we've sparred with Jason Vorhees after installing it.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review  

As you can see the board itself is very similar to the rest of the ROG lineup. Black and red abounds, although the heatsinks aren't quite as outre as they were on the Rampage III.

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review     ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2011, 23:53:17

tinytomlogan
As with any new chip release there is a new chipset. If there is a new chipset, it's time for a new ROG board. Today the Maximus IV Extreme.

Continue Reading

03-01-2011, 00:10:28

Delusion77
I like the UEFI as a change from bios

03-01-2011, 00:18:56

Mr. Strawberry
glad to see IDE and PCI has finally gone and them new BIOS look SWEET!

03-01-2011, 00:34:22

Zeals
Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?

03-01-2011, 00:35:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?
Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.

03-01-2011, 01:03:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.
Well they'll get better press if you let you use it when it's all patched up.

03-01-2011, 01:27:57

Anders Heilemann
Feedback for your graphs.

You should add static values to each bar to make it easier to compare between them. There are so many graphs associated with reviews such as yours, would be nice to be able to move more quickly through them.

And especially in cases like the wprime95 in your new LGA 1155 review where the 1024M values are so high they stretch the scale, leaving almost no resolution for displaying the 1M results. So you have to hover the mouse over each of them.

Also just post them as pictures, the animations don't really add anything to it and pictures will probably load faster. But most importantly you gain compatibility with non flash compatible mobile devices.

I mostly read review and do research when commuting and being out of the house. Most other sites work for that, but yours.

Other than that, thanks for a great site. I appreciate the amount of detail you out into your work.

Looking forward to see how far you can get the i7-2600K on boards like the new UD7 from Gigabyte. I don't really trust the Digi+ VRM and UEFI bios yet.

03-01-2011, 12:24:16

Typhoon10
So is EFI just a new bios with a GUI or does allow for really fast boot times too?

03-01-2011, 13:24:35

LaurenceGough
It should be faster in theory, although it doesn't appear to be so far..

05-01-2011, 03:14:47

LaurenceGough
Could you review some P67 Gigabyte boards also? Before release date??

30-01-2011, 16:48:38

coolgame
will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????

30-01-2011, 17:03:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
We will get to them in due course dude

30-01-2011, 17:03:42

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
It does fit on my P8P67 Deluxe. So I would say yes

19-02-2011, 01:27:07

Tim the Enchanter
I have the same question, i.e. will the NH-D14 fit and allow for RAM with heat sinks.

Tim

(first post)

19-02-2011, 02:25:04

Tim the Enchanter
Woops. Looks like that is what you used in your review. Now I know it fits.

Thx!

Tim

23-02-2011, 23:09:47

VSOP
Still love my Fatal1ty P67 Professional
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.