ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

Conclusion

ASUS Maximus 4 Extreme Review

Conclusion

So if the results of the LGA1155 CPU tests have got you dribbling, should you be splurging your cash on the Red and Black?

Obviously at this early stage of the game it's a tough call as we haven't got a lot to compare against. So far we've only tested the standard Intel board and this ASUS. It's definitely not a sample size big enough to give a comprehensive definitive answer about.

Certainly all the parts are there. It comes with all the ROG goodness we'd expect to find such as the LN2 and ProbeIt features for those extreme overclockers. We have the Go button and BIOS recovery options that help all of us to reach the potential of our system as quickly as possible without too many headaches.

Any flaws in what we have to play with are more about the P67 chipset than ASUS themselves. We'd prefer to see full USB3.0 usage and SATA 6Gbp/s but those are out of ASUS hands to a large extent.

The EFI BIOS is particularly great, and teeth gnashingly frustrating, in equal measures.

To use it's a complete joy. We're so used to mouse control these days that it's much more natural to navigate the BIOS with this method than the old keyboard system. On a personal note the ability to grab a screenshot with a button press rather than set up my DSLR is particularly nice.

However this BIOS in particular has seen multiple revisions in the few weeks that I've been testing it and still doesn't get anywhere close to the stability or prowess available on the reference Intel motherboard. It's wonderful to be able to get a single-click overclock of 4.6GHz and we highly recommend that as it takes all the guesswork and tweaking out of overclocking. Alternatively it wont go any further than that and we know already that our chip is good for 5GHz.

Finally there is the pricing. The biggest problem with the P55 boards was that it was designed as a more cost-effective alternative to the X58 boards, but all the early ones were high-end ultra-expensive models. So adoption of the LGA1156 socket was minimal and by the time the boards and CPUs were around that could come in at a sensible price, it was being phased out for this LGA1155 revision. Although nothing is confirmed it looks like this will be around the Rampage III Extreme price-point of a shade under £300. Considering we're using a £250 chip in it too it's certainly not for the bargain hunters and the average overclocking performance make it tough to recommend as the motherboard of choice for those who must be on the cutting edge, or those looking to upgrade from one of current Intel models.

Hopefully a greatly improved BIOS will unleash the full power of the ASUS Maximus IV Extreme, but for now we'd recommend a wait and see approach.

   

Thanks to ASUS for providing the Maximus IV for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2011, 23:53:17

tinytomlogan
As with any new chip release there is a new chipset. If there is a new chipset, it's time for a new ROG board. Today the Maximus IV Extreme.

Continue Reading

03-01-2011, 00:10:28

Delusion77
I like the UEFI as a change from bios

03-01-2011, 00:18:56

Mr. Strawberry
glad to see IDE and PCI has finally gone and them new BIOS look SWEET!

03-01-2011, 00:34:22

Zeals
Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?

03-01-2011, 00:35:10

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Will you do an update or anything when they release a more stable BIOS?
Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.

03-01-2011, 01:03:33

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Possibly, depends if they have taken the board back by then.
Well they'll get better press if you let you use it when it's all patched up.

03-01-2011, 01:27:57

Anders Heilemann
Feedback for your graphs.

You should add static values to each bar to make it easier to compare between them. There are so many graphs associated with reviews such as yours, would be nice to be able to move more quickly through them.

And especially in cases like the wprime95 in your new LGA 1155 review where the 1024M values are so high they stretch the scale, leaving almost no resolution for displaying the 1M results. So you have to hover the mouse over each of them.

Also just post them as pictures, the animations don't really add anything to it and pictures will probably load faster. But most importantly you gain compatibility with non flash compatible mobile devices.

I mostly read review and do research when commuting and being out of the house. Most other sites work for that, but yours.

Other than that, thanks for a great site. I appreciate the amount of detail you out into your work.

Looking forward to see how far you can get the i7-2600K on boards like the new UD7 from Gigabyte. I don't really trust the Digi+ VRM and UEFI bios yet.

03-01-2011, 12:24:16

Typhoon10
So is EFI just a new bios with a GUI or does allow for really fast boot times too?

03-01-2011, 13:24:35

LaurenceGough
It should be faster in theory, although it doesn't appear to be so far..

05-01-2011, 03:14:47

LaurenceGough
Could you review some P67 Gigabyte boards also? Before release date??

30-01-2011, 16:48:38

coolgame
will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????

30-01-2011, 17:03:38

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
We will get to them in due course dude

30-01-2011, 17:03:42

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by coolgame View Post

will the nh-d14 fit on the other asus p67 boards?can u plz review them as well????
It does fit on my P8P67 Deluxe. So I would say yes

19-02-2011, 01:27:07

Tim the Enchanter
I have the same question, i.e. will the NH-D14 fit and allow for RAM with heat sinks.

Tim

(first post)

19-02-2011, 02:25:04

Tim the Enchanter
Woops. Looks like that is what you used in your review. Now I know it fits.

Thx!

Tim

23-02-2011, 23:09:47

VSOP
Still love my Fatal1ty P67 Professional
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.