Asus M4A785TD-V EVO 785G ATX Preview

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
ASUSAt an approximate retail price of £70, this motherboard has a lot of competition. From the Socket AM2+ side, it is possible to purchase AMD 790GX based motherboards such as the Biostar TA790GX series with a slightly better feature set and from the Socket AM3 side, a number of hybrid AMD 770 or 790X motherboards also paired with the SB750 southbridge such as the Gigabyte MA770T UD3P. It’s safe to say that the Asus M4A785TD-V EVO deviates from it’s more mainstream routes and holds it’s own against the aforementioned motherboards and only lacks a small number of features such as 8x/8x CrossfireX support. What it does have over other AMD chipsets is a more capable Integrated Graphics chipset which can now play 7.1 channel sound over HDMI (previously 5.1) and also supports DX10.1 (previously DX10). Also mentioned previously, the HD 4200 is expected to overclock very well and can be paired in hybrid crossfire with a HD 43xx series graphics card, resulting in significant gains. Unfortunately, the substantial fly in the ointment for us was that we did not get the opportunity to really put the chipset through it’s paces. However, if the dedicated Radeon HD 3450 graphics card is anything to go by, it should be a very promising little GPU, especially with it’s GDDR3 Sideport memory running at an impressive 1333MHz frequency.
 
All in all, Asus have done a very good job at serving a mainstream chipset platform to those with higher performance requirements, thanks to a well thought out ATX base, Socket AM3 support, 16x/4x CrossfireX and at any rate, it’s certainly worth considering for those that are contemplating a middle of the road AMD Phenom II setup.
 
 
The Good
- Well thought board layout.
- Express Gate OS is an excellent touch.
- Comprehensive BIOS.
- Overclocks Reasonably well.

The Mediocre
- Slightly lacking in accessories.
 
The Bad
- Nothing.
 
 
Value for Money 
  
Thanks to ASUS for sending the M4A785TD-V EVO in for review. Discuss this review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-08-2009, 14:42:36

JN
"With AMD's AM3 processors now available quite cheaply we take a look at the Asus M4A785TD-V EVO with the integrated AMD 785G chipset" - by Mul.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113115461s.jpg

Asus M4A785TD-V EVO 785G ATX Preview

04-08-2009, 15:11:48

Ghosthud1
why is there a p45 gene motherboard on the last page lol!

anyways nice review dont think its worth upgrading from a 780g unless i really wanted ddr3

04-08-2009, 15:21:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'
why is there a p45 gene motherboard on the last page lol!

anyways nice review dont think its worth upgrading from a 780g unless i really wanted ddr3
*beep*

Thats what happens when you have too many random files floating on your desktop. lol

04-08-2009, 20:51:26

tinytomlogan
It cant just be me that looks at this and thinks.....hmmmm Id buy one?

05-08-2009, 05:19:13

Rastalovich
Just had a flick through this quickly.

How is it the CoD/Grid fps thing has a lower Max than the average ?

Nice green screen btw.

05-08-2009, 05:25:45

Mul.
It's certainly a good motherboard, no doubt about it. At around 70, it's only direct motherboard competition is the Gigabyte MA770T UD3P, which lacks a few things such as the Express Gate and limited CrossfireX. I have no reason to believe that a more popular Black Edition CPU (X2 550/X3 720/X4 955) would be held back using this board and it's Advanced Clock Calibration feature from the updated SB710 is a definite bonus for those looking to try and unlock their Dual/Tri Core CPU's.

05-08-2009, 15:11:08

Socks
oooh..i think someone might be going AMD on first pay day :P

05-08-2009, 15:16:47

FarFarAway
Mul. - did I miss the bit about why the GPU was foobarred? Have they come back to you about that?

05-08-2009, 17:23:17

Mul.
When Jim spoke to me earlier, I believe he said that Asus seemed pretty certain that the IGP was b0rked and that the general concensus was that a single bad apple within a batch was sent out. Somewhat unfortunate really but hey, what can we do. What sort of screen corruption does it look like to you guys? I do recall trying to disable the sideport memory and having the same results (suggesting a bad core?) but I may just give it another shot tomorrow as it would be nice to try out some aspects of the IGP.

26-09-2009, 17:04:41

1UNetwork
Any news on the corruption..?

Have you tried another 785G yet.

Thanks.

JAV

26-09-2009, 18:01:26

WelshD1K
used one of these in a mates pc loverly board. for the chucked a 245 in it with 4gb ballistix for 220 and was nice and nippy

27-09-2009, 11:50:05

1UNetwork
Coolness......

30-12-2009, 13:27:26

subliminal messeging
i am going to buy this, it looks good, and some reviews it is good lol, it has a decent onboard graphics card also, with DX 10.1, it must be good, but sometime in thee near ish future i will get a ATI 5000 series ( for DX 11)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.