Asus M4A785TD-V EVO 785G ATX Preview

Gaming Performance

Gaming Performance
  
Once again, I must reiterate that while the Radeon HD 3450 256mb Graphics Card that we used has a lot in common with the integrated Radeon HD 4200 IGP in the 785G, it would be unfair to say that they are equal in performance.
 
 
FarCry 2
 
Far Cry 2 performed reasonably well for a modern hit, occasionally becoming a bit unplayable in dense areas of trees or buildings. I suspect that the Phenom II X4 905e helped hold up the frame rates.
 
 
 
 
CoD4
 
 
Call of Duty, a slightly older hit performed very well. Aside a couple of moments of abrupt game play, the performance was fluid and reasonably consistent to hold up the game.
 
 

GRID
 
GRID, regardless of reducing it’s on screen resolution simply didn’t bode well with our test setup. For most of the part, the performance was less than mediocre.
 
 
See over the page for initial thoughts.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-08-2009, 14:42:36

JN
"With AMD's AM3 processors now available quite cheaply we take a look at the Asus M4A785TD-V EVO with the integrated AMD 785G chipset" - by Mul.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113115461s.jpg

Asus M4A785TD-V EVO 785G ATX Preview

04-08-2009, 15:11:48

Ghosthud1
why is there a p45 gene motherboard on the last page lol!

anyways nice review dont think its worth upgrading from a 780g unless i really wanted ddr3

04-08-2009, 15:21:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'
why is there a p45 gene motherboard on the last page lol!

anyways nice review dont think its worth upgrading from a 780g unless i really wanted ddr3
*beep*

Thats what happens when you have too many random files floating on your desktop. lol

04-08-2009, 20:51:26

tinytomlogan
It cant just be me that looks at this and thinks.....hmmmm Id buy one?

05-08-2009, 05:19:13

Rastalovich
Just had a flick through this quickly.

How is it the CoD/Grid fps thing has a lower Max than the average ?

Nice green screen btw.

05-08-2009, 05:25:45

Mul.
It's certainly a good motherboard, no doubt about it. At around 70, it's only direct motherboard competition is the Gigabyte MA770T UD3P, which lacks a few things such as the Express Gate and limited CrossfireX. I have no reason to believe that a more popular Black Edition CPU (X2 550/X3 720/X4 955) would be held back using this board and it's Advanced Clock Calibration feature from the updated SB710 is a definite bonus for those looking to try and unlock their Dual/Tri Core CPU's.

05-08-2009, 15:11:08

Socks
oooh..i think someone might be going AMD on first pay day :P

05-08-2009, 15:16:47

FarFarAway
Mul. - did I miss the bit about why the GPU was foobarred? Have they come back to you about that?

05-08-2009, 17:23:17

Mul.
When Jim spoke to me earlier, I believe he said that Asus seemed pretty certain that the IGP was b0rked and that the general concensus was that a single bad apple within a batch was sent out. Somewhat unfortunate really but hey, what can we do. What sort of screen corruption does it look like to you guys? I do recall trying to disable the sideport memory and having the same results (suggesting a bad core?) but I may just give it another shot tomorrow as it would be nice to try out some aspects of the IGP.

26-09-2009, 17:04:41

1UNetwork
Any news on the corruption..?

Have you tried another 785G yet.

Thanks.

JAV

26-09-2009, 18:01:26

WelshD1K
used one of these in a mates pc loverly board. for the chucked a 245 in it with 4gb ballistix for 220 and was nice and nippy

27-09-2009, 11:50:05

1UNetwork
Coolness......

30-12-2009, 13:27:26

subliminal messeging
i am going to buy this, it looks good, and some reviews it is good lol, it has a decent onboard graphics card also, with DX 10.1, it must be good, but sometime in thee near ish future i will get a ATI 5000 series ( for DX 11)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.