Asus M4A785TD-V EVO 785G ATX Preview

Express Gate & Benchmarks

Asus Express Gate Operating System
 
Included in a number of Asus motherboards (including this one) is their Express Gate Operating System. A very basic, no frills means of being able to access the internet or view photos and media within seconds of powering one’s system on. Boot time was timed in at around 8 seconds from power on, which is fantastic. It was able to detect our Abit Airpace PCI-Express Wireless Adapter and use it without the installation of drivers. In fact, the usability of the operating system is further extended by the ability to use Skype or AIM/ICQ/MSN. The overall experience was hassle free and very useful for those that quickly need to check your mail before heading out for a day of work or school!
 
Express Gate     Express Gate
 
Express Gate     Express Gate
 
 
Synthetic Benchmarks
 
 Sandra
The output DDR3 results were exactly as expected for DDR3-1333 C9 memory, showing that the 785G/SB710 platform works well with Socket AM3/DDR3
 
 
 
Hard Disk Performance
 
Very predictable results from the SB710 Southbridge with the Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 120GB Hard Disk Drive.
 
 
Processor Arithmetic Performance
 
Performance wise, the Phenom II X4 905e performed exactly as it should when paired with the M4A785TD-V, a reasonable amount better than the popular Core 2 Quad Q6600 CPU.
 
 
Processor Multimedia Performance
 
Again, our test subject showed absolutely no sign of limiting a processor of this calibre. The results are very much in line with similar CPU's, performing above the previous generation of Phenom CPU's and above the Core 2 Quad Q8200 and Q6600.
 
 
Benchmarks out of the way lets move on to test the gaming performance.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-08-2009, 14:42:36

JN
"With AMD's AM3 processors now available quite cheaply we take a look at the Asus M4A785TD-V EVO with the integrated AMD 785G chipset" - by Mul.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113115461s.jpg

Asus M4A785TD-V EVO 785G ATX Preview

04-08-2009, 15:11:48

Ghosthud1
why is there a p45 gene motherboard on the last page lol!

anyways nice review dont think its worth upgrading from a 780g unless i really wanted ddr3

04-08-2009, 15:21:47

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ghosthud1'
why is there a p45 gene motherboard on the last page lol!

anyways nice review dont think its worth upgrading from a 780g unless i really wanted ddr3
*beep*

Thats what happens when you have too many random files floating on your desktop. lol

04-08-2009, 20:51:26

tinytomlogan
It cant just be me that looks at this and thinks.....hmmmm Id buy one?

05-08-2009, 05:19:13

Rastalovich
Just had a flick through this quickly.

How is it the CoD/Grid fps thing has a lower Max than the average ?

Nice green screen btw.

05-08-2009, 05:25:45

Mul.
It's certainly a good motherboard, no doubt about it. At around 70, it's only direct motherboard competition is the Gigabyte MA770T UD3P, which lacks a few things such as the Express Gate and limited CrossfireX. I have no reason to believe that a more popular Black Edition CPU (X2 550/X3 720/X4 955) would be held back using this board and it's Advanced Clock Calibration feature from the updated SB710 is a definite bonus for those looking to try and unlock their Dual/Tri Core CPU's.

05-08-2009, 15:11:08

Socks
oooh..i think someone might be going AMD on first pay day :P

05-08-2009, 15:16:47

FarFarAway
Mul. - did I miss the bit about why the GPU was foobarred? Have they come back to you about that?

05-08-2009, 17:23:17

Mul.
When Jim spoke to me earlier, I believe he said that Asus seemed pretty certain that the IGP was b0rked and that the general concensus was that a single bad apple within a batch was sent out. Somewhat unfortunate really but hey, what can we do. What sort of screen corruption does it look like to you guys? I do recall trying to disable the sideport memory and having the same results (suggesting a bad core?) but I may just give it another shot tomorrow as it would be nice to try out some aspects of the IGP.

26-09-2009, 17:04:41

1UNetwork
Any news on the corruption..?

Have you tried another 785G yet.

Thanks.

JAV

26-09-2009, 18:01:26

WelshD1K
used one of these in a mates pc loverly board. for the chucked a 245 in it with 4gb ballistix for 220 and was nice and nippy

27-09-2009, 11:50:05

1UNetwork
Coolness......

30-12-2009, 13:27:26

subliminal messeging
i am going to buy this, it looks good, and some reviews it is good lol, it has a decent onboard graphics card also, with DX 10.1, it must be good, but sometime in thee near ish future i will get a ATI 5000 series ( for DX 11)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.