ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX Review

Conclusion

ASUS Crosshair V Formula Review

Conclusion

Today's review is a bit of a double-edged sword. On the one hand we can directly compare it against current AM3-based motherboards, but on the other we know that the primary reason for its existence, the Bulldozer CPUs, aren't yet upon us and so we're only scratching the surface of the potential available.

However we have always had a belief that we can't review things based upon potential, but rather we want to see how it performs right now so that if it was our money, would we be happy?

With the ASUS Crosshair V Formula we definitely would.

Even using a processor that isn't designed to maximise the board, the AMD 1095T, the Crosshair V Formula gave us results significantly better than we'd achieved on the Crosshair IV Formula.

The cornerstone of the AMD philosophy is that you can upgrade gradually without your current hardware being rendered obsolete the second your new motherboard is out of the packaging (are you listening Intel?). Rather you can retain your current AM3 based system, slot the Crosshair V Formula in and know that when we're all singing "Zambezi, Zambezi, Zambezi, Zam I'll find a way" you've already got a way, because your whole system is just a CPU swap away from awesomeness.

The ASUS Crosshair V Formula is bristling with features to take advantage of in the interim. So many design choices hit the sweet spot from the plethora of USB 3.0 ports to the choice of all SATA3 all the time, the CH5F is deserving of its ROG branding.

Whilst pricing isn't available at the time of going to press, knowing the Formula moniker ensures this wont be priced to the enthusiast sector is encouraging. There certainly isn't anything that springs to mind which would make the Extreme variant, if one such thing exists, worth holding out for.

The Formula is well built, looks the business, has the brilliant UEFI BIOS and will breathe new life into your current setup. Assuming it comes in under the £200 bracket we expect, there is no reason why it isn't worthy of anything other than Gold.

Now bring on the Bulldozers.

     

Thanks to ASUS for providing the Crosshair V Formula for review. Discuss in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-05-2011, 16:36:11

tinytomlogan
Today we take a look at the latest AMD AM3 motherboard based upon the 990FX Chipset, the ASUS Crosshair V Formula.



Continue Reading

31-05-2011, 16:53:43

Fodr Kreatr
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Today we take a look at the latest AMD AM3 motherboard based upon the 990FX Chipset, the ASUS Crosshair V Formula.



Continue Reading
Nice to see Asus incorperating a new heatsink design - reminds me of the Gigabyte UD series

31-05-2011, 16:55:10

Morbious Stone
Marvelous !! Thanks Tom

31-05-2011, 17:23:56

Sapsh
Thanks for review, but I still don't think I'd go for AMD....

01-06-2011, 05:09:59

silenthill
very nice M/B I just hope that the FX series is going to be capable of competing with Intel's new Sandy Bridge and the upcoming X79 series but I really doubt it because AMD have been playing catch-up with no real competition with Intel for some time now.

01-06-2011, 05:54:53

AraS
hard to make review without the new cpus , but looks good my new board

01-06-2011, 06:25:27

Pendragon
A Video would have been nice but I guess your waiting for the new CPU. Looks like I'm going to have to save my penny's to replace my Crosshair IV.

01-06-2011, 06:29:39

dugdiamond
nice NB/FSB clocks.

were the benchmarks for the C4F the old ones'??? - because, correct me if i am wrong, the 1095T did not exist when those benches were taken.

if so, then the comparison between the C5F and C4F only lay on the extras on the board itself! they will not be truly realised until zambezi is RTM'd.

with this said, the ROG is a ROG at heart, and if you are looking for some raw power from an AMD chip then you cannot go wrong with this line of mobos.

this mobo would be perfect for people wanting to upgrade NOW to a speedy AMD rig, and still have the options for early bulldozers.

it looks good, but i am going to wait for the next generation = FULL BULLDOZER

01-06-2011, 07:28:18

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

nice NB/FSB clocks.

were the benchmarks for the C4F the old ones'??? - because, correct me if i am wrong, the 1095T did not exist when those benches were taken.

if so, then the comparison between the C5F and C4F only lay on the extras on the board itself! they will not be truly realised until zambezi is RTM'd.

with this said, the ROG is a ROG at heart, and if you are looking for some raw power from an AMD chip then you cannot go wrong with this line of mobos.

this mobo would be perfect for people wanting to upgrade NOW to a speedy AMD rig, and still have the options for early bulldozers.

it looks good, but i am going to wait for the next generation = FULL BULLDOZER
Ive had quite a few of the CH4's lately.....

01-06-2011, 07:30:59

Zeals
Will you be reviewing the new Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7 soon as well Tom?

01-06-2011, 08:32:55

badtaylorx
oh no....looks like im gonna hafta max my discover out again......damn i just paid it off too!!!!

01-06-2011, 10:07:40

mrDMxtreme
does the D-14 fit on this mobo. and if it does, did you have to spin it to blow out the top or did it fit normally? thanks

01-06-2011, 10:29:37

Rastalovich
What's upsetting to me, when I think back to using AMD cpus/mobos and their comparisons with Intel, is the focus could be purely on the cpu's performance cos the rest of the mobo's features would ~more or less~ be equal in terms of connectivity/expansion etc.

For far too long the AMD equiv have been lacking what Intel would soon enough be regarding as basic. And I don't like seeing this.

Yes the mobo is great, it's an Asus mobo so I'd never buy it myself (that's a personal preference), if you game or whatever, there's definitely excuses to go AMD - cost and upgrade-ability continuing to be some good ones.

But, Intel are about to feature mobos with PCIe 3.0 and 'quad' channel memory, and I just get the impression that as soon as AMD mobos make these things standard, Intel will be pushing something else new that AMD don't do.

(I do grant them the sata and usb advance, but it's taken time and 11 cards can do these things)

Don't get me wrong, the AMD choice in cpus is definitely there, just not for me. And it certainly doesn't qualify, in my eyes, spending any 'big' money on them. If you're going to do that, get the Intel equiv.

For crying out loud, they're well aware of PCIe 3.0 cos they're obviously testing with it with their gfxcards for a while. Memory - gah ! They employ memory management on their gfxcards too.

I want to see them come out with something that combines the use of their cpus, their gfxcards, their innovations, something perhaps only they can do. They have the means.

I don't understand the Gold award, unless it's for being gold inside the AMD zone alone, cos for mobos in general it's all a bit meh for me.

01-06-2011, 14:32:22

murphy7801
Oh ASUS you so rarely let us down.

01-06-2011, 15:35:46

yggdrasil
rastalovich you make some very good points, and just seems to be bringing out entry level cpu's and mono features now days and there is hype over these new cpu's but from memory their last cores got the same hype and and saying they will be 20% faster than intel cpu's, that's no big wow for me 20% will be the best thing it's good at god knows what that is. But I can see intel being on top once again. Probably with some new 1155's soon as well as 2011 socket

02-06-2011, 13:42:07

Fodr Kreatr
Quote:
Originally Posted by yggdrasil View Post

rastalovich you make some very good points, and just seems to be bringing out entry level cpu's and mono features now days and there is hype over these new cpu's but from memory their last cores got the same hype and and saying they will be 20% faster than intel cpu's, that's no big wow for me 20% will be the best thing it's good at god knows what that is. But I can see intel being on top once again. Probably with some new 1155's soon as well as 2011 socket
I'm guessing AMD will catch up to Intel, but still fail to overtake them

02-06-2011, 14:00:20

Ghosthud1
rasta makes some very interesting points, enough so im actually thinking not to go AMD for the bulldozer series of cpu's.

Just going to hold out and just upgrade my gpu instead.

02-06-2011, 21:25:28

Cool Ali
Wow, nice board with good feature.

03-06-2011, 05:39:27

SG12004
very nice board

05-06-2011, 18:12:04

metaaltebbes
Love it!

And now,can I please have a octacore FX to go with it?

06-06-2011, 17:46:33

Skeese
Just need Bulldozer to land now...

07-06-2011, 02:35:16

DiggyDiggyHole
YES!!!! FINALLY SLI ON AMD! >.<

07-06-2011, 02:37:04

DiggyDiggyHole
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post

What's upsetting to me, when I think back to using AMD cpus/mobos and their comparisons with Intel, is the focus could be purely on the cpu's performance cos the rest of the mobo's features would ~more or less~ be equal in terms of connectivity/expansion etc.

For far too long the AMD equiv have been lacking what Intel would soon enough be regarding as basic. And I don't like seeing this.

Yes the mobo is great, it's an Asus mobo so I'd never buy it myself (that's a personal preference), if you game or whatever, there's definitely excuses to go AMD - cost and upgrade-ability continuing to be some good ones.

But, Intel are about to feature mobos with PCIe 3.0 and 'quad' channel memory, and I just get the impression that as soon as AMD mobos make these things standard, Intel will be pushing something else new that AMD don't do.

(I do grant them the sata and usb advance, but it's taken time and 11 cards can do these things)

Don't get me wrong, the AMD choice in cpus is definitely there, just not for me. And it certainly doesn't qualify, in my eyes, spending any 'big' money on them. If you're going to do that, get the Intel equiv.

For crying out loud, they're well aware of PCIe 3.0 cos they're obviously testing with it with their gfxcards for a while. Memory - gah ! They employ memory management on their gfxcards too.

I want to see them come out with something that combines the use of their cpus, their gfxcards, their innovations, something perhaps only they can do. They have the means.

I don't understand the Gold award, unless it's for being gold inside the AMD zone alone, cos for mobos in general it's all a bit meh for me.
Rastalovich you make a valid point but, I bet ween the motherboard that will take Bulldozer to the next level, AM4. Once AM4 comes along, I am betting on full access to PCIE 16X 3.0 and who knows, it may put AMD so far ahead of 1155 they may even start to compete with LGA2011

08-06-2011, 08:50:16

DanTheRigMaster
Awesome, I can get my 570 now

26-07-2011, 15:36:11

clonazepam
Nice review. I'm still on the fence choosing between SB / waiting for Bulldozer / waiting for Ivy Bridge... lol this article didn't help me get any closer to pulling the trigger on the upgrade... I could see myself going with this board or another brand, get a cheaper AMD proc and play around, just because it's been quite a few years since I bought and built an AMD rig. I think the last one was an Athlon 64 x2 or something... I'm still rocking my kentsfield, and a recent benchmark of 16 cpus @ 3ghz measuring single core clock for clock performance, the conroe is still right up there and besting AMD's current line-up, clock for clock single core... yeah not really a real world test setup but very interesting nonetheless. So far from what I'm seeing, is if you are into buying the expensive multimedia creation software, you should go Intel. If you prefer free software, like Blender, and others like that, I think AMD procs with more physical cores have the upperhand. It probably has something to do with Intel and the developers not accepting bribes...lol... conspiracy theories I know... just having fun.

uggg... from these benches, like 3dmark 11, my p score with a q6600 at 3.6ghz, and a 570 overclocked to 750 core, 2100 mem, Im within 100-200 pts of everything you showed... and I'm a casual gamer, so again, its difficult.

Ultimately, I would really like to get a 1080p monitor with a 120hz refresh, not necessarily for 3D, just I think it will help me with eye strain and general tiredness. So I'll probably build a suitable gaming rig around that. I'll hold onto the 570, maybe go sli, and then wait for the amd 7xxx or nvidia 6xx series and see what goes. The best games this year aren't for sale yet, like BF3, a few others, and I've already purchased SW:TOR so that's probably the longest wait. I think I have to wait for BF3 and the others to hit later this year, and really see where the market and the hardware is at then. I want to build a current rig that'll have 2-4 yrs of solid gaming so... again, must....still....wait....some....more....ugggggg

I'm done rambling. OC3D getting peeps rounded up yet for SW:TOR???

ciao~

01-08-2011, 08:08:04

AxJaWz
Nice review and nice Mobo!

01-08-2011, 08:57:59

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rastalovich View Post

But, Intel are about to feature mobos with PCIe 3.0 and 'quad' channel memory, and I just get the impression that as soon as AMD mobos make these things standard, Intel will be pushing something else new that AMD don't do.
Yup. That's Intel flexing their muscles and being frivolous.

Triple channel was never the hit it was bigged up to be. And, they have now ditched it (because I would imagine it was a selling point for the I7 range then). It was simply them saying "Look what we're doing that AMD aren't !".

And once again it offered very little over dual channel, hence why they have now switched back to it. Sandybridge's selling point is the raw speed, coupled with a basic underlying set up (dual channel 4gb of ram, for example). X58 also boasted both Xfire and SLI support, back when no other chipset did.

PCIE 3.0 = a complete bloody waste of money. Why? because they haven't even come close to maxing bandwith on PCIE 2.1 or whatever it is we have now.

You're right man, Intel will just bolt on a load of needless tat, use it as a marketting ploy and then charge people out the butt for it. And, no doubt, it'll be pointless crap people are happy to pay for just because it sounds pretty cool.

It's kinda like the whole PCIE 16x = 16x. Instead of the lanes splitting into 8x. I've seen dippys sell their motherboard and buy a dual 16x lane board just to see a 5% increase

Snakeoil. If there was ever a more fitting industry to use that term in it's the PC market.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiggyDiggyHole View Post

YES!!!! FINALLY SLI ON AMD! >.<
http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/content/content.php?content.30

05-08-2011, 09:51:56

MichaelH
Nice board. Lovely infact. BUT. The heatsink design: it's a bit of a step back from the design of the heatsink on the IV Formula :|

08-08-2011, 23:53:56

DiggyDiggyHole
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelH View Post

Nice board. Lovely infact. BUT. The heatsink design: it's a bit of a step back from the design of the heatsink on the IV Formula :|
Man I don't know what you are talking about, that Heat Sink is epic!

13-08-2011, 08:54:12

Brendon
got the board off pc case gear couple of days ago!, cant wait to whack it in cant yet tho gotta get some more stuff

13-08-2011, 08:56:38

Brendon
Do i have to use the sli crossfire or can i just use 1 graphics card?

15-08-2011, 18:52:10

mrDMxtreme
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brendon View Post

Do i have to use the sli crossfire or can i just use 1 graphics card?
you can use just 1 graphics card if you want

20-03-2012, 04:44:51

mybloger
Yes the mobo is great, it's an Asus mobo so I'd never buy it myself (that's a personal preference), if you game or whatever, there's definitely excuses to go AMD - cost and upgrade-ability continuing to be some good ones.

20-03-2012, 05:32:15

Trent D.
I suppose, I like ASUS. but you realize this thread is like 10 months old. XD

21-03-2012, 21:36:34

dap
heys guys newbie here.

i brought this board intending to buy a bulldozer when they came out but them failing by some what i decided to hold back and stick with this athlon for now.

iv been told to sell everything and buy in in to intel but they cost allot.... what would you guys recomend stick with this or join the dark side?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.