Asus Blitz Extreme P35 Socket 775 Motherboard

Board Layout & Features

Board Layout & Features

Looking back over some of Asus' most popular motherboards such as the P5N, P5B, P5K, Commando and Striker, it's clear to see that very little has changed to the overal layout on any of these boards. It's certainly no surprise either considering Asus boards are often praised for for their well positioned, easily accessable connectors. At a glance the Blitz Extreme appears to share some of these traits, but let's take a closer look and find out for certain.

Asus Blitz Extreme Board Layout Asus Blitz Extreme Board Layout

Starting with the aesthetic appearance of the board, I have to say that Asus have done a great job. The board consists of 3 unoffencive colours (Black, Blue, White) that are used on on all slots, sockets and plugs. This is a welcome change from some of the garish and ugly colour combinations used by a handful of other manufacturers.

In terms of general layout, the 8-Pin EPS-12v connector has been placed at the very top left of the board, keeping any cables trainling across the board to a minimum. Over on the right side of the board, the ATX connector has actually switched positions with the floppy disk connector (compared to the Commando and P5K boards) allowing for even easier routing of the PSU's ATX cable around the top of the motherboard.

Asus Blitz Extreme Socket Area Asus Blitz Extreme Socket Area

The CPU socket area is fairly uncluttered, with only the mosfet heatsinks at the left of the board posing any possible clearance issues. However, on testing the board with several waterblocks including the Swiftech Apogee, D-Tek Fuzion and Danger Den Maze 4, we experienced no fitting issues whatsoever.

People wanting to take cooling one step further and put the Blitz Extreme under sub-zero cooling will be happy too. Unlike some of Asus' previous boards, the Blitz features 8-Phase digital power circuitary which provides more room directly around the CPU area, allowing for easier installation of insulation against condensation.

Asus Blitz Extreme I/O Asus Blitz Extreme I/O

Just like the recently reviewed P5K, the Blitz Extreme keeps thing fairly modern on the I/O panel, providing only one legacy port for a PS2 keyboard. This is a great idea considering I've often experience problems with my USB keyboard not working correctly when trying to enter the BIOS or after swapping a motherboard over.

Asus have also answered the prayers of many overclockers by providing a CMOS clear button on the I/O panel. I personally can't count the number of times I've been forced to pull the side off my PC case and fumble around for the CMOS jumper after a bad overclock. This little button will undoubtedly prove to be a life (and time) saver for many enthusiasts!

Asus Blitz Extreme Fuzion Block Asus Blitz Extreme P35

At the heart of the Blitz Extreme is the Intel P35 chipset cooled by Asus' own Fusion water block system. Featuring 3/8" barbs, the Fuzion block should work with a large portion of "ready made" water cooling kits and from what we could see inside the block, shouldn't hinder flowrates too much either.

Unfortunately when we tried to run the Blitz without any water loop connected to the Fusion, we saw the Northbridge temperatures hit over 80oc before finallly turning the PC off. Therefore, a fully working water cooling system appears to be a definite requirement if you are planning on purchasing the Blitz Extreme.

Asus Blitz Deluxe Crosslinx Asus Blitz Extreme Southbridge

Asus Blitz Extreme Crosslinx Asus Blitz Extreme Southbridge

As previously mentioned, the Fusion system also cools the Southbridge and Crosslinx chips via copper heatpipes. Whether or not these chips actually need any type of cooling is debatable, but it's good to see that Asus are removing any possible heat issues that may impede overclocking.

Powering Asus' Crosslinx technology is the IDT PCI Express switch (seen above, left). This essentially takes the 16 PCIe lanes from the P35's Northbridge and splits them among the two PCI Express x16 slots when two graphics cards are used in Crossfire mode. This also has the added advantage of freeing up the 4 PCIe lanes integrated into the Southbridge for other perhiperals.

Asus Blitz Extreme Slots

With three x1 and two x16 PCIe slots, the Blitz Extreme certainly seems to be putting its faith in manufacturers releasing their existing PCI cards in PCIe format. This is even more apparent when you consider that one of only two available PCI slots on the board will more than likely be blocked by a GPU cooler when two graphics cards are installed for Crossfire.

Asus Blitz Extreme SATA

As with the rest of the "Republic of Gamers" series, the Blitz Extreme features right-angled SATA and IDE connectors. These not only help to keep things looking a bit more tidy inside your PC case, but are also significantly more robust than the standard SATA connectors found on most other motherboards.

Asus Blitz Extreme Headers Asus Blitz Extreme Power Switches

At the very bottom of the motherboard we can see where the Asus 3-in-1 Q-Connectors come in to play. Colour coded in red, blue and white for the IEEE1394, USB and Switch/LED headers respectively, these connectors are a boon for those of us who regulary install and remove our motherboards.

Last but not least is the illuminated Power and Reset switches. These make it extremely easy to use the motherboard outside of your PC case when benching (on a bench!) or testing other components.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-08-2007, 16:22:22

JN
"After the success of Asus' first P35 chipset motherboard, we've been given the opportunity to test the tweaked out "Republic of Gamers" version affectionately known as the Blitz. Will it come out all guns blazing or bomb it big time? Read on to find out."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...120649525s.jpg

Asus Blitz Extreme Review

16-08-2007, 16:42:37

ionicle
they've taken there previous motherboards, and just tweaked them to make them slightly better, added a higher pricetag, and shoved it on the market, genious really

oh, and great review

very....extensive

16-08-2007, 16:55:54

Rastalovich
I think ASUS fans will like this especially, for the reasons ionicle states. Though it does imply that this latest tweak will allow u to get that much more % of an oc.

Outside of this review, I`d like to see a study where some1 takes 1 set of a full pc hardware install, and install the OS on it a large number of times. Each time take the benchmarks like XMS has used, and find out how much a difference u get in terms of a % each time. It`ll be small, I`d think, but it would add proof to my thinking that one board beating another in a finite benchmark doesn`t necessarily mean anything, unless it goes over a %.

My theory being, u build a setup and install u`r OS fully and u`ll get 1 result. Next time around, wipe the drive, and re-install everything and u`r result will be off by a few %.

16-08-2007, 17:31:19

FarFarAway
No generally that's not the case actually as I have done that a couple of times for varying reasons. You get a score almost exactly identical, shown especially by the benchmarks on these three boards that are exactly the same

16-08-2007, 18:14:52

Ham
Big question:

Is it better than the IP35 Pro

16-08-2007, 20:07:06

glocktodahead
great review, I enjoyed reading it.

16-08-2007, 20:14:27

Azreil_2
Worth getting over the p5k premium?

17-08-2007, 01:00:22

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Big question:

Is it better than the IP35 Pro
In terms of features I'd personally say yes. But the IP35 is a fair bit cheaper so it all matters what you want really.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Azreil_2'
Worth getting over the p5k premium?
For the extra 20-30 I'd say yes definitely.

17-08-2007, 05:38:00

Mr. Smith
Mate, that was a review and a half, probably one of the best on this site.

The mobo looks quality, a friend of mine Alex has 2K for an air cooled PC, this would have been a good coice if it did not require water on the NB

The tiny voltage increments is a god send, although can you imagine how long it would take to tune down to the sweet spot?

P.S Link to forum from front page not worky

17-08-2007, 05:43:52

Rastalovich
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
No generally that's not the case actually as I have done that a couple of times for varying reasons. You get a score almost exactly identical, shown especially by the benchmarks on these three boards that are exactly the same
Yeah, I can see how some statistics, the likes of cpu-use, the whole value of a percentage isn`t gonna waiver - and to be fair something like 3.05% and 3.25% of cpu isn`t that relevant.

Think I`m edging towards the likes of 3dmark, big number value outputers, where I`ve witnessed myself a +/-100, which on the face of it doesn`t look much, but comparing boards it can make one look better than the other. Think tho it`s wildly accepted that u can get a different mark score everytime u run it, so maybe a % acceptance should be assumed. One board beating another by a couple of hundred marks may look good, but not necessarily be that accurate - I think is what I`m saying. Imo the 06 marks should be divided by 100, with no decimal places, or something.

ABit vS ASUS playoff would be interesting.

17-08-2007, 06:16:50

JN
I see where you're coming from Rasta, and yes 3DMark05 scores are a little more prone to variation (3DMark06 is actually very reproducible). Running the tests 3 times does help to average out any fluke results, but I think our accuracy is as good, if not better than other review sites.

One thing that does annoy me is when graphs are set to a small scale so that minor differences in results look like massive. I try to avoid this as much as possible - if something is 1.111 and the other is 1.112, then you shouldn't even be able to see the difference on a graph imo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Mate, that was a review and a half, probably one of the best on this site.

The mobo looks quality, a friend of mine Alex has 2K for an air cooled PC, this would have been a good coice if it did not require water on the NB

The tiny voltage increments is a god send, although can you imagine how long it would take to tune down to the sweet spot?

P.S Link to forum from front page not worky
Cheers dude. It took a little while to complete (to say the least).

I was a bit miffed about the w/c requirement too, but I guess there's no way around it really.

I'm actually considering buying one to replace my beloved command...and I'll probably be sticking a Swiftech NB cooler and some heatsinks on SB/Crosslinx to avoid messing up my water loop.

17-08-2007, 06:21:38

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Mate, that was a review and a half, probably one of the best on this site.

The mobo looks quality, a friend of mine Alex has 2K for an air cooled PC, this would have been a good coice if it did not require water on the NB

The tiny voltage increments is a god send, although can you imagine how long it would take to tune down to the sweet spot?

P.S Link to forum from front page not worky
Cheers dude. It took a little while to complete (to say the least).

I was a bit miffed about the w/c requirement too, but I guess there's no way around it really.

I'm actually considering buying one to replace my beloved command.

17-08-2007, 06:25:39

Rastalovich
Stats can be very finicky, averaging is often u`r best friend in that sense.

Outside of spending a month benching 1 mobo, I`m not sure what else u could do. Point in fact, the way u`r doing it is obviously tried and tested and does very well tbh.

I`d just h8 to think some1 would look at a bunch of really close results for a group of items and bank on a small % win for 1 item as it spanking the others.

Meh, something to think about maybe whilst people read a review rather than for a reviewer to compensate for.

17-08-2007, 07:27:39

Raging
that is a review and a half for sure,good work.

the price doesnt seem all that bad either.

Raging.

17-08-2007, 09:02:56

Mr. Smith
Jim, are you getting the Extreme (ddr3) or the Formula (ddr2)?

17-08-2007, 09:19:48

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Jim, are you getting the Extreme (ddr3) or the Formula (ddr2)?
I'm gonna grab me an Extreme....Speeds like DDR3-2000 make me weak at the knees

21-08-2007, 07:20:33

bo_3li_h
Guys , sorry but i'm confused a little bit , this motherboard have 4 ram slots

2x blue color the other 2 are in white ,

does that mean i can run ddr2 (OR) ddr3 ram individually , coz i want to buy it now but i can't afford buying 2GIG Ram module at the same time, instead i want to use my ddr2 ram for the moment.. advise please

21-08-2007, 07:33:30

PV5150
Hi mate and welcome to OC3D The Blitz Extreme is a DDR3 motherboard, where the Blitz Formula is DDR2. This is not a review of a hybrid board. If you want to run your DDR2 then you'll need to get yourself the Blitz Formula.

21-08-2007, 07:39:05

Azreil_2
The Diffrent Colours are somthing to do with Dual Channel i belive , and as PV said they are two diffrent Boards;

Blitz Extreme = DDR 3

Blitz Formula = DDR 2

21-08-2007, 07:43:09

Elderbree TM
hi there all (my first post ) i have what i assume will be a stupid question but i wanted to know if the "Crosslinx" has any relation to an SLI GPU setting (makes it better worse or no different) i assume it does not have any relation but just making sure and also if i have an SLI configuration on this MoBo do i need to worry about cooling it (the crosslinx chip that is)

thanks for helping a noob in this

21-08-2007, 07:48:40

Azreil_2
This board uses the "P35" chipset, which can NOT run SLI. If you want SLI you will need to get a board with a Nvidia chipset.

The Crosslink allows you to run a CROSSFIRE setup (ATI/AMD) using two 8x/8x lanes to your graphics cards hope that helps, and that im not mistaken on anything lol

21-08-2007, 07:57:30

Elderbree TM
i was not aware of this (damn all my computer build planing need to be redone) ........

is there a DDR3 MoBo out there that support SLI (i already have 2 8800 Ultra GPUs that i wold hate to pass down to my brother if i can help it and also for the fact that as far as i know ATI has not made a GPU that can compete with NVidia (am i right??)

__________________________________________________ ____

soon to buy it :-)

Motherboard

1x Asus Blitz Extreme(??)

Power supply

Memory

4x OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800 FlexXLC Edition(??)

GPU

2x Asus EN8800ULTRA/G/HTDP/768M(have)

HDD

4x Western Digital's Raptor 150GB(each.)(have)

Screen

1x HP LP3065(??)

Keyboard & Mouse

Case

Cooling

Mods

Misc

__________________________________________________ __

21-08-2007, 07:59:56

Azreil_2
Erm, Well tbh i'v never looked at SLI compatable motherboards, i just know the p35 chipset dosnt support it ^^, im sure somone will post some more helpful advice later today, but might be better to post a thread in the Motorboard section, will catch more attention i belive. Oh and Welcome to the forums

21-08-2007, 08:03:00

Elderbree TM
Thanks and i will :-)

21-08-2007, 08:25:39

bo_3li_h
Thanks Elderbree, i will think again after your question , i already have 2 asus 8800 gtx and it would be very dissapointement if i bought this motherboard without sli, i think i can wait for now till something new like blitz BUT with SLI Support, Thanks guys all of you for replying fast & 4 the help

23-08-2007, 06:29:18

Mr. Smith
XMS - does the blitz come with adaptors for the NB? Long story short - I'm craming alot into a small case so the rad will overlap the bottom pci slot, pci-e slot, crosslinxchip/sb chip.

No room for heatsinks have to w/c NB. Not having a window so I guess looks don't matter anymore :/

Getting a refund on the q6600, e6850 ftw.

I'm ordering from our in house boys so let me know asap

23-08-2007, 06:42:49

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
XMS - does the blitz come with adaptors for the NB? Long story short - I'm craming alot into a small case so the rad will overlap the bottom pci slot, pci-e slot, crosslinxchip/sb chip.

No room for heatsinks have to w/c NB. Not having a window so I guess looks don't matter anymore :/

Getting a refund on the q6600, e6850 ftw.

I'm ordering from our in house boys so let me know asap
Yeah you get a big bag of adapters that allow you to use most tubing sizes with the NB. Are you going 1/2"? I'll double check tonight if ya like.

You seem like a e6850 man to me, I reckon it'll make u more happy than a quad.

23-08-2007, 06:52:54

Mr. Smith
Case is tight, I need the flexibility of the 7/16" tubing...

I think I'll be happier with the e6850... I was thinking I'd get more than 3.5 stable from the q6600 (especially as it was tested to 3.6 on relativly low volts).

I want 4.0ghz from the 6850 on water! More would be nice

Case is sorted too

Off topic - Jim, I have that hiper for sale but I also have a load of other things, rads, pelt, etc etc... Can you change the title if I add things to it tonight?

23-08-2007, 07:00:12

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Case is tight, I need the flexibility of the 7/16" tubing...
I doubt it will have 7/16" in there, but if it has 1/2" it's just a case of sticking the tubing in some hot water and it'll slide over with a bit of force.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'

I think I'll be happier with the e6850... I was thinking I'd get more than 3.5 stable from the q6600 (especially as it was tested to 3.6 on relativly low volts).

I want 4.0ghz from the 6850 on water! More would be nice
Its what I'll be getting when F40 gets sold off. For my rig I can't justify the need for Quad - especially not at the moment.

A new OC3D server being built soon will have a Quad in it tho

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'

Off topic - Jim, I have that hiper for sale but I also have a load of other things, rads, pelt, etc etc... Can you change the title if I add things to it tonight?
Ja...just pm'izzle me.

23-08-2007, 12:31:01

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Its what I'll be getting when F40 gets sold off. For my rig I can't justify the need for Quad - especially not at the moment.
Ye here too. I want quad but I certainly don't need it

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
A new OC3D server being built soon will have a Quad in it tho
Oh yes it will, should be nice and lag free for those playing CS (and UT3 soon)

11-11-2007, 05:12:33

InSearchOf
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Hi mate and welcome to OC3D The Blitz Extreme is a DDR3 motherboard, where the Blitz Formula is DDR2. This is not a review of a hybrid board. If you want to run your DDR2 then you'll need to get yourself the Blitz Formula.
hi, i just want some clarification about the Blitz Formula board. the Blitz Extreme review states that water cooling is a must on the NB. would this be true for the Formula board as well? i thought watercooling was an option not a necessity. is there any other website or review that confirms this? this now has me confused. what other mainstream ASUS P35 mobo would you recommend? i was thinking the P5K E or the P5K...any ideas would help, this would be my first build and dont want to watercool til i get more experience.

11-11-2007, 05:19:04

PV5150
The Blitz Formula SE and Blitz Extreme use the same NB chipset (P35) and subsequently the same Fusion water block. I have never tried my Formula without water-cooling so I can't comment there, but if you remove the thermal paste that ASUS uses for their chipset cooling and apply AS Ceramique then you possibly could. If you aren't looking to overclock then the Fusion block should be ok as is, but I would recommend applying a better thermal paste anyway. Failing that, you could always go and get yourself some better NB/SB cooling and replace ASUS' heat-pipes altogether
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.