Asus 128mb PhysX Card Review/Preview

Testing Setup, Installation and Notes

Testing Notes

With our graphics cards I test to a "real-world" experience. I believe that seeing numbers for tests is all well and good but it's the actual performance that the end user will see that is the most important factor in testing. With PhysX this means that I took a look at the games that are available for PhysX and played them thoroughly to ensure I got an impression of the gameplay you will get with a PhysX card.

I was going to set up the card with dual 7900GTX's in SLI: but I decided that most people would have a discreet sound card installed in their system so I used one 7900GTX and kept in my SB Audigy 2 ZS.

Test Setup

The test setup was as follows:

AMD Opteron 175 @ 2.8GHz (watercooled)
DFI LANPARTY UT Sli-D motherboard
Mushkin Redline PC4000 running at 255 x 11 1:1 3-3-2-5
Club3d 7900GTX 512mb running 91.31 Forceware
HDD: OS - 160gb Hitachi Deskstar SATA II
HDD: Gaming - 2 x 40gb Hitachi Deskstars in RAID 0
Sound: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power: PCP&C 510 SLi
Lian Li PC70B modded for watercoling and plenty of additional cooling.

G.R.A.W. was running all the latest patches and I installed the latest beta release of Cell Factor.

Please note that movies have been resized for easy upload/download

Installation

Installation of the card was simple. I inserted the card in a spare PCI slot, checked for seating and booted up, making sure the additional Power Molex was properly inserted. I installed the latest drivers on Ageia's website: 2.4.4.

There was no issues installing the drivers of the card and no issues with the Ageia's PhysX card running any of the games.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-07-2006, 09:42:46

FarFarAway
We have the card you're all trying to win! We see if it's really worth buying into Physics technology

Click here for the full review

11-07-2006, 09:49:47

Dav0s
w00t, been waiting for this, lemme have a read

11-07-2006, 10:01:22

Raging
sweet reveiw

those physics look muchos tasty

can i ask a favour though?

would you mind checking if the card has the following ram chips on it?

and how many it has.

"Samsung K4J52324QC-BC20 16 Mbit x 32 GDDR3 500 MHz FBGA 136 M54P"

cheers.

11-07-2006, 10:08:55

FarFarAway
May I ask why? Pretty sure it has those chips on it but why?

11-07-2006, 10:09:37

Dav0s
nice review...didnt realise they were that expensive tho!

11-07-2006, 10:14:52

masterblaster
best review I've seen for ages.

well done

11-07-2006, 10:24:33

Raging
because it may infact have 256mb of memory and not 128mb

please check?:eyes: hehe

cheers J.

11-07-2006, 10:27:38

masterblaster
probably because it is 256mb but Aegis had some UK exclusive agreement on the chipset so they had to advertise it as 128mb to avoid being sued.

or so I'm told

11-07-2006, 10:29:02

Dav0s
thats why kemp

11-07-2006, 10:30:20

FarFarAway
OK

Lemme switch off and yank it out then

11-07-2006, 10:37:00

JN
Yeah thats what i heard from somewhere too

11-07-2006, 10:45:37

Raging
indeed it is ,and thx in advance for checking

11-07-2006, 11:02:15

FarFarAway

11-07-2006, 11:07:22

Raging


shame on ocuk though,they claim on their forums that they had the only 256mb ones because of a deal with asus,thats bad.

nice to see the addition about the ram chips on the reveiw-again a great reveiw matt

so it looks like all the asus physx cards are 256mb

now a 256mb physx card,graw and all those other extras is pretty good for the price now

cheers.

11-07-2006, 11:48:26

FarFarAway
So....4 x 32mb = 256??

How does that work?

Their single sided DIMMs

11-07-2006, 11:54:42

|3ourne
bloody nice review mate. Still doesnt seem like it deserves me money just yet. Im waiting for ATI's physix solution .

11-07-2006, 12:04:02

Raging
my mistake...oh well maybe they might have the only 256mb ones

are you sure though because the pics of ocuk ones has four and looks the same:eh:

11-07-2006, 13:05:58

FragTek
so does this mean that the card we are giving away is possibly a 256 rather than a 128 then?

ill check out the review when I get home, looks intense mate!

11-07-2006, 13:29:31

glocktodahead
That was a very well done review Matt. I am going to hold off purchasing one until Unreal Tournament 2007 comes out because if that game utilizes the physX card fully then I will definately go out and buy one Lets hope new games continue to come out with support for them. I can just imagine how sweet games are going to look with DirectX10, PhysX capability and a sweet graphics card.

12-07-2006, 08:19:51

PV5150
w00tage, awesome review Kemp I just wanted to ask a couple of questions if I may:

1)Do you believe that the PhysX card will add another level to future game immersion?

2)Did you find the game physics realistic enough; was it just as easy to throw a large object, as a small object?

3)Does the debris stay around where it fell after an explosion (like it should), or does it fade away like most 'console' games do?

12-07-2006, 08:35:23

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by PV5150
w00tage, awesome review Kemp I just wanted to ask a couple of questions if I may:

1)Do you believe that the PhysX card will add another level to future game immersion?
Yep I sure do if devs can implement it like it is in Cell Factor...and thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
2)Did you find the game physics realistic enough; was it just as easy to throw a large object, as a small object?
Physics are incredibly realistic and they interact as it seems they should do in real life as regards size/shape and weight

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
3)Does the debris stay around where it fell after an explosion (like it should), or does it fade away like most 'console' games do?
G.R.A.W. does not stay as stated but Cell factor the bigger parts stayed and general debris did too. Some did disappear but I imagine this would be due to an efficiency Algorithm on the PPU so that the GPU doesn't have too many game "objects" to rendor (which would reduce framerates to unplayable levels)

All answered?

12-07-2006, 08:39:16

PV5150
Excellent mate...thank you. Soz I must have missed where you stated in the review, my bad

12-07-2006, 11:41:06

FragTek
Just got done reading the review and damn Kemp! That is a wicked little addition. If I still had a gaming computer you can bet the bank I'd have a PhysX card in it.

Absolutely killer review too mate, very well put together. A+

03-09-2013, 16:40:53

T3chwarri0r
I just read ur review but there are no more pics in it its all empty. I wannted to time travel and see what PhisX was about in 2006. Do you have these images still somewhere?

03-09-2013, 19:36:57

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by T3chwarri0r View Post
I just read ur review but there are no more pics in it its all empty. I wannted to time travel and see what PhisX was about in 2006. Do you have these images still somewhere?
Bumping a thread from 2006 for that?

It's not unusual for images to disappear over such a long time.

Nobody who's posted in this thread is still around on the forums today - so I highly doubt your question will be answered.

04-09-2013, 03:57:20

SuB
lol Holy Necro Post batman! That said, I still have a PhysX card lying about somewhere and from what I remember they are still better than using a GPU. Mental little things.

04-09-2013, 04:10:23

ObscureParadox
Mother of all necro bump XD
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.