AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE

Synthetic 3D / Rendering Results

Cinebench
 
Cinebench 10 is a benchmarking tool based on the powerful 3D software Cinema 4D. The suite uses complex renders to gauge the performance of the entire PC system in both single-core and multi-core modes. Testing was performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being omitted and an average created from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
 
 
POV-Ray
 
POV-Ray is a Persistence of Vision Raytracing tool for producing high-quality computer graphics. The freely available software suite is bundled with a benchmarking scene that uses many of POV-Ray's internal features to heavily test the abilities of the CPU in both single and multi-core modes.
 
 
 
3DMark
 
3DMark is a popular synthetic gaming benchmark used by many gamers and overclockers to gauge the performance of their PC's. All 3DMark runs were performed a total of 5 times with the highest and lowest results being removed and an average calculated from the remaining 3 results.
 
 
 
Results Analysis
 
Nothing unusual here really, the 920 still wins in the multi core benchmarks due to it's 8 logical cores vs the 4 physical cores of the 965 and 955. However, in the single threaded benchmarks the 965 does take the lead due to being almost 700Mhz faster than the 920 at stock speeds. 3DMark 06 also favours the 965 over the 920 due to it's higher clock speed. Vantage however does take advantage of the multiple cores of the 920.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-08-2009, 05:54:12

JN
"With a 200MHz speed increase, can AMD's latest Phenom II CPU offer anything more than its predecessors?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...100531915l.jpg

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE

17-08-2009, 07:07:54

FarFarAway
A predictable outcome, but a step in the right direction none-the-less. I keep getting tempted to pick up an AMD CPU just for the sheer hell of it, but other stuff tends to get priorities

Good review

17-08-2009, 07:09:58

mayhem
Well thought out set of phrases.

Nice review all though the cpu is not just yet my cup of tee, how ever i will sing a song of Boom Boom Boom Let me way Eh Oh !!!!!! Or was it just a fizz and pop when it blew

nice to see you pushing it to its own demise .. are you going to get a new sample to play with.

17-08-2009, 08:00:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'

nice to see you pushing it to its own demise .. are you going to get a new sample to play with.
Really hoping so as 4.1GHz felt achievable even on the basic Gigabyte board that was used. Even more interesting than the max oc will be what results it gets at 4-4.1ghz

17-08-2009, 08:04:21

Mul.
It was very unfortunate that it bit the dust so prematurely. I was surprised because I and many others have pushed AMD Phenom II CPU's past 1.50V on air without any sign of it causing any damage. Overclocked performance would have been something particularly interesting to see as I've found that these processors scale rather well with clock speed increases especially with ramped up northbridge frequencies and DDR3. As I mentioned before, it's also quite well known for the Phenom II to overclock as much as 200MHz less on a 64bit operating system than on a 32bit OS.

17-08-2009, 10:45:50

Rastalovich
It's a little more unfortunate that the E8400/ROG-P45/DDR2 was used as the C2D comparison.

Not that it'd obviously stake any claims to outperform anything, but mentioning a Q9550 - that would have been nice. And a X48 DDR3 sporting mobo too, atleast a P45 DDR3 - particularly when emphasis is made on artificial benchmarks.

I personally see 775 as still a viable option.

18-08-2009, 10:51:17

Bungral
Good review and nice to see the AMD benches.

Quick question though.. How can this be mentioned in the conclusion good and bad bit without actually testing said CPU against it?:

"Comfortably outperforms it's comparatively priced rival, the Core 2 Quad Q9550."



Would have been good to see it pitched against a proccy like that though as Rast said.

18-08-2009, 18:48:18

Mul.
Based upon experience when handling Phenom II's at 3.2GHz and upwards. It's well known that at these speeds they do indeed outpace the Q9550 but I certainly see where you're coming from as what's been said has little to do with the findings based on the Core 2 Duo and Core i7 used. Perhaps that point is worth ammending

19-08-2009, 17:00:40

Hassan
I'm considering buying an AMD machine at the moment, I might go for this chip. I'll just wait a bit longer and see if anything comes along

23-08-2009, 22:31:06

kd4kzz
Planning on building my third PC. I really would like to try an AMD Phenom II instead of the Intel i7. I have only built intel systems. And hope to try my hand at water cooling as well.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.