AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE

Synthetic CPU Results

SiSoftware
 
SiSoftware Sandra (the System ANalyser, Diagnostic and Reporting Assistant) is an information & diagnostic utility capable of benchmarking the performance of individual components inside a PC. Each of the benchmarks below were run a total of five times with the highest and lowest scores being discarded and an average being calculated from the remaining three.
 
 
 
SuperPI
 
SuperPI is the benchmark of choice for many overclockers. It's lightweight to download and can give a quick indication on how good a system is at number crunching. It should be noted that while the application is fantastic as a measure of a processor's performance compared to another processor of the same product family, it is known to be a mediocre choice of application to compare processors between different product families and brands. Also note that SuperPi is a single threaded application.
 
Once again, testing was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 
 
 
PassMark Software
 
PassMark is a popular benchmarking suite which test all aspect of PC hardware.The CPU test examines Mathematical operations, compression, encryption, SSE, 3DNow! instructions and more. Each CPU test was performed a total of 5 times, with an average being calculated from the middle three results.
 
 
Result Analysis
 
As we can see, the higher default clock speed of the 965 gives it an advantage in the CPU benchmarks. The i7 920 is still faster in all of these benchmarks, despite it's slower clock. The hyperthreading technology obviously does it's job here.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-08-2009, 05:54:12

JN
"With a 200MHz speed increase, can AMD's latest Phenom II CPU offer anything more than its predecessors?"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...100531915l.jpg

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE

17-08-2009, 07:07:54

FarFarAway
A predictable outcome, but a step in the right direction none-the-less. I keep getting tempted to pick up an AMD CPU just for the sheer hell of it, but other stuff tends to get priorities

Good review

17-08-2009, 07:09:58

mayhem
Well thought out set of phrases.

Nice review all though the cpu is not just yet my cup of tee, how ever i will sing a song of Boom Boom Boom Let me way Eh Oh !!!!!! Or was it just a fizz and pop when it blew

nice to see you pushing it to its own demise .. are you going to get a new sample to play with.

17-08-2009, 08:00:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'

nice to see you pushing it to its own demise .. are you going to get a new sample to play with.
Really hoping so as 4.1GHz felt achievable even on the basic Gigabyte board that was used. Even more interesting than the max oc will be what results it gets at 4-4.1ghz

17-08-2009, 08:04:21

Mul.
It was very unfortunate that it bit the dust so prematurely. I was surprised because I and many others have pushed AMD Phenom II CPU's past 1.50V on air without any sign of it causing any damage. Overclocked performance would have been something particularly interesting to see as I've found that these processors scale rather well with clock speed increases especially with ramped up northbridge frequencies and DDR3. As I mentioned before, it's also quite well known for the Phenom II to overclock as much as 200MHz less on a 64bit operating system than on a 32bit OS.

17-08-2009, 10:45:50

Rastalovich
It's a little more unfortunate that the E8400/ROG-P45/DDR2 was used as the C2D comparison.

Not that it'd obviously stake any claims to outperform anything, but mentioning a Q9550 - that would have been nice. And a X48 DDR3 sporting mobo too, atleast a P45 DDR3 - particularly when emphasis is made on artificial benchmarks.

I personally see 775 as still a viable option.

18-08-2009, 10:51:17

Bungral
Good review and nice to see the AMD benches.

Quick question though.. How can this be mentioned in the conclusion good and bad bit without actually testing said CPU against it?:

"Comfortably outperforms it's comparatively priced rival, the Core 2 Quad Q9550."



Would have been good to see it pitched against a proccy like that though as Rast said.

18-08-2009, 18:48:18

Mul.
Based upon experience when handling Phenom II's at 3.2GHz and upwards. It's well known that at these speeds they do indeed outpace the Q9550 but I certainly see where you're coming from as what's been said has little to do with the findings based on the Core 2 Duo and Core i7 used. Perhaps that point is worth ammending

19-08-2009, 17:00:40

Hassan
I'm considering buying an AMD machine at the moment, I might go for this chip. I'll just wait a bit longer and see if anything comes along

23-08-2009, 22:31:06

kd4kzz
Planning on building my third PC. I really would like to try an AMD Phenom II instead of the Intel i7. I have only built intel systems. And hope to try my hand at water cooling as well.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.