AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

SiSoft Sandra Page 1

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K Review

 

 

SiSoft Sandra

We ran the two APUs through a plethora of Sandra's tests, ranging from the raw arithmetical performance of the CPU to Memory and Graphics tests.

Processor

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review  AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review  AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review   

We see in the Sandra tests more of a mixed bag of results. Certain tests here do seem to perform better on the Kaveri such as the Dhrystone test and Hashing bandwidth, although when we come to the Cryptography and the Financial Analysis tests we do see significantly lower scores.

Memory

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

Memory tests here show that the Kaveri chips have a slightly superior memory controller which may aid in achieving high RAM speeds. We aren't too sure how the A10-7700K managed to pull away so much here, but we've retested the results and that's what it scored!

Graphics

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

This gives us the first insight into possible graphics performance, with all three scores of the test on both of the Kaveri APUs being at least twice as high as the 6800K's results.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2014, 05:34:12

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...102652907l.jpg

We take a look at AMD's latest range of APUs - the A10-7850K, and the A10-7700K!


Continue Reading

03-04-2014, 06:42:06

barnsley
heh, not surprised the 7700k is better value for money. Its the case with AMD really, the top of the range one isn't really worth it.

03-04-2014, 07:33:54

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
heh, not surprised the 7700k is better value for money. Its the case with AMD really, the top of the range one isn't really worth it.
That's the case with every company.
Best value for money is always somewhere in the middle.

03-04-2014, 15:14:08

Zoot
It's a shame the A8-7600 isn't available to buy yet.

That was (IMO) the real star of the show when it came to Kaveri.

03-04-2014, 16:51:30

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoot View Post
It's a shame the A8-7600 isn't available to buy yet.

That was (IMO) the real star of the show when it came to Kaveri.
I think there's a limit of how far I'd want performance to drop before I'd just start looking elsewhere tbh.

The 7700K and 7850K got good awards here because they offered all round CPU performance, as well as good gaming performance, especially if coupled with the R7 250.

The issue when you start to drop down, especially with these, is that there are probably better options out there. For gaming, a Pentium and R9 270 wouldn't cost much more and would get you better gaming performance, and an Intel i5 would most certainly get you better CPU performance in the majority of likely tasks you'd be running.

Give it a couple of years, and I reckon these APUs will really start taking off and becoming viable options for more than just a budget gaming system.

04-04-2014, 13:22:08

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
The issue when you start to drop down, especially with these, is that there are probably better options out there. For gaming, a Pentium and R9 270 wouldn't cost much more and would get you better gaming performance, and an Intel i5 would most certainly get you better CPU performance in the majority of likely tasks you'd be running.
I'm not too pushed about benchmark numbers to be truthful. If you can't notice the difference I find it very hard to get excited about it even though everybody else does. It was the reason I bought an FX-8350 over an i5 or i7 last year too.

Anyway, I don't know about you, but for something around 100 euros a 45W APU like the A8-7600 that would be capable of running older games and indie games is quite a good deal for me, particularly for a HTPC. Although I agree for a dedicated gaming rig, I'd certainly be looking elsewhere.

04-04-2014, 13:58:05

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoot View Post
I'm not too pushed about benchmark numbers to be truthful. If you can't notice the difference I find it very hard to get excited about it even though everybody else does. It was the reason I bought an FX-8350 over an i5 or i7 last year too.

Anyway, I don't know about you, but for something around 100 euros a 45W APU like the A8-7600 that would be capable of running older games and indie games is quite a good deal for me, particularly for a HTPC. Although I agree for a dedicated gaming rig, I'd certainly be looking elsewhere.
That depends on how much attention you pay to detail. And what you use your CPU for. I prefer my i5 over an 8350 because i don't need to fear that some game will run god awful for some odd optimization issue.

04-04-2014, 14:16:41

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
That depends on how much attention you pay to detail. And what you use your CPU for. I prefer my i5 over an 8350 because i don't need to fear that some game will run god awful for some odd optimization issue.
I've had this discussion before with others here. Might not be with you, but I've certainly had it before. No desire to repeat, it's off-topic anyway.

Forgot to mention - my thanks to James for the review.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.