AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

Test Setup & Power Consumption

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

 

 

Test Setup

There's perhaps more factors to take into consideration for Kaveri APUs than we'd normally have to do in our testing. AMD claim memory speed makes a large impact to results, and also as the processor itself supports Crossfire, we've added a string of Crossfire graphics results in with our usual tests, and also tested at two different RAM speeds.

Specifications

CPUAMD Kaveri A10-7850K / A10-7700K
MotherboardGigabyte F2A88XM-DS2
Memory1) AMD Radeon Memory @ 1600MHz
2) AMD Radeon Memory @ 2400MHz
Graphics

1) Integrated R7 Graphics
2) Club3D Radeon R7 250 Dual Crossfire

CoolingCorsair H80i
Power SupplyCorsair HX850
CaseCorsair 300R
Storage2x Corsair 60GB LS Solid State Drives

 

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review


AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review  AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review  AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review  AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

 

First Test

To begin with, we tested all of our benchmarks using the iGPU on both processors with the memory clocks set at 1600MHz. This gave a basis of comparison to the older models of APUs which were tested at 1600MHz also.

Second Test

We then increased the memory speed of the Radeon Memory to 2400MHz and ran through the majority of the tests that we did in the first test. Since this was to give a general idea of the affect of memory speed on the performance of the Kaveri CPUs, we didn't feel it necessary to run every test, but the majority have still be done to enable us to accurately draw a conclusion.

Third Test

Using the same 2400MHz memory speed, we then added a Club3D R7 250 to the system and enabled Dual Graphics to allow the iGPU and the R7 250 in both processors to work in sync in Crossfire mode. As this is purely a graphics test, we ran this through a series of our graphics tests to give insight into the performance of Crossfire on Kaveri.

 

Power Consumption

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

We cans see here that the Kaveri APUs consume a similar amount of power to the previous generations. However, if the Kaveri chips perform better, then this will still mean you'll be seeing better performance per watt on Kaveri than on Trinity or Richland.

It is also worth noting just how efficient the R7 250 is, which under these tests only pulls a mere 25-30 watts of power under load.  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2014, 05:34:12

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...102652907l.jpg

We take a look at AMD's latest range of APUs - the A10-7850K, and the A10-7700K!


Continue Reading

03-04-2014, 06:42:06

barnsley
heh, not surprised the 7700k is better value for money. Its the case with AMD really, the top of the range one isn't really worth it.

03-04-2014, 07:33:54

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
heh, not surprised the 7700k is better value for money. Its the case with AMD really, the top of the range one isn't really worth it.
That's the case with every company.
Best value for money is always somewhere in the middle.

03-04-2014, 15:14:08

Zoot
It's a shame the A8-7600 isn't available to buy yet.

That was (IMO) the real star of the show when it came to Kaveri.

03-04-2014, 16:51:30

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoot View Post
It's a shame the A8-7600 isn't available to buy yet.

That was (IMO) the real star of the show when it came to Kaveri.
I think there's a limit of how far I'd want performance to drop before I'd just start looking elsewhere tbh.

The 7700K and 7850K got good awards here because they offered all round CPU performance, as well as good gaming performance, especially if coupled with the R7 250.

The issue when you start to drop down, especially with these, is that there are probably better options out there. For gaming, a Pentium and R9 270 wouldn't cost much more and would get you better gaming performance, and an Intel i5 would most certainly get you better CPU performance in the majority of likely tasks you'd be running.

Give it a couple of years, and I reckon these APUs will really start taking off and becoming viable options for more than just a budget gaming system.

04-04-2014, 13:22:08

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
The issue when you start to drop down, especially with these, is that there are probably better options out there. For gaming, a Pentium and R9 270 wouldn't cost much more and would get you better gaming performance, and an Intel i5 would most certainly get you better CPU performance in the majority of likely tasks you'd be running.
I'm not too pushed about benchmark numbers to be truthful. If you can't notice the difference I find it very hard to get excited about it even though everybody else does. It was the reason I bought an FX-8350 over an i5 or i7 last year too.

Anyway, I don't know about you, but for something around 100 euros a 45W APU like the A8-7600 that would be capable of running older games and indie games is quite a good deal for me, particularly for a HTPC. Although I agree for a dedicated gaming rig, I'd certainly be looking elsewhere.

04-04-2014, 13:58:05

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoot View Post
I'm not too pushed about benchmark numbers to be truthful. If you can't notice the difference I find it very hard to get excited about it even though everybody else does. It was the reason I bought an FX-8350 over an i5 or i7 last year too.

Anyway, I don't know about you, but for something around 100 euros a 45W APU like the A8-7600 that would be capable of running older games and indie games is quite a good deal for me, particularly for a HTPC. Although I agree for a dedicated gaming rig, I'd certainly be looking elsewhere.
That depends on how much attention you pay to detail. And what you use your CPU for. I prefer my i5 over an 8350 because i don't need to fear that some game will run god awful for some odd optimization issue.

04-04-2014, 14:16:41

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
That depends on how much attention you pay to detail. And what you use your CPU for. I prefer my i5 over an 8350 because i don't need to fear that some game will run god awful for some odd optimization issue.
I've had this discussion before with others here. Might not be with you, but I've certainly had it before. No desire to repeat, it's off-topic anyway.

Forgot to mention - my thanks to James for the review.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.