AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

Bioshock Infinite

AMD Kaveri A10-7850K Review



 

Bioshock Infinite

One of the most popular and highly rated games to be released in 2013, the new instalment to the Bioshock series is heralded for its graphics. As such, it only made sense to include it in our testing.

We used two different quality presets to do our run-throughs; Low and Normal, both at 1080p.


AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review  AMD Kaveri A10-7850K & A10-7700K Review

Again here we can see the 7850K pulling ahead of the previous models by about 30%, with the 7700K only slightly behind. Increasing the RAM speed here has made a small difference, but certainly nothing on the scale of the difference it made in some of the previous tests. Crossfire results are reasonable here.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2014, 05:34:12

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...102652907l.jpg

We take a look at AMD's latest range of APUs - the A10-7850K, and the A10-7700K!


Continue Reading

03-04-2014, 06:42:06

barnsley
heh, not surprised the 7700k is better value for money. Its the case with AMD really, the top of the range one isn't really worth it.

03-04-2014, 07:33:54

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
heh, not surprised the 7700k is better value for money. Its the case with AMD really, the top of the range one isn't really worth it.
That's the case with every company.
Best value for money is always somewhere in the middle.

03-04-2014, 15:14:08

Zoot
It's a shame the A8-7600 isn't available to buy yet.

That was (IMO) the real star of the show when it came to Kaveri.

03-04-2014, 16:51:30

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoot View Post
It's a shame the A8-7600 isn't available to buy yet.

That was (IMO) the real star of the show when it came to Kaveri.
I think there's a limit of how far I'd want performance to drop before I'd just start looking elsewhere tbh.

The 7700K and 7850K got good awards here because they offered all round CPU performance, as well as good gaming performance, especially if coupled with the R7 250.

The issue when you start to drop down, especially with these, is that there are probably better options out there. For gaming, a Pentium and R9 270 wouldn't cost much more and would get you better gaming performance, and an Intel i5 would most certainly get you better CPU performance in the majority of likely tasks you'd be running.

Give it a couple of years, and I reckon these APUs will really start taking off and becoming viable options for more than just a budget gaming system.

04-04-2014, 13:22:08

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
The issue when you start to drop down, especially with these, is that there are probably better options out there. For gaming, a Pentium and R9 270 wouldn't cost much more and would get you better gaming performance, and an Intel i5 would most certainly get you better CPU performance in the majority of likely tasks you'd be running.
I'm not too pushed about benchmark numbers to be truthful. If you can't notice the difference I find it very hard to get excited about it even though everybody else does. It was the reason I bought an FX-8350 over an i5 or i7 last year too.

Anyway, I don't know about you, but for something around 100 euros a 45W APU like the A8-7600 that would be capable of running older games and indie games is quite a good deal for me, particularly for a HTPC. Although I agree for a dedicated gaming rig, I'd certainly be looking elsewhere.

04-04-2014, 13:58:05

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoot View Post
I'm not too pushed about benchmark numbers to be truthful. If you can't notice the difference I find it very hard to get excited about it even though everybody else does. It was the reason I bought an FX-8350 over an i5 or i7 last year too.

Anyway, I don't know about you, but for something around 100 euros a 45W APU like the A8-7600 that would be capable of running older games and indie games is quite a good deal for me, particularly for a HTPC. Although I agree for a dedicated gaming rig, I'd certainly be looking elsewhere.
That depends on how much attention you pay to detail. And what you use your CPU for. I prefer my i5 over an 8350 because i don't need to fear that some game will run god awful for some odd optimization issue.

04-04-2014, 14:16:41

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
That depends on how much attention you pay to detail. And what you use your CPU for. I prefer my i5 over an 8350 because i don't need to fear that some game will run god awful for some odd optimization issue.
I've had this discussion before with others here. Might not be with you, but I've certainly had it before. No desire to repeat, it's off-topic anyway.

Forgot to mention - my thanks to James for the review.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.