AMD Athlon II 620 X4

Synthetic Tests part two

Synthetic Benchmarks cont...
 
 
Lavalys Everest Ultimate has a suite of great benchmarking tools and information available as we discovered here. The AES encryption test shows a linear increase between clock speed and score. PhotoWorxx displays a smaller increase, but this is also more dependant upon subsystems. CPU Queen however shows a 225 point increase over the theoretical improvement. Very impressive indeed. Although it's within tolerance nonetheless it's a good showing.
 
 
As we start to move away from purely CPU synthetic benchmarks to those that stress the whole system the difference lessens. PC Mark Vantage does seem more useful for testing everything, and it's here than the use of a standard HD and lower amount of memory really shows through. A 600 point increase for free isn't bad, but let's see if an actual program shows a similar lack of improvement.
 
 
PovRay is a script based freeware rendering program. As rendering is very processor intensive the improvement of 191 seconds (or 3 minutes 11 seconds) off of the stock speed time is very impressive. Again, like the CPU Queen test, faster than theoretically possible just based on the clock increase but within benchmark variances.
 
 
Cinema4D sees a reasonable improvement. One of the things that this graph doesn't show is that the normal clocked test showed a 3.64x processor scaling between single and multi-processor rendering, whereas the overclocked test showed 3.44x scale. Still a good result and proof that if you have any interest in graphics or rendering, this chip definitely should be on your shortlist.
 
Phew. Let's go and have a look at some game performance now we've covered every synthetic benchmark anyone could ever need.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-11-2009, 04:01:04

tinytomlogan
We welcome VonBlade to the Overclock3d Review team by sending him an AMD Athlon II 620 X4 to review.

Continue Reading

03-11-2009, 05:01:00

Mul.
Welcome to the team VB!

The X4 620 certainly is a stonking processor for the money, though my hunch is that the OC limitation lies with the motherboard. 250HTT can often be a real struggle for some boards. It may have been a CPU related limitation if the mobo didn't offer a decremental NB multiplier.

Good work!

03-11-2009, 07:37:11

VonBlade
Thanks Mul.

It was the most frustrating OC I've ever attempted. Usually you get towards it and gradually strike the balance between stability and the CPUz screengrab of death. This was just all or nothing.

It's amazing value for money though.

03-11-2009, 16:09:49

painejake
Picked one of these up last week actually... Gotta say for the cash it is a complete bargain. I managed 3.4Ghz but unstable. Running at 3.2GHz very stable

At 70-80 for a 3.2GHz Quad CPU you can't complain at all

Nice review VB

03-11-2009, 17:57:56

Rastalovich
Great review VB.

I think I'm alone in feeling uneasy about the pricing on this.

I do accept that, yes it's quad core, and yes it'll capably handle what's thrown at it - and I can see oc'ers liking this.

So why the uneasy feeling... perhaps if the 77 is mrrp and it onlines at 70 or a snatch under, I'd feel a little better.

But I think I latch onto the superpi score (which there is a multicore version available now I think I've seen), just under 25s for an oc. Then look over at Intel's camp, especially considering the 220 mobo/cpu idea. Intel are ofc making the adjustments too, and they're 'pentiumizing' previous c2d cpus, and yeah they're 2 cores (if u bank on 4 cores, or have a legit reason to think ur software will use it - ur not really on a budget imo) - but they are more attractively priced imo, and ofc they oc too.

Tough one.

04-11-2009, 13:29:13

Judderman
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='VonBlade'
Thanks Mul.

It was the most frustrating OC I've ever attempted. Usually you get towards it and gradually strike the balance between stability and the CPUz screengrab of death. This was just all or nothing.

It's amazing value for money though.
Very good review, and looks like the chip is going to be a bit of a bargain, to check if the 250fsb is the limit did you drop the multiplier down?, this may give an indicator if the 250fsb is the problem or the 3.2ghz clock is the limit

04-11-2009, 13:57:15

funslave
Hi, new here.

1. Nice review, man. 'Cause that's real life, where the silicon you buy does only a part of what most reviews say.

2. It looks to me that the notorius and long praised 785G chipset is somewhat stucked in OC. I don't especially blame a certain producer, but the chipset/BIOS combination. AMD770 + SB710 appears more OC-friendly, since I personally jumped over the 250 mark, and I bet I'm not the only.

3. Picked one of these nano-beasts last month. I've come along with a CADAC. After getting around 3.7 GHz with decent voltage, finally managed the 3.9 GHz with 13 x 300 on air cooling, but at 1.6V (see validation below). By the way, was it possible to set the memory to "Ganged" in the BIOS? I've noticed that you may OC further in this way.

It is also a question of luck: during more than a 6-year period, this is only the third CPU I own in a long series which proved to be highly OC-able.

Sorry, I'm not allowed to post links.

04-11-2009, 15:44:11

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Judderman'
did you drop the multiplier down?, this may give an indicator if the 250fsb is the problem or the 3.2ghz clock is the limit
Yes. Sorry I thought I'd said. The multiplier was dropped to 5, 7 and 10 and it still fell over at 250. Which does indicate it's probably the mobo.

Another test is in the pipeline.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.