AMD A10-6800K Richland Review

Power Consumption and Temperatures

AMD A10-6800K Richland Review  

Power Consumption at the Wall

Power consumption is something often overlooked when talking about custom systems, as performance is typically paramount. However, when we're talking about an all in one CPU/GPU solution to be used in media PCs as well as low-power gaming systems, power consumption means a lot.
If the system's going to be on for extended periods of time, such as a media PC used to transcode video files for future playback, having an efficient system can save you a lot in the long run.

It is clearly evident that Intel's i3 processor is more frugal at the mains, sipping less than 60% of the power used by the 6800K when being stressed by OCCT's Linpack AVX stress test. This is of course a worst case scenario as the CPU is unlikely to face such extreme stresses in every day use, but even when running Unigine: Valley's Extreme Preset, a benchmark not unlike many modern games in terms of stress levels, the Intel system uses 50% of the power of Richland's top dog. 

When playing back a HD MKV format video file with VLC, the AMD chips are still using 10w more power than the i3. 
It should also be noted that the Richland processor is consistently using more power than its Trinity predecessor - a product perhaps of the higher performing cores on the 6800K.

Temperatures 

As well as overall power draw, the temperatures reached by these CPUs are important to note. Both stock coolers used for the testing were ran at a constant 12 volts from the power supply, and both were at a noise level which would be unacceptable for a living room area where HTPCs are often used. As such, the temperatures yielded by our testing should give an insight over whether fan control could be used to keep the noise down, or if an aftermarket solution would be required for a peaceful experience.






The AMD processors are far, far hotter than their Intel counterpart. Even with the heatsink's fan running at 12v the AMD CPUs were nearing 100°C when the CPU was put under heavy load, while the i3 was sitting at a respectable 54°C. During HD Video playback the temperatures became a lot more manageable, as the 6800K maxed out at 68°C. 

With these results it should be clear that if CPU intensive tasks are commonplace on your HTPC you would need to purchase an aftermarket cooling solution to keep both A10s in check, or else put up with the loud noise from the stock fan.

    

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-06-2013, 23:53:00

Josh Weston
AMD's APUs have always been something that we've loved, so now it's time to see how their newest release takes to our testing.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...232455518l.png
Continue Reading

05-06-2013, 01:36:13

NeverBackDown
I wonder how much the 2133mhz memory would improve scores? Apu's are known for loving fast speeds so running at 2133mhz vs 1333mhz should improve scores quite a bit I would assume. Nevertheless still a great chip.

Good job on this review Josh! I was actually surprised. In the first page(not trying to be picky) I felt there were way to many commas. I ain't no English major but seems too many were used
Keep up the good work

05-06-2013, 02:28:40

The Orange One
Good work with the review Josh!
That APU seems like a great little chip, for the money!

05-06-2013, 02:29:57

Zoot
I was expecting a bit of a bump when it came to GPU performance.

But I guess it makes more sense that this is just really a minor refresh, given that Kaveri is supposed to arrive towards the back half of the year.

05-06-2013, 05:15:11

lollyhayes
I don't really understand why you ran your 1600mhz hyper-x at 1333. You have deliberately nerfed performance of the GPU. If users look at other reviews where the correct memory frequency was used (2133) the performance gains of the gpu are noticeable over the 5800k and destroy the intel i-3.

Bottom line - this is not a fair "real world test" who uses 1600mhz ram at 1333 mhz... REALLY.
I mean who even buys 1333mhz ram these days - NOBODY.
My conclusion is that you are just a bunch of intel lackeys...
Rerun the test fairly please.

05-06-2013, 05:19:54

tinytomlogan
We ran at 1333 as we do ALL stock runs. Even the haswell review stock tests are at 1333 because thats what systems auto set themselves too.

Josh did not have time to run faster mem tests, all results in this review we ran while he was here the other week. Adding in extra mem speeds would have required a: them all to match to be comparable and b: taken twice as long which was just not possible.

I can say in our testing 2133 was not achievable with the Richland APU on test today.

05-06-2013, 05:33:42

SieB
Wow, AMD kicking Intel but

Congrats on your first official review Josh
Nice to see the graphs in ascending/descending order as well, they looks so much better like that.

05-06-2013, 05:47:30

SPS
Monster of a review there Josh.

Spotted a typo on the page title "Tomb Raider and Sleeping Sogs"

05-06-2013, 08:49:23

lollyhayes
Thanks Tom, I didn't mean to be angry, I just thought that maybe we were being sold a slightly biased story. I rate you guys so highly because of the balance you guys give to your reviews.
I agree with you on the standardisation (eg all at 1333, all at 1600). But I think that in this specific case it would be unfair to not run the A10 at max (2133) and then bump the intel to 2133mhz as well as certainy for the Trinity A series bumping the ram from 1600 to 1800 yielded some neat results.
It's interesting that you say that the A10 was a no go on 2133... Any reason? Unstable?

05-06-2013, 10:03:05

NeverBackDown
^^ Memory controller may be to weak.

05-06-2013, 10:12:43

grassman
You should make the move to Windows 8. My 4600m saw a massive boost from it. Fifa 13 in Windows 7 would just constantly drop in FPS pretty terrible latency problems, 60 down to 30 at random points. The move to windows 8 kept me at a steady 60 FPS.

05-06-2013, 11:32:23

MacLeod
Josh's first review. Our little boy all grown up.

Well done write up. I'm glad to see AMD seems to be finally righting the ship and even tho they'renot making huge strides in performance gains, they're steadily getting better and better. I totally agree tho that they really need to address their power consumption. I think that's more of an Achilles heel for them than IPC.

Can't see the benchmarks tho cause Android doesn't do Flash anymore.

05-06-2013, 11:40:10

tgrech
I know it was for comparative reasons, but I don't think I can take an APU test seriously when it's using 1333 Mhz memory, it's like test driving and reviewing a sports car with a 56Mph speed limiter. Bandwidth is everything to any APU, any chance that in the future tests will be redone?

05-06-2013, 11:57:12

grassman
Kaveri was confirmed today by years end. This looks like just minor changes to make the purchasers of FM2 happy.

05-06-2013, 14:29:24

chrismjurd
solid review Josh, and totally agree with VFM award.

Might we get a Hybrid Xfire bench at some point from it?
/edit understand you do not have quite the magic cupboard yet.. but worth asking at least edit/

small typo four paragraphs from bottom of conclusion,
Quote:
Intel's i3 and the 6870K in terms

06-06-2013, 03:17:07

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by grassman View Post
Kaveri was confirmed today by years end. This looks like just minor changes to make the purchasers of FM2 happy.
It actually looks like Kaveri might arrive a bit earlier than we might think. AMD's corporate VP of communications John Taylor says they'll be sampling Kaveri to customers quite soon.

It means we might be getting a taste of what Steamroller will really be like sooner rather than later.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHPnDvubjfo

06-06-2013, 09:59:46

grassman
Would be immense if you could use the IGP to process(physics?) while still using a dedicated GPU.

06-06-2013, 17:54:04

luongo27
Think I'll stick with my 5800k for now, unless it's on a silly offer.

25-06-2013, 05:18:26

flyboyovyick
Personal opinion, you should have really tested at 2133MHz...

They really do benefit from it!

25-06-2013, 06:10:32

vorticalbox
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboyovyick View Post
Personal opinion, you should have really tested at 2133MHz...

They really do benefit from it!
1333 MHz will be supported across all the chips, what if they get a chip that can't run memory at 2133mhz for whatever reason? running at 1333 makes all results comparable and thus fair testing.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.