AMD 1090T Six Core Review

CPU and Die shots

AMD 1095T Hex  Core Review

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Up Close

Firstly let's take a look at the processor itself. Not the worlds most interesting thing as it looks like pretty much any other AMD processor. Which is a good thing because, as we said before it allows you to just drop it into your current motherboard and use your current cooler.

AMD 1095T Hex Core Review Chip     AMD 1095T Six Core Review   

 

AMD 1095T Hex Core Review Die Overclocking

You can see the die on the right here. We have each of the six full cores along with 512KB of L2 cache per core. Below this is 6MB of L3 cache which should help keep the processor running flat out as much as possible.

These feed into the System Request Interface and then the Crossbar Switch.

Finally the data is moved to the Memory and the HyperTransport technology link. 

The memory when run at DDR3-1333 provides nearly 13GB/s of bandwidth and the HyperTransport link can give up to 19.2GB/s of peak bandwidth per processor.

The rest of the important information is :

64KB Instruction + 64KB Data L1 cache per core.

45nm SOI technology

AMD Balanced Smart Cache
AMD Dedicated Multi-cache
AMD Virtualization Technology
AMD PowerNow 3.0 Technology
AMD Dynamic Power Management
AMD CoolCore Technology
Multi-Pount Thermal Control

And of course the aforementioned AMD Turbo CORE Technology.

Before we move on to the testing, here are two slides from AMD that hopefully explain some of the finer details.

 

 AMD 1095T Hex Core Review     AMD 1095T Hex Core Review

So far all the numbers are certainly there for this processor to definitely earn the flagship title.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-04-2010, 23:22:42

tinytomlogan
So AMD's beasty is out.. should you be buying it? Best read the review and find out!

Continue Reading

26-04-2010, 23:46:03

AMD_PBz
Great Review Guys 16 Minutes to go 8)

27-04-2010, 00:19:06

I Hunta x
All i can say is wow to the warhead benchmark.

Well I think im set on what to upgrade to for my collage media course next year, 1090t (Unless the new 32nm AMD Quadys kick major ass) + 5870 + Crosshair IV Formula/Extreme (Mabey, waiting to see the other new chipset boards) + undecided ram .

Just 1 quick Q.

What were the load temps at the test settings??

27-04-2010, 01:22:45

Warzone
Set as well and wow...was not expecting it to be this good, Thunderbird 2 is go!

Just wondering if the extreme has that load line calibration issue and if the extreme has a large edge in the overclocking department over the formula.

Same question as poster above.

27-04-2010, 01:40:45

barkaway
argh, did say last night that i didnt want one nd i was gonna wait for bulldozer, now im not sure:-D

27-04-2010, 02:28:17

Luigi
Wowzers, really nice review.

Having read some of the other major reviews I was going to steer clear. but now im not too sure.

Your numbers seem quite different (in games) to some of the other review sites... any idea why?

27-04-2010, 03:40:21

alexhull24
Impressive overclock, I imagine that's part of the reason why it made up so much ground on the i7 930. Still, looks like another good value for money CPU from AMD, but this time it's right up there with performance.

27-04-2010, 03:46:44

AMDFTW
WOW so can not wait for this,scan better hurry up and stock it

27-04-2010, 03:55:31

alexhull24

27-04-2010, 04:48:57

WelshD1K
Sweet yesh amd yes!!!! Finaly! This is what i have been waiting for for so long! Amd i love you!

27-04-2010, 04:52:05

thestepster
wow thats really shocked me really does tempt me to go to AMD instead of an i7 for the next build!

27-04-2010, 04:55:15

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='thestepster'
wow thats really shocked me really does tempt me to go to AMD instead of an i7 for the next build!
this amd chip is the reason i havent gone i7 etc yet being an amd fan boy :P been waiting alittle while to see if there gonna pull their finger out of their bottoms and get back to pwning intell

27-04-2010, 04:59:33

thestepster
yeah its definitely a good processor i would seriously consider it even tho im not a fan boy back for buck is awsome

27-04-2010, 05:30:24

niky_d
:0 I can only say, finally! After all these years of disappointments they are finally back. With those numbers and at this price point I think this 6 core cpu will be my next build. Great review btw as always. I really enjoyed reading it 10/10.

27-04-2010, 05:48:03

WelshD1K
some on ebay allready but the 1090t marked up at 270

27-04-2010, 06:07:17

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
Wowzers, really nice review.

Having read some of the other major reviews I was going to steer clear. but now im not too sure.

Your numbers seem quite different (in games) to some of the other review sites... any idea why?
Quick answer is we do our testing properly, and very thoroughly. The results speak for themselves.

27-04-2010, 06:32:39

AMDFTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='alexhull24'
Impressive overclock, I imagine that's part of the reason why it made up so much ground on the i7 930. Still, looks like another good value for money CPU from AMD, but this time it's right up there with performance.
i swear that was put there after i posted,o well one can only dream of getting this atm o well least ime getting a new washing machine today wooop Ahhhh life as a adult

27-04-2010, 06:56:28

alexhull24
I looked and it was there last night mate! Enjoy your clean pants..

I'm interested to see what the 1055T can do. Will it match the performance when overclocked? What sort of margin is there on the overclock? If it can reach similar levels to the 1090T that'll be a stonking chip. Not sure if it has the unlocked multiplier or not though, I'll have to check that.

27-04-2010, 07:18:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='alexhull24'
I looked and it was there last night mate! Enjoy your clean pants..

I'm interested to see what the 1055T can do. Will it match the performance when overclocked? What sort of margin is there on the overclock? If it can reach similar levels to the 1090T that'll be a stonking chip. Not sure if it has the unlocked multiplier or not though, I'll have to check that.
Multi is deffo locked on the 1055T, Ill see if i can get my hands on one. But I know that AMD are concentrating on the 90T release atm.

27-04-2010, 08:02:11

AMD_PBz
So Finally NCIX on the West Coast Launched the CPU's at approx 12:45AM Pacific Time It was a long wait I've not been to bed yet and 10 hours of work ahead of me Today is going to suck but will be sooo worth it as I should have it in hand by Friday

Any word on CH 4 Extreme Tom?

27-04-2010, 09:01:38

AMDFTW
@alexhull24,ha ha then ime blind lol,i will enjoy the daz freshness

27-04-2010, 10:05:28

pazman4
Great! Always loved AMDs for there amazing value. This could be the next one for me.

27-04-2010, 11:40:07

thewoolard
Great chip for the price.

I am going amd for sure next time, the bang for buck with amd is amazing.

27-04-2010, 11:47:12

Nelly
Nice reviews, enjoyed reading them.

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/cpu_mainboard/amd_1090t_six_core_review/6

Just one query on the above, their is no info on what resolution you did the benchmarks at? maybe worth including them within the review?

27-04-2010, 12:21:41

Satans_Hell
Thank the lord AMD finally have a not only competitive cpu, but actually makes a lot of Intels cpus instantly redundant!

Way to go AMD....

27-04-2010, 13:57:31

Steve-O-
Great review. You obviously know how to OC better than other sites as they show the 1090T falling behind the 930. But they couldn't get theirs over 3.9 stable soo...

Thanks for the video. Kept me busy on my iPhone as I backed up files from my crashing Win7 lol.

27-04-2010, 14:38:40

delusion77
Its great to see AMD finally get back in the the game. Its a bit late for my current system as I have an i7, but if this performance continues over into bulldozer - Oh man! Id switch back to AMD in a flash

27-04-2010, 14:48:28

Steve-O-
Hey TTL have you ran the 1055T also? I was looking at specs and the 1055T is identical except for clock speeds but $100 cheaper!! Couldn't you just OC it to the 4.1 also and get same performance?

27-04-2010, 15:27:27

VonBlade
Apologies. 1920x1200.

Corrected.

27-04-2010, 17:12:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Steve-O-'
Hey TTL have you ran the 1055T also? I was looking at specs and the 1055T is identical except for clock speeds but $100 cheaper!! Couldn't you just OC it to the 4.1 also and get same performance?
We've not had the 55 yet, and we have no plans to cover it in the imediate future.

27-04-2010, 17:14:48

barkaway
I doubt that the 1055T will be a dissapointment:-)

27-04-2010, 17:43:34

Rastalovich
Quite shocked tbh. Expected it to be good, but not as good as it turned out.

Looks like a match for some of those MSI mobos on the horizon.

27-04-2010, 17:47:07

barkaway
I just read this review and omg, they take a high end MB and test it with a PII X3 720

i mean thats just sad:sleep:

*gone*

28-04-2010, 06:46:06

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='barkaway'
I just read this review and omg, they take a high end MB and test it with a PII X3 720

i mean thats just sad:sleep:

*gone*
Where as we test with a 965 and a 1090T

28-04-2010, 13:08:24

cl0ck_ed
The chip looks the tits but I think the 4ghz i7 OC is abit weak. Most do 4.2-4.4Ghz easily. That would be a fairer OC comparison. The chip does seem to do really well. I still think i7 920 is the best buy atm, depending on how well the 1055T OC's.

28-04-2010, 13:35:20

thewoolard
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='cl0ck_ed'
I still think i7 920 is the best buy at
Huh, haven't you looked through all the bench marks?

It really does show how over priced Intel are.

28-04-2010, 13:49:20

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='thewoolard'
Huh, haven't you looked through all the bench marks?

It really does show how over priced Intel are.
168GBP for i7 920, 238GBP for 1090T. Plus the 920 will clock higher than the AMD. Stick dual chan mem in both and go for the Gigabyte x58 ud3a with sata 6.

Imo 1055T will be the cpu to beat Bang for buck wise. Not this.

Lol, just been reading up on the Amd 1055T, the multi is locked to 14 and the chap had his bus speed beyond 300Mhz!!!

So, 300x14 = 4200, 308x14=4.3ghz!!! Sweet, these hex cores are looking promising, the 1055T FTW!!

28-04-2010, 14:18:16

thewoolard
Sorry but i was on about the 1055T chip.

I never knew i7 chips went down so much!

28-04-2010, 14:22:21

cl0ck_ed
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='thewoolard'
Sorry but i was on about the 1055T chip.

I never knew i7 chips went down so much!
Yeh the last few weeks has seen a drop of 20GBP on the 920.

28-04-2010, 22:09:31

LooseNeutral
I was all set to do my first build with the intel 930 Then I read this review :O Spent the last solid month doing research.. This is a jaw dropper for me, I'm sold! TTL- love the reviews and videos, crisp photos, as well as graphs. I just recently joined! Was the Ram selection your first choice? or should I say

29-04-2010, 06:26:44

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='LooseNeutral'
I was all set to do my first build with the intel 930 Then I read this review :O Spent the last solid month doing research.. This is a jaw dropper for me, I'm sold! TTL- love the reviews and videos, crisp photos, as well as graphs. I just recently joined! Was the Ram selection your first choice? or should I say
Good to have you here dude. Ram was what we had here, but its very capable ram. Gskill have just released some 2000mhz CAS7 ram which would be a very nice match for this combo.

30-04-2010, 13:30:31

tomcug
Great review, this is gonna be my next CPU . One question, why did you run Crysis Warhead without AA x8 ?

30-04-2010, 14:16:05

delusion77
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tomcug'
One question, why did you run Crysis Warhead without AA x8 ?
Adding AA makes the benchmark more GPU dependant I believe.

01-05-2010, 07:59:13

AMD_PBz
my 1090T sits lonely in a Purolator truck all weekend and it's raining like crazy!

Fingers crossed for no water soaked box.

01-05-2010, 18:48:50

LooseNeutral
Thats right on the money to what I was thinking... after reading various reviews elsewhere Love for you to put it through the

shock :P tests and review Thanks for the response and keep up the great work. That is you and those in the shadows who help make it all come together. Well done to you all, and the posters here - you have all been a great influence as well. Many thanks to all!!

01-05-2010, 18:52:34

LooseNeutral
Previous response was to TTL responding on my first post ]:?)

02-05-2010, 12:01:12

Spence
I sooooooooo want one of these!

02-05-2010, 19:01:02

4g64fiero
I have one of these coming in the mail and am anxious to see how it deals with adobe master suite cs4

11-05-2010, 08:23:22

kcartlidge
I have always had Intel CPUs but this chip in my opinion will possible convert me to AMD

11-05-2010, 17:00:54

Steve-O-
Was reading on NewEgg and customers were getting over 4GHz easy with the 1055T. So if you guys want to save a few bucks go with that instead of the 1099T. Will be interesting to see people get even higher with the unlocked multiplier on the 1099T.

11-05-2010, 17:24:44

AMDFTW
will there be any middle CPUs as there is only one BE and one normal edition and the price diff is pritty huge considering the 1050T can be OC'd near the BE exept its harder

11-05-2010, 18:10:59

LooseNeutral

11-05-2010, 18:22:34

Steve-O-
Wow, awesome stuff!

11-05-2010, 19:18:27

killablade
Yeah it's a very nice CPU. Too bad I have no money for a new system right now. I would love to pair a Crosshair IV with a 1090T

16-06-2010, 19:51:24

XcvX
There are vids on youtube showing the 1055T hitting 4GHz easily, being multiplier locked was no big deal it reaches 4GHz with low temps using a Noctua NH-D14 cooler. In terms of bang for buck I would go for the Phenom II X6 1055T

There's a new Phenom II X6 coming later in the year that slots nicely between the 1055T & 1090T BE. It's not a "Black Edition" though so will have a locked multiplier.

Phenom II X6 1075T 125W 3,0GHz - (3,5GHz Turbo Mode) expected 3rd quarter 2010 - [no prices yet]

I'm liking AMD again simply in terms of value for money, my next rig will be based around an AMD Phenom II X6, I just got to decide which one to get. As for a matching board, the Asus Crosshair IV Formula looks to be a smasher.

Good review, gracias!

16-06-2010, 20:08:43

delusion77
Seems kinda silly to add another x6 so soon to a whole new architecture launch, especially when AMD is just keeping up with the demand for these x6 chips.

16-06-2010, 20:18:50

F-alienware
Great review. I must have missed it before but a real pleasure to read and great times for AMD.

A couple of reviews I have read in the past (before this one) slated it a bit. Good to see an unbiased view from some one who appreciates AMD.

Cheers VB. You have almost made my mind up to slap one of these into my silver machine

I'll wait for prices to drop a bit.

16-06-2010, 20:33:37

XcvX
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='delusion77'
Seems kinda silly to add another x6 so soon to a whole new architecture launch, especially when AMD is just keeping up with the demand for these x6 chips.
it's probably a 1055T that's tested higher & therefore binned higher, makes good business sense for AMD. I would expect the price to be closer to the 1055T chip.

16-06-2010, 21:33:09

delusion77
I was thinking this too, as AMD is the master of product binning. Still seems kinda off
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.