Abit IP35 Pro Intel socket 775 Motherboard

Introduction, packaging, package and specification

Introduction

Abit have a rich history of making motherboards that get enthusiasts excited. The AW9D Max brought those memories back and the IN9 32x Max cemented the fact that abit were once again one of the big players on the scene with a great motherboard.

Then IP35 Pro is perhaps aimed at the more discerning enthusiast, those with a mind for stability and performance. Based on the Intel P35 platform this is a motherboard that screams abit...and shows us just how well they can make their boards.

Packaging

As usual abit have put a slightly confusing and strange front to their product with the IP35, showing a rugged snake-like truck on the front cover of the packaging. Having said that the back has a lot of well-laid out information on the motherboard.

abit ip35 pro abit ip35 pro packaging

The packaging inside the box is again typical abit with compartments for the manual and also for the accessories.

abit ip25 pro

The motheboard and it's contents are well protected but unlike the Max boards you get the impression abit have focused on content and not appearance so much. This isn't to say the board isn't as well packaged, just that it doesn't feel as "special" as a Max board.

Package

Abit have again gone for delivering a "not quite" Max package with this board. although everything is there that you would expect so see in a decent board.

We have:

* 5 x SATA connectors
* 1 x IDE HDD Cable
* 1 x FSS Cable
* 1 x USB/Firewire backplate IO extension
* 1 x Motherboard Driver CD and manual
* abit µGuru guide
* IP35Pro User's manual
* Quick install sheet

Not a bad bundle but lacking in a couple of the extra things that the Max bundles seem to have in them.

abit ip35 pro

Still, there's a load there that you would need and I don't really see a normal customer complaining at a lack of bundle, espeically considering this motherboard is significantly cheaper than the Max series.

Specification

Taken from abit's website:

# LGA 775
# Intel® P35
# FSB 1333
# Dual DDR2 800
# PCI-E X16
# SATA 3G RAID
# eSATA 3G
# Gigabit LAN
# IEEE1394
# 7.1 CH HD Audio
# RoHS Compliancy
# SilentOTES™
# µGuru™ Tech
Specifications

FSB 1333 - Speed up to FSB 1333


Intel's best processor for multimedia applications with up to 80 percent faster performance for highly-threaded applications and four processing cores to handle the most massive throughput, the Intel Core 2 Extreme quad-core processor provides exceptional performance. With the IP35 Pro you are prepared for the latest 65nm and next generation 45 nm multi-core CPUs. With processors supporting Intel’s SpeedStep Technology (EIST) the IP35 Pro offers even more advanced energy efficiency.
Solid State Capacitors -For Best Stability



Solid State Capacitors significantly reduce heat dissipation and offer best voltage regulation, thereby increasing performance while extending product life and even under most stressful conditions.

* 100% Japanese Made Solid State Capacitors
* Best CPU and Memory Performance and Overclockability

External
CCMOS Switch - Get back on track with ease

Clear the CMOS memory directly from the back panel, using abit's innovative new EZ switch. So if you are pushing your hardware to the extreme and experiment with risky settings, you now have a an easy and convenient way to go back to save grounds..
HDMI Ready Header - Supports HDMI Ready VGA card


A special 3-pin HDMI header provides S/P DIF audio to be connected with HDMI ready VGA cards, offering crisp HD multi-channel surround sound.
2 x eSATA - Fast & fiexible

eSATA is a new standard for external storage devices. With an external data transfer rate of up to 3 Gb/s no other external data transfer solution can compete with speed and ease of use.
# CPU Support Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme/Duo/Quad processors with 1333/1066/800MHz FSB
# Support Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme/Quad/Duo & Pentium® Dual Core Processors
# Chipset Intel® P35 Express / ICH9R Chipset
# Memory 4 X 240-pin DIMM sockets support max. memory capacity 8GB
# Supports Dual channel DDR2 800/667 Un-buffered Non-ECC memory
# LAN On board Dual Gigabit LAN controller supports 10/100/1000M Ethernet
# Audio On board 7.1 CH HD Audio CODEC
# Supports auto jack sensing and optical S/PDIF In/Out
# HDMI ready header (SPDIF header)
# Expansion Slots 1 x PCI-E X16, 1 x PCI-E X16 (x4 bandwidth), 1 x PCI-E X1, 3 x PCI
# Internal I/O 1 x Floppy Port supports up to 2.88 MB
# 1 x ATA 133/100/66/3 IDE connector
# 6 x SATA 3Gb/s connector
# 2 x IEEE1394, 3 x USB header (support 6 ports)
# 1 x FP-Audio
# Back Panel I/O 1 x PS/2 Keyboard, 1 x PS/2 Mouse
# abit Silent OTES™
# 1 x S/P DIF In, 1 x S/P DIF Out
# 2 x eSATA
# 7.1 CH Audio connector (Front, Line-in, MIC-in, Center/Subwoofer, Surround, Rear Surround)
# 4 x USB 2.0
# 1 x RJ-45 LAN connector
# EZ CCMOS Switch
# Serial ATA 6 x SATA 3Gb/s offer by Intel® ICH9R support Intel® Matrix Storage Tech(AHCI & RAID0/1/5/10)
# 2 x eSATA 3Gb/s through JMicron® JMB363 support 0,1JBOD RAID function
# IEEE 1394 Supports 2 Ports IEEE 1394 at 400Mb/s transfer rate.
# Form Factor ATX form factor 305 x 245mm
# PCB Color: Blue
#
# RoHS 100% lead-free process and RoHS compliant
# abit Engineered abit µGuru™ Technology
# abit Silent OTES™ Technology
# 100% Japanese made Low ESR and high ripple conductive polymer aluminum solid state capacitor
# 100% Japanese Capacitor
# EZ for CCMOS

abit Engineered
abit Engineered abit µGuru
With abit's unique µGuru technology now even the most novice users can fully monitor and control their system including voltages, fans and temperatures; it's all just a click away. The more advanced you become, the more you will appreciate the multitude of fine tuning features abit's µGuru technology holds for you.
abit Engineered OC Guru - AutoDrive™
By enabling AutoDrive, you can automatically apply different overclocking settings for different applications.
abit Engineered

Hardware Monitoring
Monitor temperatures, voltages and fan settings in real time and with zero CPU usage.

abit Engineered Dedicated fan control
Keep control over your hardware. abit Fan EQ™ helps you keep an eye on your motherboard fans.
abit Engineered One Click BIOS Update
With abit's BIOS flash utility you can easily update your motherboard BIOS online or offline.
abit Engineered Auto-Detect Hardware Info
The abit BlackBox auto-detects hardware info for quick communication between users and abit Tech support.
abit Engineered abit SoftMenu™
The original jumperless motherboard design allows for CPU setting changes completely through the BIOS. For GigaOverclocking! Boost your PC's Performance by up to 50%. Convenient and easy-to-use fine tuning from within a self-explanatory BIOS menu.
abit Engineered abit CPU ThermalGuard™
The abit CPU ThermalGuard™ technology prevents the CPU from overheating and burning up in the case of any hardware cooling malfunction. This hardware thermal protection automatically shuts down your system when the CPU temperature reaches a certain threshold.
abit Engineered abit Silent OTES™abit-Engineered
abit's Silent OTES™ heatpipe technology dissipates heat from the chipset and conducts it to a highly effective heatsink. This fanless solution keeps your motherboard cool and quiet.

The IP35 Pro is feature-packed, as is Intel's P35 chipset. Will this be a good combination?
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-02-2007, 08:41:40

FarFarAway
Top dollar...but is it a top board?

Take a look inside...click

World Exclusive!!! - Digg It

14-02-2007, 09:13:14

Rastalovich
Great review Kemp, nice bunch of packaging akin to the rocketboy type of stuffz. I do wish the µguru thing was more of a 5.25 bay thingy tbh. Last time I checked, retailers were ramming these devices down peoples throats for like £11 or so - which amazes me why u never had one in the box ?!?

I would hope these good results will boost a tad more after some bios revisions, board to board I`d expect this one to be a bit better than shown - but meh..

Kewl, I recognize some of those photos too

14-02-2007, 09:27:58

PV5150
Excellent review as usual mate. The 680i's are toasty little sods for sure, and it's a pity that abit didn't even provide some form of active cooling to try and address the problem. Well done

14-02-2007, 09:35:57

Rastalovich
Their answer, and a few other manufs answer, seems to be to add this ugly looking heatpipe structure to stuff.

Heatpipes are great, but I don`t personally like the idea of 2 or 3 of the hs being connected together.

14-02-2007, 09:38:11

FarFarAway
2 or 3 connected together is fine, but that needs active cooling to work ok

14-02-2007, 10:51:54

TJS
Great review, Kemp, thanks for doing it as I was thinking of grabbing one. Now for my thoughts...

DAMN DAMN DAMN! I think the 680i chipset is good but not the king, would really like to see the 975X (or updated chipset) that can support nVidia's 8800 series gpu's in SLI... and done by ABIT. ABIT boards look great, and with the exception of the EZ PLUG for added graphics power, I like their layouts; not to mention my AW9D was rock-solid, even using an E6600 @ 3.7GHz... my 680i mobo can't touch it, only solid at 3.4GHz or lower.

Like the EZ CMOS as well, no more dip-switch installations! (newer mobos don't have problems like the old mobos after a bad OC, but it's the thought that counts!)

I personally don't see all the fuss over the passive cooling for the NB/SB. My case uses 4 120mm fans on the side of the case, so I get a lot of extra cooling... not to mention the little fan that came with my mobo for the NB, so I don't have a heating problem. I think it works fine, even without the little fan made for the NB; on the other hand, an enthusiast board should give the user the option to remove the passive to add active (fan) cooling solutions. The only thing I wonder about is the need for pipes from SB--NB--PWM... do the pipes really do anything for the cooling?

TJS

14-02-2007, 11:14:12

BUFF
Thorough review as always.

You might have mentioned that they definitely are actively working on an updated BIOS though?

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
do wish the µguru thing was more of a 5.25 bay thingy tbh.
you mean like http://www.abit-usa.com/news/2005/20050511.php ?

14-02-2007, 11:28:52

FarFarAway
That's the µguru panel - felt it should have been included with this board - would have certainly been a welcome addition

And yes I was going to put that in, but must have missed it out (twast 2.30am). I'll add it now

14-02-2007, 11:40:10

BUFF
btw , I do believe that this is the world's first full published review of the IN9 32X MAX

edit: at least in English. Possibly done on a Japanese/Chinese site etc. where I would only be able to look at pretty pictures.

14-02-2007, 12:09:15

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BUFF'
btw , I do believe that this is the world's first full published review of the IN9 32X MAX
Oooh wasn't aware of that Come on Google, update that Index

Edit: And in that case - Digg It

14-02-2007, 12:22:35

Ares210
Very thorough review like always. Seems like a rock solid board, at stock

Dugg.

14-02-2007, 12:45:02

NickS
Gotta love how 680i gets its butt kicked by 965/975

Great review Kempez. Awesome pictures, using your new camera I'm guessing?

15-02-2007, 03:39:09

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Gotta love how 680i gets its butt kicked by 965/975
It does in a way...although it seems that in gaming 680i pwns hard...and I'm not quite sure why (linkboost shouldn't work with an x1600Pro)

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Great review Kempez. Awesome pictures, using your new camera I'm guessing?
Thanks and yep with maaa new camera

15-02-2007, 10:58:24

Praxis1452
only going to 440mhz max seems a bit low...

15-02-2007, 10:59:49

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Praxis1452'
only going to 440mhz max seems a bit low...
Agreed. I'm talking to abit about that now but the review got published 'cause they'd had over the 24hours to reply

15-02-2007, 11:22:30

BUFF
I've seen a screenie at 525 on 1 of the betas plus it seems to be overclocking Kentsfields better than the Striker/eVGA.

P.S. I put a link to your review in [H]ardOCP's forum IN9 32X thread.

15-02-2007, 11:28:14

FarFarAway
Just waiting to hear back from abit atm but I may give it another go on one of the beta's if they ask me too. May need a dedicated fan on the NB though as it's toasty: which I didn't do for the other boards (I hasten to add)

EDIT: abit said they've had 550FSB in the labs

15-02-2007, 17:47:45

TJS
I'm inclined to believe that if the NB was cooled on the ABIT board like it is on the EVGA board it should do much better than 440FSB. I can't see ABIT putting out the smashing AW9D-MAX and then fall on their faces with the IN9 32X-MAX.

TJS

15-02-2007, 17:56:23

FragTek
The AW9D-MAX does far from smash, I hated that board, and so did 90% of the other poor ripped off owners of it.

15-02-2007, 20:00:05

TJS
Hey, Frag, mine worked like a charm... didn't know so many had problems (other than Herr Schmidt). I thought a lot of people were getting some pretty good clocks compared to the 680i (don't know too much about the RD600 yet).

TJS

15-02-2007, 20:01:14

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='TJS'
I'm inclined to believe that if the NB was cooled on the ABIT board like it is on the EVGA board it should do much better than 440FSB. I can't see ABIT putting out the smashing AW9D-MAX and then fall on their faces with the IN9 32X-MAX.
The fact is though that the cooler gets very very hot

15-02-2007, 20:17:37

NickS
Passive chipset heatsink + extremely hot running chipset = ?

16-02-2007, 03:17:34

JN
I find all this passive heatpipe nonsense very annoying personally. It wouldn't surprise me if it's cheaper than adding a fan, and that's the reason so many manufacturers are taking it onboard.

They build a board for enthusiasts, but the first thing enthusiasts do is rip off the nb cooling and replace it with something else (something that isn't aluminium sprayed in a copper colour).

16-02-2007, 03:19:21

FarFarAway
If only they would implement a decent 3rd party solution or even get a decent solution in-house

16-02-2007, 03:24:30

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
If only they would implement a decent 3rd party solution or even get a decent solution in-house
Yep, something made out of copper with a fan on top. Not too much to ask really when you're paying over £200 for a motherboard.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.