Abit AB9 P965 Conroe Motherboard

Conclusion

Conclusion

I am most impressed with this fairly cheap Intel p965 board. Abit have done a good job implementing great overclocking along with some solid features. The board is either on par, or in some tests: quicker than the Intel "Bad Axe" motherboard. This is most impressive.

One big concern I have with the board is the layout. The poor placement of the main IDE and JMicron SATA connecters lets an otherwise solid board down.

I am giving this board a "Value for Money" award. coming in at around £93 for the non-Pro board @ Specialtech and £111 for the Pro board @ SpecialTech, this represents a good solid value board

abit ab9 value for money

Pro's

+ Competitive Speed
+ Decent Bundle
+ Good value for money
+ Very good overclockability

Con's

- Bad IDE positioning
- Bad SATA positioning
- RAM voltage adjustment a little low

Thanks to Abit for the sample

Discuss in our Forums

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-09-2006, 03:36:24

FarFarAway
We take this P965 chipset Abit and give it some real tests

Check it here

21-09-2006, 06:26:29

FragTek
Nice review mate, very well put together! And the board looks nice too

21-09-2006, 06:51:09

PV5150
Hot pink BIOS Nice one kemp, once again a great and thorough review

21-09-2006, 14:34:45

SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!

21-09-2006, 15:04:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!
Aye twas

The IDE is stupid - they look like they've learnt on the AW9D Max tho

Yeah the cooler is awesome - absolutely massive

21-09-2006, 19:46:31

BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?

22-09-2006, 03:12:05

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews. Yes: the IDE placement sucks but apart from that the board isn't mojorly bad and it's actually pretty damn cheap. It's incredibly stable and easy to set up and I'm not too sure what issues others were having but I haven't actually found any yet apart from the IDE placement

No comment

22-09-2006, 03:18:33

BUFF
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews.
It doesn't seem to have received many reviews though but user feedback hasn't been great, largely it would appear due to various memory related problems.

What BIOS version were you using (BIOS shots looks like 11)?

22-09-2006, 03:23:24

FarFarAway
Canner remember. Didn't have any problems when using memory. Kingston, Mushkin and GSkill worked fine on the board, although I had to make sure that I set the right timings, speed and voltage in the BIOS before I installed a new module.

Most motherboard problems are due to people not reading enough about them and getting RAM or somethng that isn't compatible - imo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.