Abit AB9 P965 Conroe Motherboard

Overclocking

Overclocking

Overclocking was performed through the BIOS, as all good 24/7 overclocking should be done. The AB9 has decent overclocking options but as with a lot of Intel platform boards you do not actually have to change much.

I did two different overclocks.

Low Voltage Overclocking

I set an upper limit of 1.325v for the CPU and clocked the CPU as high as I could whilst maintaining a 3 hour Orthos (dual prime95) stable overclock.

I was very impressed with the board result here.

abit ab9 oc low volts

abit ab9 3300mhz oc

That's a very nice result - 3300MHz is nothing to be sniffed at at 1.325v.

Overclocking - Highest Possible Stable on Air

For this test I stopped when I got concerned that the temperature rose too high. This overclock was performed on air using a Scythe Infinity. I stopped when the CPU started getting around 65-70°C. I believe with even better cooling I could easily have gone higher.

abit ab9 3550

abit ab9 3550mhz

This 3550MHz overclock was achieved using 1.55v. Once again as in the 3300MHz OC I left the motherboard volts at stock which is very impressive. As before this Overclock is Orthos stable.

Max FSB

This was particularly hard to do with the E6700 used, but I attempted to get the very best FSB possible.

In no way was this stable, but I barely managed to boot into my windows desktop at 430 x 10. I could not reduce the multiplier of the processor. 1.7v on the processor was used and maximum on both the MCH 1.5v voltage and ICHIO 1.25v voltage.

430FSB is very nice for a 10x multiplier processor.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-09-2006, 03:36:24

FarFarAway
We take this P965 chipset Abit and give it some real tests

Check it here

21-09-2006, 06:26:29

FragTek
Nice review mate, very well put together! And the board looks nice too

21-09-2006, 06:51:09

PV5150
Hot pink BIOS Nice one kemp, once again a great and thorough review

21-09-2006, 14:34:45

SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!

21-09-2006, 15:04:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!
Aye twas

The IDE is stupid - they look like they've learnt on the AW9D Max tho

Yeah the cooler is awesome - absolutely massive

21-09-2006, 19:46:31

BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?

22-09-2006, 03:12:05

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews. Yes: the IDE placement sucks but apart from that the board isn't mojorly bad and it's actually pretty damn cheap. It's incredibly stable and easy to set up and I'm not too sure what issues others were having but I haven't actually found any yet apart from the IDE placement

No comment

22-09-2006, 03:18:33

BUFF
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews.
It doesn't seem to have received many reviews though but user feedback hasn't been great, largely it would appear due to various memory related problems.

What BIOS version were you using (BIOS shots looks like 11)?

22-09-2006, 03:23:24

FarFarAway
Canner remember. Didn't have any problems when using memory. Kingston, Mushkin and GSkill worked fine on the board, although I had to make sure that I set the right timings, speed and voltage in the BIOS before I installed a new module.

Most motherboard problems are due to people not reading enough about them and getting RAM or somethng that isn't compatible - imo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.