Abit AB9 P965 Conroe Motherboard

Test Results - 3DMark05, 3DMark06 and Counter Strike Source

3DMark05

3DMark05 is a benchmark that relies heavily upon DX 8 and DX 9 shader paths. 3DMark05 is very useful benchmark to give us numbers to compare systems. It does give a decent indicator of gaming performance, and includes a couple of CPU benchmarks.

abit ab9 3dmark05

Although pretty GPU bound, this shows that the Abit is very capable of producing excellent results. At lower resolutions it scored excellently, especially in the CPU score (not shown).

3DMark06

As with 3DMark05, 3DMark06 is a good reference examination for a gaming PC. With a couple of very tough CPU benchmarks and graphics tests heavily relying on DirectX 9.0x features, this really is a test for your gaming system. Remember that the lower resolution tests give the CPU more of a workout as the GPU gets loaded less.

3dmark06 abit ab9

With the ultra stressful 3DMark06 the Abit still copes well, gaining a reasonable score with the X1600. Comparisons on the web show that this is decent and the Abit performed well.

Counter Strike: Source

Counter Strike: Source is a hugely popular FPS game based on the Source engine by Valve. This will show what a typical gamer will play on their PC and is a good benchmark.

abit ab9 css frames

The framerate at 1280 x 1024 was pretty decent, with only a couple of drops below 60FPS.

css abit ab9 frames

The board shows it can uphold good FPS alongside the X1600Pro.

Overall the gaming performance of the board was very nice. If your buying this board to game on then you won't be disappointed.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-09-2006, 03:36:24

FarFarAway
We take this P965 chipset Abit and give it some real tests

Check it here

21-09-2006, 06:26:29

FragTek
Nice review mate, very well put together! And the board looks nice too

21-09-2006, 06:51:09

PV5150
Hot pink BIOS Nice one kemp, once again a great and thorough review

21-09-2006, 14:34:45

SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!

21-09-2006, 15:04:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!
Aye twas

The IDE is stupid - they look like they've learnt on the AW9D Max tho

Yeah the cooler is awesome - absolutely massive

21-09-2006, 19:46:31

BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?

22-09-2006, 03:12:05

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews. Yes: the IDE placement sucks but apart from that the board isn't mojorly bad and it's actually pretty damn cheap. It's incredibly stable and easy to set up and I'm not too sure what issues others were having but I haven't actually found any yet apart from the IDE placement

No comment

22-09-2006, 03:18:33

BUFF
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews.
It doesn't seem to have received many reviews though but user feedback hasn't been great, largely it would appear due to various memory related problems.

What BIOS version were you using (BIOS shots looks like 11)?

22-09-2006, 03:23:24

FarFarAway
Canner remember. Didn't have any problems when using memory. Kingston, Mushkin and GSkill worked fine on the board, although I had to make sure that I set the right timings, speed and voltage in the BIOS before I installed a new module.

Most motherboard problems are due to people not reading enough about them and getting RAM or somethng that isn't compatible - imo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.