Abit AB9 P965 Conroe Motherboard

Introduction, Packaging and Package

Introduction

With Core 2 duo "Conroe" chips out for a while and the popularity of the excellent new chip at a high among enthusiasts, we thought that we should look at the things that cause the most concern on Intel's new platform: motherboards.

Intel currently have 2 chipsets that support Conroe: the newer 965 and 975. The Abit AB9 we're looking at today is based on the Intel P965 chipset. The P965 chipset is the newest Intel chipset supporting Intel Core2Duo CPU's and we've seen some pretty decent results from it.


Packaging

Packaging of motherboards has greatly improved over recent years, with people like Asus and DFI producing some really nice packages. Abit's choice for this board is somewhat strange. With a train and the logo: "Xpress for the big tracks", I am left feeling somewhat underwhelmed with the front of the packaging.

Abit AB9

The back is far better with a decent view of the motherboard and labels pointing to the board with its main features.

abit ab9 packaging

The board has some decent features and it's good to have these feature prominently on the back of the box.

The inside of the box shows quality with two smaller boxes hiding away the parts and pieces.

abit ab9 packaging

This gives a very professional style to the box and is nice to see.

abit ab9

And the board all wrapped up safe with cardboard standoffs. The packaging style is excellent and I wouldn't imagine the board would be damaged. Good work by Abit here overall, despite a slightly dodgy initial impression.

Package

The package with the board is pretty basic, but it gets you there. Everything you need to get set up is included, if nothing more than what you need.

abit ab9 package

Contents:

* 6 x SATA cables (with easygrip connecters)
* 1 x IDE Cable
* 1 x FDD Cable
* 1 x PSI bracket for USB 2.0/Firewire
* 1 x Motherboard I/O backplate
* 1 x Quick Install Guide
* 1 x Users Manual
* 1 x Abit μGuru™ User Manual
* 1 x Abit AB9 Jumper Settings
* JMicron SATA RAID Driver Diskette
* Abit CD with user Manual/Drivers/Utilities

All in all not a bad little bundle. When we look at this we must bear in mind that the board is in the mid-range price-wise and will not come with the total package that the very ultra top-end motherboards will come with.

As I said before though - everything is there and I was happy with the package.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-09-2006, 03:36:24

FarFarAway
We take this P965 chipset Abit and give it some real tests

Check it here

21-09-2006, 06:26:29

FragTek
Nice review mate, very well put together! And the board looks nice too

21-09-2006, 06:51:09

PV5150
Hot pink BIOS Nice one kemp, once again a great and thorough review

21-09-2006, 14:34:45

SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!

21-09-2006, 15:04:16

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB
Nice review mate I gather this is what you were working on when i was talking to you on msn hehe.

That really was a silly place to put an IDE port lol.

Can't get over how HUGE that cpu cooler is, seems to dwarf the motherboard!
Aye twas

The IDE is stupid - they look like they've learnt on the AW9D Max tho

Yeah the cooler is awesome - absolutely massive

21-09-2006, 19:46:31

BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?

22-09-2006, 03:12:05

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUFF
I do believe that's the first pretty positive review of the AB9 that I've seen.

Have you got an AW9D to play with too?
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews. Yes: the IDE placement sucks but apart from that the board isn't mojorly bad and it's actually pretty damn cheap. It's incredibly stable and easy to set up and I'm not too sure what issues others were having but I haven't actually found any yet apart from the IDE placement

No comment

22-09-2006, 03:18:33

BUFF
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yeah I am suprised that it's recieved negative reviews.
It doesn't seem to have received many reviews though but user feedback hasn't been great, largely it would appear due to various memory related problems.

What BIOS version were you using (BIOS shots looks like 11)?

22-09-2006, 03:23:24

FarFarAway
Canner remember. Didn't have any problems when using memory. Kingston, Mushkin and GSkill worked fine on the board, although I had to make sure that I set the right timings, speed and voltage in the BIOS before I installed a new module.

Most motherboard problems are due to people not reading enough about them and getting RAM or somethng that isn't compatible - imo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.