Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+ Review

Up Close: Packaging and contents

Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+

 

Up Close:  Packaging and contents

Like the cooler inside, the box is coloured predominantly in black and Purple.  A lift open flap opens to show a window giving a glimpse of the cooler.  The rest of the exterior of the box is dedicated to product specs, key features and pictures of the product.

 Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+     Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+  

 

Some serious thought has gone into the packaging of the Free Flow+.  opening the box and working out how to extract the various fans from their nesting places is akin to a small IQ test (not sure I passed).  The cooler itself sits in a sort of foam armchair with the fans and accessories box intricately positioned around it in their own protective rigid plastic containers.

 Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+     Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+  

 

Along with the 3 fans and the cooler itself you get a full set of spring clips (and a set of spares), instructions, all the relevant screws and brackets, and a generous size syringe of TIM.  The instructions are very probably the most unclear I've ever come across, but more of that later.

Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+     Zero-Infinity Free-Flow+  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-05-2012, 06:46:02

tinytomlogan


If Jimi Hendrix were to buy a CPU cooler he'd probably be drawn to this psychedelic offering from Zero Infinity. Will it be a Foxy Lady or disappear in a Purple Haze

Continue Reading

16-05-2012, 07:01:06

Jadarite
oh yes it's a Foxy Lady

16-05-2012, 07:04:13

SieB
I'm liking the purple fans, shame about the performance and price though.

16-05-2012, 07:05:48

Josh Weston
Good review, just a shame about the lacking performance at a ridiculous price.

16-05-2012, 07:44:10

RzrTrek
Lovely review.. indeed, we would be better of getting ourselves an Noctua NH-D14!

16-05-2012, 09:05:50

Lisa
Nice review, thanks. Purple is my fave colour and I wouldn't buy this. It looks garish and cheap. Aesthetics aside, you'd expect a twin-tower triple-fan to perform well or are they using the third fan just for marketing or to make up for some shortcomings? Either way, going by your results, they've failed.

16-05-2012, 10:10:05

dugdiamond
fugly fans (each to their own!)

16-05-2012, 10:13:24

Azurite
Very pimpish :-)

16-05-2012, 10:29:18

SEBAR
This was a great read, I love the way you do your reviews. Hey Tom Gary, did you read the directions before trying to install this thing? Just kidding, you probably should have thrown this out the window. This thing is all show and no go.

16-05-2012, 10:32:25

Josh Weston
Quote:
Originally Posted by SEBAR View Post

This was a great read, I love the way you do your reviews. Hey Tom, did you read the directions before trying to install this thing? Just kidding, you probably should have thrown this out the window. This thing is all show and no go.
If by Tom, you mean Gary?

16-05-2012, 10:35:59

nothingspecial
Those fans are just.... SEX.ON.A.STICK.

Seriously, they need to start selling those fans on their own. Shame about the cooler itself, but oh my those fans! Do want!!!

16-05-2012, 10:36:56

SEBAR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Weston View Post

If by Tom, you mean Gary?
My bad, I just assumed it was Tom, Anyway good job on the review Gary.

16-05-2012, 13:14:40

badtaylorx
eeeewwww.....what a piece of junk......toss it in the trash.....(would have made a good final pic!!!)

16-05-2012, 19:05:24

unwaxed
Nice review. Not a very useful product, it seems.

Anyway, on the 2nd graph (overvolted CPU), shouldn't the delta T for the Free-Flow+ be 64.75 if the CPU temp was 83.75 and ambiant was 19?

17-05-2012, 03:19:57

G-Dubs
You're correct, the Delta T temp in the second graph is wrong.

Just our way of checking who reads the full review and who just skips to the end

17-05-2012, 07:15:10

arnzzz
Ever since I got my Noctua NH-D14 I have been a huge fan(no pun intended) of the twin tower design, and I see no reason why when a manufacturer releases a twin tower product it would not perform to or at least close to the noctua or silver arrow!!!!

I mean come on, there really is no excuse. Smaller coolers have the limitation of size and usually aesthetics. These twin tower coolers have no such restrictions. I see their only purpose is to perform to a high level!! (though I personally love twin tower designs ) which is why I am always excited by the thought of a new twin tower offering. But again we, the twin tower brigade have been let down so I and many others will be sticking with the trusted if a little long in the tooth Noctua

Have the NH-D14 and the Silver Arrow really hit the limit of what an air cooler is capable of doing?

I would love a better looking alternative to the NH-D14, and will be one of the first to buy such a product if it ever materialises.

17-05-2012, 07:26:15

Josh Weston
Well, the Havik 140 performs close to the 'D14 etc. and that's only a single (albeit huge) tower. I wonder what kind of performance it would yield if it was doubled.

17-05-2012, 07:35:34

arnzzz
if I could weld I would stick two Havik's together and give it a go, that would be interesting

I really like the look of the Havik, though when I think about it maybe its the blade design on

the fans that I cant see past, I think those fans look bloody awesome I may order some of

them to see what they are like, Oh no, wait, I cant, I'M POOR!!!!

17-05-2012, 13:52:49

Solar
Good review Gary, we can but hope the manufacturers take notice and make improvements for their next model. Certainly seems they have plenty of scope to improve lol.

24-05-2012, 18:40:43

Hippie Tech
If it were me, I would have sent it back because of the uneven, thus defective, heatsink towers. I seriously doubt that the contact area would have stayed perfect after being manhandled like that during assembly.

Another sign that this sample was a dud, is how the screws supporting the base seem uneven in the photo(s).

I am not a fan of the 'direct contact' heatsink design because the spacers between the heat pipes will never be as efficient as a thick and solid copper base. Still, it would be nice to see this one redone with a proper sample.

At least this isn't as bad as TTL's Zalman 9900(MAX?) review. That fan was wobbling soo bad, I'm surprised the rig didn't shimmy off the table ! lolz..And yes, its STILL giving me nightmares, Tom.

pEACe

HT
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.